We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Paradise without being pretentious. Sparkling Blue Waters. Your own bungalow by the cliffside."”
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tensing Pen Resort
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Rutland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Truly Paradise without being pretentious. Sparkling Blue Waters. Your own bungalow by the cliffside."”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

When you arrive at this little bit of heaven you may just stand in awe of the view, overlooking the cliffs and West end of Negril- a quiet place away from the bustle and crowded beaches below, where locals mingle with travelers and you can experience the real Jamaica Mon! We stayed in the Patio for a reasonable rate, just before the high season. Ocean waves crash at night and you can take a refreshing dive off of the bridge or platforms into crystal blue waters. I didn't want to review this because it will noly be harder to book in the future but I had to share this paradise. Menu is a bit restricting but the jerk chicken excellent. (Also try Alice's Retaurant across the street where you "can get anything you want"...literally. Just talk to the DJ. The drinks are great (try the cucumber juice) and food reasonable and of home cooked quality.) Don't fall for the larger resorts on the beach! You can stil swim on this quiet, zen-like property without being hassled by eager salesmen on the beach. Safe and serene, relax in the hammocks by the oceans edge or the small but elegant infinity pool just below the restuarant patio. There are even two dogs that reise on the property for that "at home" feeling. Snorkel, dive, or just relax on a raft in the private cove. Get naked iif you want- it's Jamaica! Try the LTU Pub for an excellent cliffside meal as well!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiredtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    115
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
124
543
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Great location on the cliffs in Negril. The scenery is spectacular, the water is warm and fantastic for swimming and snorkeling. We stayed in two rooms: The Bungalow is a freestanding structure in the middle of the property with a huge bathroom and a porch facing the ocean. The only downside is the Bungalow backs onto the street and can be a bit noisy. We also stayed in the North Pillar, a spacious room, set on pillars to give you a great views of the sea and cliffs. The balcony opened to the ocean with great views of the sunset.

The restaurant and communal area is comfortable, beautifully designed and well furnished. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre to disappointing. Continental breakfast was included with fruit and Corn Flakes which was fine. You can order unimaginative eggs and omelets for an additional price. Coffee was good. Lunch was lacking in interest and flavors. Dinner - didn't take any chances so we ate at a few restaurants close by.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatsleepride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My husband and I went for a long weekend. It was our anniversary and we needed some peace and quiet. Unfortunately, there had been a hurricane two weeks previously and noone had thought to warn us. We arrived to all things dead. All shrubs, trees and ornamentals were brown and dead. There was no bridge and several roofs were blown off. Although the sea remained spectacular, the resort did not live up to website images. To make matters worse, there was construction going all the time and for two days there was literally a jackhammer going...Extremely disapointing when paying that much

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not2wheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

It was as good as a movie scene. We rented "The Pillars", a romantic hatched roof bungalow sitting on the cliffs with white mosquito net draped above the bed and two plush deck chairs overlooking the Jamaican sunset. Waking up here was worth every penny. I would recommend a couple things, bring a travel candle for added ambiance, jump off the bridge (it's worth the thrill) and try the vegetarian jerk stand across the street. The ackee is out of this world! I can NOT wait to come back here!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

My niece was married at Tensing Pen in May. What a wonderful choice she made! I can't say enough good things about this resort. I stayed in the Long House and the view was outstanding. From the moment we arrived (there were 33 of us total) we were made to feel as if we were at home. Evelyn and Joseph, the managers, the staff and even the dogs made our trip just perfect. The rooms were very clean, the grounds were beautiful and the bridge is breathtaking! It is the perfect place to relax, to enjoy or to get married. The food was awesome and so were our bartenders. We all had such a wonderful time. We had "no worries" and the whole experience was amazing. Everyone is still talking about the trip and when the return visit will be. I highly recommend Tensing Pen!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heelsfan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This has to be the most beautiful, peaceful, and intimate setting of any place I have visited. We seemed to have the whole place to ourselves due to plenty of private nooks in the cliffs you could hang out in. We absolutely loved the landscape and the cottages were clean and gave a rustic but upscale feeling.

My only complaint was the service. The people running the lobby and front desk were excellent, but the wait staff was not. We spent hours sitting by the pool, no more than 20 ft from the bar, and not once did the staff ask us if we wanted a drink or needed anything. I asked if the bar tender would serve us at the pool, and he said I could come to the bar and bring the drinks down to the pool if I wanted. There was not another person sitting at the bar the entire time we are at this place, so I couldn't figure out why they wouldn't try to sell some drinks to the people at the pool. My wife asked for a lime for her drink twice and both times it seemed like the bar tender was put out by this request. The last time, he brought her a slice of a brown rotten lime that had been in the fridge for days.

We had dinner there once. The food was fantastic, and we ate overlooking the sunset and ocean with nobody else in the restaurant. The place was extremely private, romantic, and intimate -- a great honeymoon. Again though, the service was did not meet my expectations. The waiter was cold and unfriendly and seemed to be uninterested in serving us. He only said a few words to us all dinner. Breakfast was similar, we needed to ask for service rather than being approached to order. The menu said ask your server about specials but the dismissive answer was "I don't think we have any today" both times I asked.

We had just come from Couples Swept Away where absolutely everyone on the resort was extremely outgoing and eager to do whatever it took to make sure the guests were happy. The service at TP was pale in comparison. I believe the goal at TP is to put out the "chill" vibe, but for me it was just a little beyond chill.

Overall, we had a beautiful honeymoon and the despite the service we had a wonderful stay at TP, so I still give it the thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I have actually stayed here several times, and Tensing Pen knows how to create atmosphere. There are poolside cabanas, secluded seaside alcoves, a bridge you have to see to believe, and hammocks strewn all over the property. It pretty much satisfies everyone's idea of a romantic tropical paradise. Part of the appeal is its cliff side location, however, this does not make it an ideal hotel for families with small children.

Malcolm the bartender was great! We look forward to seeing him next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
85.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 81 in Negril
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#6 of 81 in Negril
688 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Property: Tensing Pen Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Spa Hotel in Negril
#6 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tensing Pen Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing