We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Sweet Home Resort
Ranked #34 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just returned from our nine day stay at home sweet home on Tuesday . We stayed here last year and knowing it was going to be different under new ownership. We were lucky enough to have met the new owners John and Kim last year while we were there as they were working out the transition.
Did this trip with two other couples this year and this was their first trip to negril. We stayed in the sunset suite again this year,we love the room and the large balcony. The room had some renovations from our last stay all positive.
The property itself has had some renovations which were good. The two new suites have a view to die for. The staff all new since our last trip was great. Want to give a big thanks to Tina and Chris for all you did for us.
The food at the resort has changed management and chefs. Terry and teddy the chefs put together some outstanding meals,no complaints there.
Monty,Latoya and chelene were also great behind the bar and waiting on us.
Overall we were treated like family from day one great little place to stay.
Thanks John and Kim see you next year.

Room Tip: Sunset suite has a great view from the large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for the motivating thoughts! It was so great to see you this year and we can't wait until for your arrival next year. Hope the whole group will join too. We are indeed family! We strive for and hope all our guests will have the same comforting experience. Thanks again to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

What a time we had at 'Home Sweet Home!' We had not planned on going to Negril and decided to do so on a whim. That for us was a most wonderful decision. How fortunate too we got a room at 'Home Sweet Home.' Yes, as described by some the rooms may be seen as tired and rough around the edges and the water in the shower not as warm as at one's own home but that is what gives it it's charm. Yes mon, we are in Jamaica afterall! If we wanted all that we would have stayed home. It was truly wonderful to be so close to the ocean, to hear its breath, to feel the warmth of its breezes.and to smell the salt air. Who cares for water pressure coming from a shower head when you can overlook the ocean? I do not know what was more blue, the sky or the sea. The staff was so helpful and thanks to Tina. The food, at the on-site restaurant,could only be described as a culinary delight. The pool well used by others had lots of space and chairs but we decided upon the cliffs with their quick access to the ocean. The drivers were easy to talk to and readliy available. Off site we found the Blue Mountain Coffee Shop that roasts green beans for you to take home as gifts. (Sure ya right I am giving away that coffee - not likely.) The Swordfish Inn down the road, well that restaurant has a permanent place in my heart. Great Jamaican cooking and lucky for me I got a bite of the mac and cheese and lobster that my husband ordered. The ice cream there - best rum and rasin ever!!! 'Home Sweet Home' is only a short cab ride to the beaches and night life and a safe walk to shops and beaches. Did I like the place? You betchya. Thanks to everyone at Home Sweet Home. .

Room Tip: Room 12 was magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duck278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We were thrilled you decided to come to Negril. It was so great to have you with us. The energizing conversations were terrific. You two are ones to hang with, always on them move having a great time, trying out all kinds of new places and things to see/do. What in inspiration you both were to everyone around you. We really look forward to seeing you next year OR maybe sooner..... ;o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed for four nights. New owners are helpful and friendly and extremely responsive. Staff great as well. No real complaints (hot water sometimes becomes lukewarm-- minor issue). Seems that the rooms and grounds are being upgraded/improved -- a few slightly-rough edges appear to be getting smoothed out. Not an ultra-luxury kind of place-- homey, comfortable, clean. Quick ride to beach.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy to let you know that we've added a second hot water heater, yay! And, yes everyday we start a new upgrade to smooth out the those rough edges, greatly appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and I honeymooned at Home Sweet Home 17 years ago. We went back in January 2013 and had an amazing time. Although we missed the previous owner Charlie, the new owners John and Kim were extremley nice and very accomodating. Home Sweet Home is a small quiet place pearched up on the cliffs of Negril, where you can hear the waves. The property is in good shape with lots of vegitation. it has a nice pool and offers comfortable lounge chairs with cushions. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable (we moved up to a suite mid week). The food at the restaurant was very good, they offered breakfast, lunch and dinner starting at 7AM M-SU. They serve high mountain coffee which was to me better than Blue Mountain. . What we loved the most is the small boutique feel of the place You can walk out of your room and be in the restaurant in one minute, you can walk down the steps to the water in a matter of two minutes. This property offers awesome snorkeling right off the cliffs or if you have teenage kids, they have cliff jumping. The property has a driver, Chris that can take you wherever you would like to go for a price. We prefer to rent a car from Dhana near Montego Bay. A couple of our favorite restaurants are LTU Pub on the cliffs, Norma's at Sea Splash on the beach. And, for an amazing spa adventure....Jackies on the Reef is affordable and amazing it may be a bit pricey to get a cab ride out. And for horseback riding you have to go to Rhodes Hall Plantation in Orange Bay.....it is amazing! Cost is around $70 per rider but truly worth it. Sometimes the restaurants and spas will come get you for no charge but you have to pay for ride back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 then moved into the suite both were great. All rooms have an amazing view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We greatly appreciate your kind review. As ones who have stayed in the past it was really nice to be able to share all the new renovations and upgrades with you both that have occurred since your last visit. It was terrific to have you with us. You've given us a few new spots to check out too which is great. :o) Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I understand the resort is now under new owners, so this should show an improvement. I had a horrible vacation December 2012. The housekeeper is a little too friendlly with the male guests. I don't need to go into detail but women should watch your husbands. Hopefully with the new owners she is no longer employed but she is very persuasive and made my stay miserable. The grounds were very nice and the views were beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StephS457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

I'm so sorry you did not have a good experience. The housekeeper you are referring to is no longer employed at the property. Our goal is to do everything possible to ensure you have the best vacation imaginable. Please ask to speak with the owners during your next stay and we will find a way to express our appreciation for giving us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Firstly, we would like to thank the owners, Kim & John and the HSH Staff -- Ted, Terry, Monte, LaToya, Shalene, Tina, Marcia, Chris, Dino and Housekeeping for taking care of us for 14 days :) What an amazing time we had!! We started planning our wedding months before our trip -- Kim and the girls in the office made every detail of planning our wedding simple and effortless. They took the time to answer all of our questions and took care of every detail. From the moment we got to the property we felt like family :) The entire staff was anticipating our arrival and made us feel so special when we arrived. The view from our Room #16 was absolutely breathtaking. Not to mention the room itself was beautiful, spacious and very private. During our stay we tried many cocktails -- made by the master bartender Monte -- which were all fabulous -- our faves: Dirty Banana & Rum Punch of course :) Ted & Terry cooked up the most amazing food -- adding their special touches here and there, we even let them just surprise us with whatever at times because we knew no matter what it would be great -- we were never disappointed!! Our favorites to do while in Negril -- go on walks, relax by the cliffs, eat :), drink :), watch the beautiful sunsets, visit the beach, explore the caves, watch the twinkling stars at night and making friends with the people of Jamaica :) Our wedding day could not have been more perfect. It surpassed all of our expectations and was absolutely beautiful. The staff worked all day to make sure everything was perfect and I cannot express enough thanks to them -- THANK YOU!! This is the PERFECT Negril, Jamaica wedding venue!! Oh yes -- if you get married at this resort we suggest that you jump off the cliff afterwards -- it was such a fun bonding moment and also made for good pictures and video :) The photographer Shane took amazing pictures and captured all of our special moments throughout the day. You made us feel like models in a photo shoot -- How fun!! Anyway, as you can see we had an amazing time -- we are already thinking about our trip back next year to celebrate our anniversary!! :) If you are looking for a romantic, private, secluded and ultimate relaxation spot -- this place is for you. You will not be disappointed! Thanks again HSH -- you will forever hold a special place in our hearts! Love, Todd & Abbie Hepler

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TABBIE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thanks to you both for sharing you day with us! We had such a great time with you. It was so fun to see you both beaming with smiles from ear to ear on your wedding day! :o) We were so thrilled to be a part of such a special time in your lives and are so happy to know that we helped make it wonderful. We can't wait to see you for your anniversary in Jan 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

First of all, I want to say this hotel is not for the people who love typical all-inclusive beach resort.
HSH is located Negril criff side area. No sandy beach behind the hotel, but there is a very cool cliff backyard. One evening, I and my husband were sitting on the chairs on the criff and watching beautiful sunset with drinking Red Stripe (I had dark rum). It was like sitting on the ocean. Not like a sandy beach, it was very unique and wonderful experience.
Daytime, we loved jumping from the cliff and did show-off to the boat going through our backyard. We did snorkel too. If you are lucky, you may see dolphine.

The location of HSH is kind of a good position. Walking distance (maybe 15mins) to 7miles beach and downtown. If your room has a kitchen, you can shop Green Super Market (painted green) and make coffee or quick breakfast.

The restaurant of HSH, I would say can it be better little bit with some small details, like portion size, plate, or side of entree. However, 2 menu I loved were Jerk Conch and Platain wrapped with bacon. Jerk Conch was well spiced and cooked softly. I did not see same menu any other restaurants. Plantain bacon was the one mixed sweetness and smokey flavor. Good with Red Stripe. (becaused it was good, I wanted bigger plantain though :)

The day trip. We did scuba one day. There is many small tropical fished, octopus, ray, etc etc. It is beach entry and good for beginner. Another day,driver of HSH, Chris took us YS Rivers. There is no tour office in Negril downtown, I would recommend Chris for private tour. He told us stories about villages, musicians, rum factories, etc etc,. I also asked many quesions about Jamaica, like "people have health insurance?" "school is free?". On the way to the hotel, Because I was interested in, Chris stopped at small shop selling crawfish. Tour bus can not offer this kind of additional fun experience.

At last, the hotel. One hard working business guy, John took over the management just a month ago. People Negril told us this hotel was almost abandoned for a while. John is fixing one by one right now. Maybe not 100% perfect for all guests, however, at least he brought the stuff we requested him right away. Sometimes WiFi problem at night, but the line will be upgraded soon.

If somebody looks for an extraordinary vacation, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room with kitchen has super nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yabyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jttaylor63, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for providing your review and sharing your extraordinary vacation experience with everyone. We truly appreciate all your thoughts and feedback. We've reviewed and addressed portion sizes on several of our menu items and indeed the WiFi has been upgraded.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#32 of 80 in Negril
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#40 of 80 in Negril
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 80 in Negril
528 reviews
2.4 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#38 of 80 in Negril
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#37 of 80 in Negril
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril 20147, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#28 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Sweet Home Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HSH Resort - Nestled on the beautiful cliffs of Negril, you'll find your tropical home away from home. Offering 14 spacious rooms, each with a private veranda and a breathtaking view of the Caribbean.Explore the island or never leave the resort! Our goal is provide you an atmosphere where you create your own brand of fun and relaxation.You can spend your entire sun-drenched days and moonlit nights here! We look forward to having you as our guest, where you will enjoy the most spectacular sunsets in all of Jamaica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Home Sweet Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Negril
Home Sweet Hotel
Home Sweet Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing