We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't Recommend it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Cabins on Negril Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secrets Cabins on Negril Beach
Ranked #29 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't Recommend it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was very old and very very cabin like - almost felt like I was living outside. Everything was soooo old. Little critters were also very attracted to the property. We spent our whole trip killing gigantic red ants and mosquitoes. We even saw a lizard - all of this INSIDE our room. The maids also hand wash the towels so it feels like I'm living in a village. The chef & food was great, but you can access that from anywhere. Staff was nice, but everybody knew our business lol. Hopefully they fix it, but I don't know.

Generally wouldn't recommend this place unless that's your type of thing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chechi071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heiloo, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We (me and my 7yrs old) stayed in one of the studios of "Secret Cabins" with private bathroom and kitchen for a week. Next time I might decide to have one with a/c but other than that the cabin was simple but perfect. Its right on the beach so we have done hrs of swimming and all the staff is very friendly and helpful. My son loved it too and it was a perfect place to close of our 4 weeks traveling through Jamaica.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miranda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our 2nd year staying at Secrets cabins which is part of the Firefly Resort property. We love it. It is a simple cabin with the toilet and showers across the sidewalk from the cabin. Everything is kept very clean. And they wash the linens and hang them on the line to dry--I love that. The staff at this resort is outstanding--friendly and helpful. I love the setting. You are steps away from the beach, yet there is a green, shaded area to sit in when you are tired of sand and sun. We are outdoor people. We love to camp and the Secrets cabin was exactly what we were looking for. We bring a small cooler and get some ice for beverages and snacks. The cabin is perfectly adequate for sleeping and who is spending time inside other than for sleeping when you are in Jamaica! We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The cabins are close to the beach and there will be music playing on the beach, so if you are sensitive to that, bring ear plugs. I never had a problem, but some people would.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernLights55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've stayed at Firefly/Secrets three times prior but always in one of the larger Firefly apartments tha thave kitchens and private bathrooms. I've always been courious about what it would be like to stay in one of the Secrets cabins as the rates are great. The one thing that always turned me off what the shared bathroom and not having a fridge. I finally made the leap and it was great. They're cleaned at least every day and the reality is that so few people use them, they're never far from spotless. The toiletts are seperate from the showers. And the showers, amazing. They're open air (no roof) with a half swinging door that can be latched. There is something amazing about showering outdoors. I will say that when I do go back adn stay in one of the apts, i will be using the outdoor shower. As for the fridge, it wasn't a big deal, but we always love keeping some left overs or fruit for snacks when everything shuts down. And having cold water on hand is always nice. Certainly not a deal breaker though.

The only negative that I can mention about Firefly/Secrets is that they were doing construction in the bar area (improvements, making it larger with more seating etc) and all during the day the circ saw was running. So that ruined the peace and quiet that I went for. Over all, not that bad but surely noticeable. They'll be done by the end of april, maybe before, so no worries if you're going after that.

Alas, one of our favorite bartenders, Maxine is no longer there.

The one pictured is the actual one we stayed in.
Overall, would absoloutely stay in a Secrets cabin again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank mikeytbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was my fourth stay at Secrests Cabins. I was travelling alone this trip and my cabin was the perfect fit for me. The staff, as always, was delightful! Mind you, this is not for everyone. Staying in a cabin is more for the outdoors type. But, they do offer a large variety of rooms worth checking out. They have the most perfect spot on the beach and I have met plenty of pleasant people staying here. As always, I look forward to my next stay at Secrets!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mjacobi1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Once again I had a wonderful stay at Firefly/Secrets cabins in Negril. The staff is still amazing! I met so many people from all over the world as we all sit together on the beach. The family atmostphere makes for a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

When I first saw this cabin I was a little disappointed however after being in the cabin for a couple of hours I started to feel how great my weekend at Negril beach was going to be. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and we were literally 2 seconds walk from the beach right by a big tree which was great for me as I burn quite easy so to be able to have constant shade was great. The cabin was clean and tidy and it was fun running across the grass to the shower room I really enjoyed my stay and for the money you cannot complain and I think if anybody does they are definitely not seasoned travellers and are expecting to much. As we paid £85 for two nights for 4 people that is like hostel money in some countries. I would recommend this to any seasoned traveller who is looking for a great holiday but wants to save money on accommodation rather than live in 5 star luxuries and doesn’t want to explore the country they have visited.

Room Tip: Even two people should go for a 4 people cabin as the smaller ones seem a little closed in and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.4 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#46 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#35 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rondel Village
Rondel Village
#33 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#24 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tingalaya's Retreat
Tingalaya's Retreat
#2 of 42 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Cabins on Negril Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Cabins on Negril Beach

Property: Secrets Cabins on Negril Beach
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Secrets Cabins on Negril Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 tiny timber separate cabins at the lowest price on Negril Beachfront. Plus a larger cabin with private bathroom and veranda.Each small cabin has 2 comfortable beds for up to 3 or 4 persons, with fan, real flowers and local art in the room. The large cabin has just one double bed, ceiling fan, flowers and local art.Free WiFi in each cabin, with fax and ADSL along with large library in the office are always available.Each morning we serve free coffee for you on the beach where you have your beach bench and both shade trees and a sunny beach and cafe/bar.The 4 small cabins share three showers/bathrooms; the large on has its own.Our staff are friendly and do everything to help you have the best time in Negril.We can arrange transport from and to Montego Bay airport.Secrets is ideal for singles, couples and friends. Our rates are low for any period.Free services include a little, effective gym, ping pong, Jacuzzi in the evening and an invitation to Firefly's Caribbean beach party every Tuesday. By the way, I almost forgot, your towels and sheets are changed regularly, but don't forget to bring your beach towel and sun cream. We look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Secrets Cabins on Negril Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Cabins On Negril Beach Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing