We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time to Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Shout Resort
Ranked #4 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First time to Jamaica”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our first time to Jamaica and I have to say a lot of research was done. We chose Banana Shout for the location, price, reviews on Trip Advisor as well as emailing past guests.

A Banana Shout Vacation is not a typical vacation for us, but it was chosen because we wanted to experience Jamaica and it's people first hand. We were not disappointed. Milo and Marianne the owners were very gracious hosts making our stay one that we will remember for a long time.

The staff at Banana Shout....Barbara, Nikki, Plug, Ashman and Jaround are ready to please the guests and they do. Thank you Ashman for the wooden Cat you carved for us! For anyone staying at Banana Shout make sure you put your order in early, he is very busy and extremely talented!

To stay at Banana Shout I would recommend either Dolphin View or Dolphin Bay. (If you want more privacy away from the common outdoor kitchen area book Dolphin View) Both are right on the edge of the cliffs with amazing views of the Dolphins, flying fish, Tuna and Barracudas, jumping out of the water, turtles, cliff divers, and of course the tourists in the boats from Negril going to and from Ricks Cafe to see the cliff divers and amazing sunsets. There was not a day that went by that we did not see Dolphins or schools of fish being chased by seagulls.

We did eat local as much as we could and here are our recommendations:
1) Eat at The Rockhouse Restaurant and ask for the Rockhouse table. It is no extra cost and the views are amazing...free shuttle to and from Banana Shout which Marianne will arrange for you. We booked the table before we left for vacation without any problem.

2) Eat at LTU's just past Ricks Cafe on the same side of the road as Banana Shout. The views are amazing and the food is just as amazing. You must try the snapper and curry veg.

3) Ras Rody which is just down the road to the left beside Abees. The food is the best we had while in Jamaica...we ate there twice! It is vegetarian only, but don't let that stop you. You can eat on the bench that may seat 4 or take it to go.

4) Just Natural is run by two sisters and is also Vegetarian, It is about a 20 minute walk past Ricks Cafe. The restaurant itself is one that you must not miss out on seeing, and the food is even better. We enjoyed the fruit smoothies where ever we went and they had the best ones by far.

5) Just before the restaurant Just Natural, is a bakery on the opposite side of the road. It has the meat and vegetable patties and the coco bread that are so popular in Jamaica. You may want to go early to get some...they are soo good they do not last! I believe you can get two patties for 7.00 dollars and call it lunch. I am still dreaming about the coco bread!

Jaround will take you to the grocery store in Negril. He was extremely attentive and very helpful. This is a good thing to do at least once, to stock up on water, snacks, and liquor. There is a smaller store across the road about a minute away for anything else you may need but it is a bit expensive and limited.

As for swimming while staying on the cliffs...it is not a recommendation for anyone that is not comfortable in the water. It is about 20 feet deep or more and you have to either jump in or go down the ladder and jump in. The water can be rough, but a few people did snorkel and said there was a lot to see. I think the water was the calmest in the morning. There is a life vest you can use if you wish.

We went to Negril Beach...7 Mile Beach one day. The water is shallow and the bottom is very sandy...beautiful. Many places to eat and stay so it is busy. A lot of visitors that go to Jamaica stay on the beach for a few days and then go to the cliffs for the remaining. If we go back that is what we will definitely do.

We took a water taxi...one of the many Glass Bottom boats that are moored on the edge of the beach for our trip back to the cliffs. We had them drop us off at Rick's and we walked back to Banana Shout. This we enjoyed very much..getting to see all the places to stay on the cliffs. You do not get to see much from the road as they are all hidden behind high walls and gated. Highly recommend it. We paid $70.00 US but it was around a 1 hour trip one way and well worth the money. Got great pics of Banana Shout from the water!!

Definitly take walking shoes. You must get out and see Jamaica while in Negril and to do that you need to walk. Everyone we met was very friendly...maybe it was the constant AROMA in the air??? I am not sure if there is any place on earth that you can go up to a fruit stand and purchase bananas, magic mushrooms, and brownies all at once.! LOL Only in Jamaica Mon!!

When walking, walk on the opposite side of the road and REMEMBER the pedestrian does not have any rights. Get out of the way of any vehicle...specially the guys on the motorcycles without helmets that are fearless. After about 5 minutes you get the hang of it.

When in Jamaica always have a backup plan. Book Jaround through Milo to pick you up at the airport..if not, there are many cabs available to take you. We paid $80.00 US for our one way trip. It is about an hour and a half...lots to see... so enjoy the ride.

There is no safe in the cottages...but you do have a key to lock the door. We have a lock we use for our luggage and locked up our money etc. (in a smaller suitcase) while not in the cottage or took it with us.

Our vacation was a wonderful adventure. We definitely recommend anyone to visit Jamaica at least once. Banana Shout is not too rustic in its appearance and ammenities that you cannot be comfortable. It is full of colorful people that make it what it is....a place you can either embrace with all that it has to offer while also having your quiet space to watch the ocean creatures visit you on your doorstep daily.

Thank you Jamaica!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sabi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    30
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
121
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Mills, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Don't even know where to begin. From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly. The views are amazing, the rooms comfortable. We didn't get to swim in the cove because of choppy waters, but did enjoy the outdoor shower. We made friends. Milo and Mariann were such sweet and gracious hosts. We love Plug, Jah Rounde and Ashman and they really made our stay memorable. Oh and we were lucky enough to stay with previous guests Cheryll and Ralf who made it even more special. It's really like a community and you truly get a feel for Jamaica and the culture. If you want the cookie cutter resort stay somewhere else. If you want to have a vacation experience come to the Shout.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FallonJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A little spot of paradise on earth for easy going people with the coolest hosts Marianna and Milo! Private, safe and in a gorgeous location! We felt like home but with a better view!
Thank you Milo for the delicious pasta shared with "Mr Lenny" and our english fellows ;-) .
Thank you also to Plug, Barbara and Ashman!!! We hope we'll be back! Anne and Marco

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitabanana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Booked banana shout because we wanted to relax in a place for 7 nights that is rustic, friendly, has no kids, waterfront and most of all, west facing to catch the sunsets. Banana shout checked all the boxes, and more.

The people sets banana shout apart from the rest. Milo, Marianne, Plug, Rico and Barbara are such characters. And because the banana shout team is so chilled and friendly, the guests got along really well too. Towards the end of our trip, banana shout was like a little community. In the mornings, we make breakie together with other guests in the open air kitchen. Plug and Marianne would sometimes join us. Sometimes, one of the other guest would be fishing, while my husband snorkels and watches the action in the clear water. Later, Rico the chef would cook the yummy line-caught fish for our lunch. Come sunset, another guest would whip up a mudslide or two for everyone, while we watch the going-ons at Ricks Cafe next door. At night, Marianne would light up some tealights for our porch/balcony. We try not to leave banana shout too long because it's so cosy.

Milo and Marianne work hard at involving the locals in their work, and it shows. This place is not lux like the all inclusive bnb/hotels, but it has so much character and stories. Easily one of our best summer holidays. Thank you banana shout.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank loulou_in_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a beautiful place! right on the cliffs, snorkleed, swam, tried some cliff diving and just enjoyed the peace and sunsets- Milo and Mariana were amazing hosts and Plug took care of everything. Needed to get away from the gauntlet on 7 mile beach and this was just the place! its a small place where you can plan the jamaica visit you want! Ill be back to Banana Shout for sure!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jhshrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were going back to Jamaica for the first time since the late 1970's and we were both hoping that we would find the charm and mystical ambiance of our memories of Negril, The beach place we had booked was a starting point. On a chance meeting we were introduced to Milo of Banana Shout Resort and he invited us for a tour of the property, little did we know that as soon as he opened the gate to Banana Shout that a doorway (blessing), had been bestowed on my wife and I,its all yours, private,peaceful, a trip back in time surrounded with the blissful serenity,no t.v. just views and ocean song, wake up in heaven and start anew, and definitely take a couple of your favorite books, sitting in the shade of the family tree, that is what you get, real Jamaica, from real Jamaican hosts.

Room Tip: dolphin rooms are romantic beyond, take some candles, all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardoelrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This review is challenging to write, as we did not “stay” at Banana Shout (BS). If you have any questions about this review, please feel free to contact me with a PM, as I can document EVERYTHING in the review as true (in case management decides to dispute my review).

We made a reservation through an agency that reps nearly 100 Negril hotels and is highly regarded. We made our reservation for 1-1-14 through 1-5-14 in March of 2013. We paid in FULL in March, 2013. We wanted Dolphin Bay, as we wanted privacy. The thought of a secluded area was appealing, and BS had MOSTLY decent reviews. 1-1-14 was our anniversary, so we were excited to move to the cliffs for this exciting day!

We have stayed all over Negril before, but never at BS (see my other reviews). We were on the beach during the first part of this trip (12-25-13 through 1-1-14) and were supposed to move to BS on 1-1-14. I contacted the owner (Milo) on 12-31-13 to see what time we could get in the following day. He assured us to come any time, and they would make room for us. I understood this to mean they would either have our room ready when we came, or would hold our stuff securely until the room was ready.

Got to BS on 1-1-14 at noon. No one answered our 20 minute knocking at the gate. Remember that we came from the beach, so in addition to four suitcases, we had two boxes of food as we had kitchenettes at both the beach AND BS. Standing on One Love as cars whizzed by. Finally, a friend of the owner’s, passing by, saw us, stopped, and fortunately had a key.

We got in, and looked around. No owner to be found. The house keeper asked why we were there, as they had no open rooms. I shared that she was mistaken, as I had a confirmation certificate from the agency (which I produced immediately). She disinterestedly shared that no openings were available until 1-3-14.

The friend of the owner finally got a hold of Milo, who came about 15 minutes later. He immediately told us we were wrong, and he had no room. It was NY Day, we have all luggage, and have now wasted 1.5 hours sitting. I immediately called the booking agency (NOT an online place, but a true agency out of Canada). After leaving multiple messages, I finally got a live human. They had our booking down, and they proceeded to talk to Milo. All I knew was that SOMEWHERE in this chain, we were lost. Regardless of who was at fault….WE WERE NOT. We did everything right, and even called the day before coming there.

Milo and the agency found a ROOM at Catcha Falling Star for us. They said we would stay there two nights, then move again back to BS. My radar was REALLY up, as now over two hours of the middle of the day had been wasted, we were still sweltering at BS, and now you have a ROOM for me? No balcony, no kitchen. Just a small room under some stairs (Little Capricorn, if you want to check it out). I threw a complete fit. It is my ANNIVERSARY and I booked NINE MONTHS in advance. No room, and now I get a plain, windowless motel room? NOT HAPPENING.

We argued with the travel company, who finally agreed to bump us up to a very nice, lovely room at Catcha. That is why they are not being slammed here as well, at least they tried. In the subsequent 24 hours, we were harassed by the BS owner, who yelled at us as we walked by BS for dinner for upgrading out room, telling us he was NOT paying for it. He called me "American trash". Not that it matters, but we are two professionals in our mid 40s.

All parties still thought we should return after two days, we refused. After having the owner yelling at us, we were NOT intending to step foot back on his property – the man SCARED us.
I would sadly NOT recommend BS to anyone. He initially volunteered to “give” us two days in Dolphin Bay at another time due to this “mix up”. Really? We should TRUST that you will REMEMBER that booking? He could not remember a PAID booking!!!

Beware, folks. We wasted a full day with this situation. One day on an 11 day vacation is way too much to spend yelling, crying and haggling.

Sadly, I will never, ever be at BS again…..Again, PM me if you want all of the documentation regarding this. I have it all, so Milo cannot dispute one thing in this review. Also, please read my hundreds of other reviews from around the world, as we usually are not complainers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dianeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milonegril, Owner at Banana Shout Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Sometimes people try to abuse too much the kindness of others.
here what happened:
We had an overbooking, we are sorry but it happened, ( i actually got overbooked 3 times on the last 5 flights).
Our duty is book the customer in a same category hotel at our expenses, we actually book them into a higher level hotel for the 2 nights overbooking.
we gave them 3 free nights for next stay at the Shout. on a 4 days reservation.
the agency gave them 200 usd refund
this was not enough for them because they want a suite, they even pretend that we pay 4 nights at the other hotel in the suite,even if we have the room they booked.
now , i got accused of harassing and scare them, this is very funny because they avoid us since they move to catcha, we went 3 times looking for them with no success, they called many times the agency in Canada complaining that i did not went to look for them, i have all the mail from the travel agency asking me why i do not want talk to them.
feel free to pm me to view all the mail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#28 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Shout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Shout Resort

Property: Banana Shout Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril 3004, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Shout Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banana Shout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Shout Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing