We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising jewel in the long chain of Negril resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Home Sweet Home Resort
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprising jewel in the long chain of Negril resorts”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A surprising jewel in the long chain of hotels and resorts between Long Bay and Westend. A true boutique place for both people who want a peaceful vacation or party folks that need to rest in-between. At the bar on the cliffs, though, spontaneous get-togethers happen quite often and may soon turn into a more private party atmosphere with the friendly bartenders taking over the DJ part.
Foods and drinks are excellent, prepared by the well-trained chef with finesse and love. if you want to avoid the crowd or join only when going out, while enjoying a more sophisticated Jamaican management and staff, this is the place.
Cliffs and terraces above excellent snorkeling pools, swimming pool, cliffside bar & restaurant.
By car: 5 min to Rick's café, 5 min to downtown, 10 min to the party mile along Long Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie r, Manager at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your great review of our property. We're ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed our gorgeous property, friendly staff and delicious food. Sounds like you had an incredible stay and we can't wait to welcome you back for another!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    120
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
173
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I am truly amazed at the rave reviews that I am reading and am actually wondering if they are made up or not. My stay at Home Sweet Home was one of the worst experiences I have ever had. We stayed in the "penthouse suite" - the view and balcony were great, but that is about all - very rustic, no lock on the door and no screens on the window. There is virtually no security on the premises and I had a local walk up to the penthouse suite and knock on our door solicitating us. The bar/restaurant is a joke - the bartender very unprofessional and the food was not good at all. The pool area was not cleaned the entire week of our stay - dirty glass and ashtray remained there from the Day One. I would not recommend this place to anyone - do yourself a favor and look elsewhere to stay in Jamaica

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie r, Manager at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We're so sorry that you had this unfortunate incident during your stay at our resort. It is also disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your visit. Please accept our apologies as this is certainly not our standard.

Regarding your overall experience, we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments, for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My friends and I spent four nights at this retreat overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Upon arriving we were greeted with warm smiles and hospitality. The view was breath taking and the tropical surroundings let us know we were in paradise. Although I preferred to be on a beach, the views and staff made up for lack of on site beach. This was my first time to Negril and I cannot wait to return. Tina was amazing and always took care of our needs. We also met Godwin, who is an ambassador of Negril. He showed us around to food and fun , he made our trip unforgettable. We were also very close to great places, Rick's Cafe, 3 Dives and Push Cart restaurant. I recommend visiting all three. The ladies and gentleman that serve the on site restaurant were great, but the food service need some attention. Other than the food service, I highly recommend this gem in paradise as a great getaway for a couple or small group of friends.

Room Tip: I did not mean to say terrible for fitness center because there was none. I recommend room 16, great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent an excellent week here in February 2014. It's not as polished as some resorts, remember it's called Home Sweet Home, but Charlie (owner) and Tina (manager) bent over backwards to look after out every need. Godwin was our driver (highly educated, smart and honest, important in Jamaica). We have family in Kingston so we have some experience. we highly recommend this property especially if you want tranquil. Experience the local eateries, several within walking distance (don't forget Godwin, he will take care of you. He also is an excellent tour guide. If you want to experience 7 mile beach for a day pay an all exclusive resort for a day pass. We will be back. JD and Danella

Room Tip: On ocean vs ocean view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and a friend of mine were looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway, and at the same time had great accommodations and an awesome staff. Needless to say, all of these were met. I've been to several resorts in the Caribbean and this one had the best energy to date. I'd like to thank Charlie and his staff for a great time, and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great vacation!
-Henry

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Such a wonderful stay at Home Sweet Home,by far one of the most enjoyable vacations I've had in Negril. Nice intimate property. The personal attention was wonderful the staff was by far one of the best in Negril,if not the best. The view is spectacular. Had a wonderful ten days and will definitely return. Charlie you are gold and so is your staff !

Room Tip: I suggest the new suite # 16 definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitsfield, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We took our 7 & 9 year old kids here for a week of sun, fun, cultural exposure, natural beauty, amazing gluten free Jamaican food, and respectful people.
Charlie, the owner, and his staff(family) are extremely friendly and accommodating.
The location is the best in Negril. Our kids walked everywhere with us. We walk to town daily, the beach, nightly dinners at 3 Dives or Jacko & Jenny's or Chicken Lavish. Lance's corner store is
1"block" away.
Home Sweet Home has the best breakfasts with the best coffee and the most Amazing views! The cliffs are perfect for diving and fishing and crab spying. The kids were never
bored and Jamaicans went out of their way to be friendly and
respectful to the kids. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvinavt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#35 of 80 in Negril
1,328 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#30 of 80 in Negril
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#32 of 80 in Negril
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jackie's on the Reef
Jackie's on the Reef
#40 of 80 in Negril
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home Resort

Property: Home Sweet Home Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril 20147, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Negril
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#28 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Sweet Home Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HSH Resort - Nestled on the beautiful cliffs of Negril, you'll find your tropical home away from home. Offering 14 spacious rooms, each with a private veranda and a breathtaking view of the Caribbean.Explore the island or never leave the resort! Our goal is provide you an atmosphere where you create your own brand of fun and relaxation.You can spend your entire sun-drenched days and moonlit nights here! We look forward to having you as our guest, where you will enjoy the most spectacular sunsets in all of Jamaica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home Sweet Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Negril
Home Sweet Hotel
Home Sweet Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing