We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ULTIMATE in CHILLAXING time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ULTIMATE in CHILLAXING time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

GOOD PART:
Me and my girlz had a BLAST here! If you want to do NOTHING but sit by the pool all day, or chill on your beautiful balcony, or walk across the street to the EXCELLENT food dive, you can do it ALL! This is also a VERY romantic place for couples. I believe ANYONE could have fun here. The breakfast - OUTSTANDING! We at at 3 Dives down the road, and brought our jerk lobster back to the resort - the Chef cooked it for us the very next day in THE most awesome omelettes! TOP notch service, and simply BEAUTIFUL.

Not so good:
There are no TVs in the room - and since we were there in low season (Aug), I did long for more "bar time" - if you're not there by a certain time - the staff is GONE! That's the only time it became somewhat "boring". I did encounter a HUGE "water bugg" (aka cockroach maybe?), and a lizard or two...but hey - it's Jamaica! Bring your OWN sunblock - it's like $20 there. Lastly, one night was VERY noisy because the back of our villa is to the main road - VERY noisy! All other nights - good to go...so bring ear plugs - JUST IN CASE.
GO GO GO!!! This is paradise - no matter what the "not so good" parts. Trust me the good outweighs any possible bad.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachytique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    111
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
113
501
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

We stayed at the end of January/early February 2010 in the Garden Studio - no air conditioning but the fans were sufficient for us and would have distracted from the authenticity of the Jamaican way of life. Situated in a typical Jamaican village the whole experience was one of total relaxation and ideal for the perfect romantic getaway with no television or radio - just beautiful surroundings, great swimming [you just have to jump from the rocks and the 'famous bridge'] and the peaceful ambience of Tensing Pen. Restaurant was limited in what was on offer which did distract a little from an otherwise great holiday. Out of the 5 nights we stayed 2 nights we dined at the very nearby Rockhouse hotel where the food and service was excellent. Due in part to Tensing Pen not having a full menu.Can certainly recommend the hotel and has not put us off in returning very soon. Signed Malcolm and Beverley

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidAtlantic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

Re done, still paradise. Please don't go. I want to go back tomorrow. Been coming for 15 years. Caring owners and professional staff. Great pool and restaurant and architecture and landscaping and the sea. Please stay away at all costs. (dangerous for young kids)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RestyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed by stay at Tensing Pen. I stayed in two different rooms: Garden A and the South House. The Garden room lacked a view which I thought wouldn't bother me until I realized how spectacular the views are... and how lovely it would be to while away the hours of the afternoon sitting on your own porch reading a book or playing cards and staring out at the ocean. But otherwise the room was lovely, with high quality linens, well decorated and felt more "expensive" than it was. The south house provides an upstairs and downstairs balcony. The downstairs room feels more like a living room with sofas than a bedroom. Although comfortable, it would not be ideal for a couple. For friends staying together, or kids it would be perfect. The upstairs room is absolutely magnificent with a gorgeous king bed enveloped in netting where you can stare off at the sea. Very whimsical.

The vibe at the hotel is very casual and friendly. It seems to attract similarly minded folks who are looking for privacy and quiet. At breakfast and sunset folks would gather at the restaurant and bar and get to know one another. During the day its pretty mellow, with most guests happily lost in their books, floating in the bay, or off exploring Negril. During our stay we probably chatted with all the guests staying at the hotel at one point or another. There seemed to be allot of people in their early thirties and then another group of retirees, the in between ages were missing (busy with kids?).

There is so much more to say but I'm sure its been said already by others. The cliffs and the azure blue waters are something out of a dream; jumping off the bridge into the cove is a thrill, the cocktails conjured up by bartender Razer are fabulous... overall a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingnubian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

We just returned from our first stay at Tensing Pen, January 26 - 29. We split our trip, four nights on the beach at RPTP and three nights on the cliffs at Tensing Pen. We absolutely LOVED Tensing Pen. We typically do the all-inclusive resorts but after doing some research on the T.A. forum decided to try something different this year. We were quite impressed!

From the moment we entered the gates and Niney, the gardener (such a sweet soul), grabbed our bags we fell in love with the property. The landscaping is lush and beautiful. The grounds are immaculate. There are lit pathways connecting each of the separate cottages, so quaint at night. The sunning decks are plentiful and scattered along the cliff's edge, all having nice wooden loungers with comfty cushions and umbrellas. They provide complimentary floaties for the sea. Access to the water is easy using the ladders but you MUST jump from the bridge at least once. After jumping once, you're addicted! The water was so clear and calm during our stay, just amazing. You could literally see the sea bottom from the cliffs. There is a hammock hut near the water's edge for an afternoon nap to get out of the sun. The infinity pool is beautiful. Just perch on the edge, watching the sun glisten off the water, and relax. There are a couple bed-style loungers if you prefer to be out of the sun.

They offer a complimentary breakfast each morning that consists of juice, coffee, fresh fruits, cold cereal, toast, peanut butter, and jelly. If you'd like a more hearty breakfast, you can order eggs, omelets, or french toast from their menu, all VERY reasonably priced ($3 - $4 USD) and very tasty. The banana french toast was awesome! We ate lunch on the property only once and really enjoyed the ackee pizza, a must-try. There is no cash transacted on the property. Everything is put on a tab and you settle up upon check-out.

Razor, the bartender, is a great guy! He's got years of experience and will mix up whatever you're interested in. He made us a "Razor Special" that consisted of fresh watermelon and rum, so yummy! To quote Razor: "All day, every time, Mon." The bar has all of five or six bar stools and is a great way to meet other guests at night. A shout out to Brian and Lisa, Adam and Dawn, Toni and Steve. Hi, guys! (Still thinking about that group night jump from the bridge.)

We stayed in the South Pillar, home sweet home. It was perfect; rustic but beautiful. There were fresh, colorful flowers on the bed to greet us upon arrival, a nice touch. There were wooden slat blinds on all the windows and french doors leading out to the verandah. The verandah has two adirondack chairs with thick, comfortable cushions. There's a small refrigerator in the room. There are no TVs, radios, or clocks in the rooms. TP is not about that; it's about relaxing and chilling. Our bed was queen size with nice linens and four soft pillows. We had a bathroom with a toilet and sink and plenty of soft, white towels. There's a makeup mirror that lights up in the bathroom. Our shower was outside but yet very private (no worries!) There's a wonderful partial view of the sea from the shower. I absolutely loved the outdoor shower, and it was one of the reasons we chose a pillar. The views from our verandah were nothing less than breathtaking. If you're looking for a view, you can't go wrong with any of the pillars. I had to constantly pinch myself... is this for real? Two mornings we watched two porpoises jumping through the sea. Sonya, our housekeeper, was a lovely lady and did a great job

Each morning before the sun was too hot we got off the property and went for walks. There are several restaurants/bars within walking distance. Alice's, Ras Rody's, Sharks, and LTU are all yummy choices for lunch/dinner. We had a romantic dinner one night at Rockhouse, very nice. There is a small grocery store across the street to purchase Red Stripes, water, and munchies for your room. Rick's Cafe is only a five-minute walk; check out the Jamaican cliff divers.

To sum it up, we can't say enough great things about TP. It was an amazing three days. You will leave relaxed and recharged, I promise, counting down the days until your return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlaB1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

Tensing Pen is a lovely rugged chic hotel. The owners were in town while I visited and you can see the love they have put into the resort. The staff is absolutely amazing. At night, it can be a bit of a challenge to get a cab in the cliffs. The guards will call you a taxi and keep you company while waiting with good conversation. Razor the bartender is a wonderful person to talk with and he always knows what is going on if you're ready to go out. Owen is generally one of the waiters for breakfast and he genuinely wants to know about you and your life at home. All of the staff will know your name within a day of you being there and will treat you like family.

I was initially worried since many of the rooms do not have air conditioning; however, the ocean breeze was just cool enough. mosquitos can be a problem in the cliffs; however we had no problems in our rooms. there is a store practically across the street that sells mosquito coils for $0.45 for when sitting outside in the evenings.

Favorite local eats included LTU's (2 minute walk right past ricks) and 3 dives jerk (we cabbed it there). Breakfast at the hotel was delicious. They always had lots of fresh tropical fruit. Dinner at the hotel was hit or miss. We had 1 wonderful dish and at least one not so wonderful dish.

I can't wait to return to Tensing Pen and Negril!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed in Rock Cottage for 4 nights. It was amazing. The weather was a bit bad and waves crashed up to our sidewalk, but it was so relaxing. The resort is so quiet and peaceful. I would recommend and return. The only thing I would change is that we traveled with friends who booked on the beach and I wish they would of been with us. Too much in taxi fair. The security guard Mr. Bruce was fabulous. We also are researching a ridgeback dog for our next pet. Loved it. Jill and Scott

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marnieWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
128.8 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing