We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Birthday and vacation 11/15/2012 to 11/17/2012”
Review of The Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oasis Resort
Ranked #65 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My Birthday and vacation 11/15/2012 to 11/17/2012”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Awesome hotel !!, and the Staff. I stayed at The Oasis Resort this was my 1st time leaving the United States traveling to another counrty. I always wanted to see Negril Jamaica I choose this hotel because it had everything I wanted to start my trip with then off to Montego bay. My fiance and I had a ball our room was very clean I had no problems with the hot water, and the AC in our room was excellent the whole staff was welcoming and beautiful it was close to everything I wanted to see and do even Cliff jumping into the ocean at Ricks cafe was right up the street. I stayed in room 8 loved my room. The cook Chris prepared our breakfast & lunch as well as dinner which was superb , and Sasha kept me happy with the drinks :-) I dont remember all of the staffs names but they are all wonderful this is a very beautiful hidden secret and you cannot alway believe what you hear just step out on faith and go for it. I have nothing but good things to say about this resort, my name is Kay from Charlotte, NC and I am planning another trip the end of March, and my wedding next year sometime inthe summer, and hopefully this is where I will be having it or my reception thank you to the staff for a wonderful 1st time experience!! I have worked in the hotel business for 15 years from the Hilton to the Marriott, and Bed & breakfast Management and I don't stay at any hotel but always remember when you travel never judge hope this was helpful to future travelers

Room Tip: Room 8 was wonderful had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
27
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Here right now and though it's off season....there's no pressure and the staff are very nice. We're here just 150 yards fron One Love road or West End road as it's known . If you're on a tight budget, almost beside the Oasis is Erica's Cafe for traditional Jamaican food, a barbeque place another 100 feet down and a little grocery store.across from it. A local route taxi can take you downtown to experience other local food shops and stands. Otherwise, the Oasis menu does seem tantalizing and the prices are competetive compared with more popular restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Til B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My friend & I stayed here for a few days. As previously mentioned the rooms, though fairly clean, have bugs and lack of hot water. The a/c worked the first night, but you can hear animals when trying to go to sleep.

Beware, the staff watches your coming and going. And will go as far as to ask you your plans for the day. This is not really to help or give suggestions but to follow your schedule so that they can plan when to send in their criminals.

Please note that when we left our room, we would lock up our valuables in our suitcases. The final evening of our stay, as we arrived back we saw the manager leaving, (I also must add that she was the only "manager" we knew of during our stay. She also would suggest activities for us to do) her comment to us was not "good evening" but "you guys are back already?" I will admit that I was confused by that comment, but she was leaving for the day & I didn't question it.

Sometime during the evening, someone came into our room (or may have been somehow hiding in there) & stole our money & other belongings. We did not think to lock our items when we were locked in the room.

The manager Erica was there when we reported the crime. We had never seen her before. She seemed concerned, but I'm assuming she knows exactly what goes on around there. Ours could not have been the first theft complaint although she claimed that had never happened before while she worked there. I only remember her name because we got her information on the police report.

The police were called, but Jamaican police are not helpful at all and they tried to blame us for what happened by claiming that we were drunk and let people in our rooms. None of this was true, we never had anyone in our room and we do not drink.

The "investigation" led us nowhere and their follow-up was that we left before the investigation was complete so they really couldn't do anything. However they had our contact information on file since we went to the police station before we left.

Do not go to this place! Just pay more to stay somewhere else. Somewhere safer. We figured it was a good plan since it wasn't too expensive or very cheap, but paid more than we planned for in the end. Not worth it. We are just thankful that we left with our lives.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Leebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negril hotels

Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My fiance and I really enjoyed this resort for it's quietness and friendly staff. At first we were a little put off, being used to large resorts, by the small size and peacefulness. We quickly realized it was a blessing in disguise, have you been to seven mile beach? I enjoyed the often empty pool with its 8/9' deep end! Although we ate out often, we really enjoyed the wonderful creations by long time Chef Denis. An amazing guy and cook! Would love to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 555Tonya555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Nice small quite place. U cant beat the price.The rooms are small but nice and clean.I really like the fact that the resort was off the main road.It was so nice waking up in the morning to the birds singing.The staff were very nice and helpful.The food was good i enjoyed it.I felt very safe there the staff treated you like family.There was always running hot water while i was there.The bartender shasha was very sweet i like her.Dennis the cook was very nice.Nothing came up missing from my room.Im planning a trip back to jamaica in a few months and plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mshelbby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salt Lake, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Rooms are infested with bugs. Ants everywhere. In beds and lizards on walls ( they are cute though) charge way to much for food. People who work here accept Marvin was even remotely close to nice Marvin was adorable Stray cats meowing every night they don't have windows that are closed its just a screen so you hear everything including the people next door doing the nasty... You have to ask then to turn on the hot water. They do have air condition that's a good thing and cable :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sparkledust80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Nice small quite resort . U can't beat the value . Just make sure they turn on the hot water when u check-in . The resort is off the main road so u hear a lot of birds crickets ect, but was nice. The only complaint was the internet is only available outside, witch means you will get ate up by mosquitoes. Other reviews said they didn't have running hot water or that they steal . The problem with the water is they conserve unlike us Americans so it has to be turned on. Just ask, they had no problem turning it on. And we had three rooms at this resort and nothing came up missing from anyone in our group . Very helpful staff .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14dec27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.8 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 81 in Negril
58 reviews
3.4 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Cage
Villa La Cage
#77 of 81 in Negril
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Golden Sunset Hotel
The Golden Sunset Hotel
#73 of 81 in Negril
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#35 of 81 in Negril
1,341 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#49 of 81 in Negril
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Resort

Property: The Oasis Resort
Address: West End Road | P.O. Box 99, Negril Negril P.O., Jamaica (Formerly Thrills Resort)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience located on the Western Tip of Jamaica! The Cliffside of Negril is a very special experience. A perfect opportunity to enjoy the "Real Jamaica" away from the crowded resort area nestled in a tropical garden. A tranquil and serene environment that allows you the comfort and serenity that only "Jamaica's Natural Beauty" can offer. We offer the best in personal service, food and comfortable accommodations in a lush tropical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Hotel Negril
Thrills Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing