We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views, nice people, decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Home Sweet Home Resort
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed for four nights. New owners are helpful and friendly and extremely responsive. Staff great as well. No real complaints (hot water sometimes becomes lukewarm-- minor issue). Seems that the rooms and grounds are being upgraded/improved -- a few slightly-rough edges appear to be getting smoothed out. Not an ultra-luxury kind of place-- homey, comfortable, clean. Quick ride to beach.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy to let you know that we've added a second hot water heater, yay! And, yes everyday we start a new upgrade to smooth out the those rough edges, greatly appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and I honeymooned at Home Sweet Home 17 years ago. We went back in January 2013 and had an amazing time. Although we missed the previous owner Charlie, the new owners John and Kim were extremley nice and very accomodating. Home Sweet Home is a small quiet place pearched up on the cliffs of Negril, where you can hear the waves. The property is in good shape with lots of vegitation. it has a nice pool and offers comfortable lounge chairs with cushions. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable (we moved up to a suite mid week). The food at the restaurant was very good, they offered breakfast, lunch and dinner starting at 7AM M-SU. They serve high mountain coffee which was to me better than Blue Mountain. . What we loved the most is the small boutique feel of the place You can walk out of your room and be in the restaurant in one minute, you can walk down the steps to the water in a matter of two minutes. This property offers awesome snorkeling right off the cliffs or if you have teenage kids, they have cliff jumping. The property has a driver, Chris that can take you wherever you would like to go for a price. We prefer to rent a car from Dhana near Montego Bay. A couple of our favorite restaurants are LTU Pub on the cliffs, Norma's at Sea Splash on the beach. And, for an amazing spa adventure....Jackies on the Reef is affordable and amazing it may be a bit pricey to get a cab ride out. And for horseback riding you have to go to Rhodes Hall Plantation in Orange Bay.....it is amazing! Cost is around $70 per rider but truly worth it. Sometimes the restaurants and spas will come get you for no charge but you have to pay for ride back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 then moved into the suite both were great. All rooms have an amazing view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We greatly appreciate your kind review. As ones who have stayed in the past it was really nice to be able to share all the new renovations and upgrades with you both that have occurred since your last visit. It was terrific to have you with us. You've given us a few new spots to check out too which is great. :o) Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I understand the resort is now under new owners, so this should show an improvement. I had a horrible vacation December 2012. The housekeeper is a little too friendlly with the male guests. I don't need to go into detail but women should watch your husbands. Hopefully with the new owners she is no longer employed but she is very persuasive and made my stay miserable. The grounds were very nice and the views were beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StephS457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

I'm so sorry you did not have a good experience. The housekeeper you are referring to is no longer employed at the property. Our goal is to do everything possible to ensure you have the best vacation imaginable. Please ask to speak with the owners during your next stay and we will find a way to express our appreciation for giving us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Firstly, we would like to thank the owners, Kim & John and the HSH Staff -- Ted, Terry, Monte, LaToya, Shalene, Tina, Marcia, Chris, Dino and Housekeeping for taking care of us for 14 days :) What an amazing time we had!! We started planning our wedding months before our trip -- Kim and the girls in the office made every detail of planning our wedding simple and effortless. They took the time to answer all of our questions and took care of every detail. From the moment we got to the property we felt like family :) The entire staff was anticipating our arrival and made us feel so special when we arrived. The view from our Room #16 was absolutely breathtaking. Not to mention the room itself was beautiful, spacious and very private. During our stay we tried many cocktails -- made by the master bartender Monte -- which were all fabulous -- our faves: Dirty Banana & Rum Punch of course :) Ted & Terry cooked up the most amazing food -- adding their special touches here and there, we even let them just surprise us with whatever at times because we knew no matter what it would be great -- we were never disappointed!! Our favorites to do while in Negril -- go on walks, relax by the cliffs, eat :), drink :), watch the beautiful sunsets, visit the beach, explore the caves, watch the twinkling stars at night and making friends with the people of Jamaica :) Our wedding day could not have been more perfect. It surpassed all of our expectations and was absolutely beautiful. The staff worked all day to make sure everything was perfect and I cannot express enough thanks to them -- THANK YOU!! This is the PERFECT Negril, Jamaica wedding venue!! Oh yes -- if you get married at this resort we suggest that you jump off the cliff afterwards -- it was such a fun bonding moment and also made for good pictures and video :) The photographer Shane took amazing pictures and captured all of our special moments throughout the day. You made us feel like models in a photo shoot -- How fun!! Anyway, as you can see we had an amazing time -- we are already thinking about our trip back next year to celebrate our anniversary!! :) If you are looking for a romantic, private, secluded and ultimate relaxation spot -- this place is for you. You will not be disappointed! Thanks again HSH -- you will forever hold a special place in our hearts! Love, Todd & Abbie Hepler

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TABBIE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thanks to you both for sharing you day with us! We had such a great time with you. It was so fun to see you both beaming with smiles from ear to ear on your wedding day! :o) We were so thrilled to be a part of such a special time in your lives and are so happy to know that we helped make it wonderful. We can't wait to see you for your anniversary in Jan 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

First of all, I want to say this hotel is not for the people who love typical all-inclusive beach resort.
HSH is located Negril criff side area. No sandy beach behind the hotel, but there is a very cool cliff backyard. One evening, I and my husband were sitting on the chairs on the criff and watching beautiful sunset with drinking Red Stripe (I had dark rum). It was like sitting on the ocean. Not like a sandy beach, it was very unique and wonderful experience.
Daytime, we loved jumping from the cliff and did show-off to the boat going through our backyard. We did snorkel too. If you are lucky, you may see dolphine.

The location of HSH is kind of a good position. Walking distance (maybe 15mins) to 7miles beach and downtown. If your room has a kitchen, you can shop Green Super Market (painted green) and make coffee or quick breakfast.

The restaurant of HSH, I would say can it be better little bit with some small details, like portion size, plate, or side of entree. However, 2 menu I loved were Jerk Conch and Platain wrapped with bacon. Jerk Conch was well spiced and cooked softly. I did not see same menu any other restaurants. Plantain bacon was the one mixed sweetness and smokey flavor. Good with Red Stripe. (becaused it was good, I wanted bigger plantain though :)

The day trip. We did scuba one day. There is many small tropical fished, octopus, ray, etc etc. It is beach entry and good for beginner. Another day,driver of HSH, Chris took us YS Rivers. There is no tour office in Negril downtown, I would recommend Chris for private tour. He told us stories about villages, musicians, rum factories, etc etc,. I also asked many quesions about Jamaica, like "people have health insurance?" "school is free?". On the way to the hotel, Because I was interested in, Chris stopped at small shop selling crawfish. Tour bus can not offer this kind of additional fun experience.

At last, the hotel. One hard working business guy, John took over the management just a month ago. People Negril told us this hotel was almost abandoned for a while. John is fixing one by one right now. Maybe not 100% perfect for all guests, however, at least he brought the stuff we requested him right away. Sometimes WiFi problem at night, but the line will be upgraded soon.

If somebody looks for an extraordinary vacation, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room with kitchen has super nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yabyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for providing your review and sharing your extraordinary vacation experience with everyone. We truly appreciate all your thoughts and feedback. We've reviewed and addressed portion sizes on several of our menu items and indeed the WiFi has been upgraded.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in December for our honeymoon. We chose it based on photos and reviews here on Tripadvisor and we were very happy with our choice. Let's start with the good things: The staff was wonderful and made us feel like family. Marcia in the office, Angie in housekeeping, Terry in the kitchen, Mark, Latoya and Shalene(can't remember for sure, she was very quiet and shy) in the restaurant and our driver Chris were all very warm and friendly people! Even the maintenance guy who was there everyday was very nice and friendly as were the other men who were there doing some renovating. We stayed in #14, the Sunset Suite and it was great. There was more than enough room and it was VERY clean and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. It also had an air conditioner and a kitchenette (we only used the refrigerator). We loved the stairs on the cliffs down to different landings to layout, read or dive into the ocean. We spent every morning but one swimming in the ocean right there. It was amazing. We had brunch at the hotel most days and a few dinners. The only time I didn't enjoy the food was when Terry didn't cook our food which was 2 or 3 times. We were not impressed with that man's cooking! We really enjoyed everything we had for breakfast and really enjoyed the curry chicken and ceviche snapper. We loved that there was a pool for when the ocean was too rough or we just didn't feel like walking down the cliff. We enjoyed the fact that there were only 14 rooms. The first 2 days there were only a couple other people besides us and after that it was a large group of people celebrating a big birthday but we barely noticed them unless we were in the restaurant at the same time. It was a very quiet and relaxing place and perfect for a relaxing and romantic honeymoon.
Most of them will probably be fixed soon as they are in the middle of some renovations but I will still point out the few negatives: We loved our room but the shower needed some TLC. It got the job done (sometimes barely) but not very appealing. The pool and jacuzzi are in need of some repair. There was paint chipping off and some tiles broken or gone and the jacuzzi motor sounded like it was on it's deathbed. Also there was almost no room around the pool to walk (not an issue since it was just the 2 of us everytime we were there but could be annoying if there was a group there). As I already mentioned it's in the middle of transition so there was some minor construction work going on but we only noticed some noise 2 of the days we were there and that's only b/c they were right out our door basically but didn't keep us from napping or relaxing. Terry was an amazing cook but the man that was there a couple times we didn't enjoy at all. For one, Terry would come out and interact with people and was very fun and friendly, the man didn't. I have to say the man b/c I don't even know his name. lol. Also the 2 times we ate when he was cooking it took forever and when we got our food it wasn't great. I don't know if he's new or what. I didn't love that we had to take a taxi pretty much anywhere we wanted to go but I guess the peace and quiet of the cliffs makes up for that. The security guard did not make me feel secure and that's all I'll say about that.

All in all it was an amazing honeymoon and we enjoyed Home Sweet Home very much. If you want to get away from all the partying and tourists on the beach the cliffs are a great place to get away and relax. We only went to the beach 2 out of 6 days and don't feel like we missed out at all. If you are used to luxury and/or all inclusive you should probably look elsewhere. If you're laidback and just want a clean place to lay your head and an amazing view check this place out!! You won't regret it! Oh and make sure you go check out some of the local places while you're there. We went to the craft market, a reggae show at Seastar and had lunch at Sweet Spice (amazing and real Jamaican food. we had curried goat and fried conch) all thanks to the driver Chris from the hotel who suggested them and drove us to all of them. Don't be scared to try new things. that's part of the experience! Hope we can make it back to Negril and Home Sweet Home very soon!!!

Room Tip: It was very hot 2 days we were there so A/C is a must!! All of the rooms have ocean views but the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ant8355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Congrats! Happy to hear you had a great honeymoon. Thanks for your positive and negative notes. Terry and staff are still cooking up great food and we have a new chef on board now.

Our sincere apologies for the TLC and renovation items you experienced. We are swiftly working on all items. Some of the larger ones of note, water pressure has been resolved, the pool, as well as jacuzzi are just like new now. We also made a change to our security and have a professional security company providing our service now everyday.

In the end, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely honeymoon.

We look forward to having you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
John and Kim Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We were here in December 2012 for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Its not a very large resort, which we liked because it was quite and relaxing. Its on the cliffs, but the 7 mile beach is a nice walk or short taxi ride away. The staff was very nice and the restaurant was great as well. This place isn't fancy, but had everything we needed. I would highly recommend HSH to low maintenance travelers (esp couples) that want to relax and not be in the middle of the touristy area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NRC_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for your review. It's a bit like the best of both worlds being on the beautiful cliffs yet so close to the beach.

We have increased our amenities and made many upgrades to the property. Please join us again.

We look forward to seeing,
John and Kim Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#33 of 80 in Negril
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#36 of 80 in Negril
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rondel Village
Rondel Village
#31 of 80 in Negril
531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#37 of 80 in Negril
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril 20147, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#28 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Sweet Home Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HSH Resort - Nestled on the beautiful cliffs of Negril, you'll find your tropical home away from home. Offering 14 spacious rooms, each with a private veranda and a breathtaking view of the Caribbean.Explore the island or never leave the resort! Our goal is provide you an atmosphere where you create your own brand of fun and relaxation.You can spend your entire sun-drenched days and moonlit nights here! We look forward to having you as our guest, where you will enjoy the most spectacular sunsets in all of Jamaica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home Sweet Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Negril
Home Sweet Hotel
Home Sweet Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing