We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful place to feel at home”
Review of Bar-B-Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bar-B-Barn
Ranked #60 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is my 3rd year to stay at the Bar B Barn, Negril, Jamaica. It's great when you go back and see the same faces and they know you by name. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. A wonderful breakfast right at the beach, watching the waves while you eat. The evening you can dine on the beach patio or go upstairs to Angelas Rest. The best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hurleys4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I had a short 3 night stay at this property and was very pleased with the overall experience. The room was clean, very comfortable and well furnished. The location of the property is great being on 7 mile beach as well as a good spot within the beach. The staff was very attentitive and quite friendly. The include breakfast was outstanding. It is a great value receiving the breakfast and coffee and juice and really starts the day off right. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktowndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I just got back yesterday. Our hotel stay was outstanding. The rooms were clean. The service was impeccable and extremely friendly. From the free daily breakfast to the nightly dinner the food was well prepared. We do however recommend Moms next door to the hotel for those that want local food; fish with the head and tail and breadfruit.
The location is a little far from Montego Bay. It takes over one hour to drive to the hotel. However we would recommend taking a shuttle and leave the driving to someone else. The roads are poorly marked and the local drivers are reckless. The shuttle is overall cheaper than a car rental and can be used to take you anywhere you want to go. The good part is that when you get to the hotel the ride will definitely be worth your time.
One last thing, Angela manages the hotel for the family. she is usually on site and easy to find should you have a problem. She is extremely nice. We did not have any problems.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthonytetawelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My husband and I stayed there Christmas week 2012. Check in was quick and they upgraded our room from a double bed to a queen bed without asking. You must ask for a key to the room safe and pay I think $3 per day. Also, refrigerators are available for rent for something like $5/ day. We didn't take advantage of that. Our room was located near the bar and was a decent size. Queen bed, Sat TV, AC, dressing table, closet and bathroom. It's definitely nothing fancy but the matress was great and everything worked well. One morning we had no water pressure but that was not the norm. One bar of soap was provided and nothing else so you need to bring shampoo, blow dryer, etc. The vibe of the hotel is very easy going and friendly which is their best selling point. Nothing was too much trouble. They even insisted on packing our cooler with ice for a boat excursion. Minor con was there didn't seem to be enough lounge chairs and I hate playing the chair game. We did learn later that many of the people using the loungers were actually staying at the hotel across the street. Security would try to shoo them away after discovering they weren't guest. Major con....the noise from the Bourbon Bar on concert nights. It's right (literally a few feet) next door and the music is LOUD. I had read this and another poster suggested ear plugs but the base pounded through me. It usually started around 10 and went on until 4-5 AM. This happened 3 of our 8 nights. This issue is what downgraded them to very good instead of excellent.

Location on the beach was great. About 1 mile from town and many restuarants and shopping located nearby. Two little stores right by the entrance and Times Square across the street, with ATM. Overall, it was the perfect place for us to stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayeKaye623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We went here on recommendation from a friend in feb 2012...the property was nice enough...the room kinda small....bar staff were good.....our complaint is we had to leave early because of documented medical emergency. Stayed 3 days and were charged for the full amount for 14 days, even after we contacted the management with facts they refused to reimburse any of our money......not even a partial amount.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cheryll E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Our family stayed in the cliffs for a week and then moved to the Bar B Barn for the New Years Holiday. I really liked the location. You could walk to town or up the beach to see other places. I found the security fine, and the staff friendly. I loved Clayton at the bar- a really nice guy! The one thing I had issue with was the really late concerts at Bourbon Beach next door. I get that it was the holiday- however- the first night the music went til 4 am- the next night 2 am and the 3rd night- about 130 am. Its not just music- its Dancehall with a tremendous bass that literally vibrates your bed. I sort of laughed and smiled and went on with life, (hey its the New Year!) but there were fellow hotel guests that were not at all happy. I talked with the owner and she said she is going to talk to Bourbon Beach to see if they will tone it down..... Who knows. Either way its a nice place to stay- the rooms were nice, the location great, and the staff friendly and helpful. I would advise asking about concerts when you book. That way you can know what your getting into if they have concerts 3 nights in a row. I would go back tomorrow to stay there.

Room Tip: I liked 114- its right by the beach and bar.. :) AC worked great. Shower good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grinch18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed there this past August and I'm sorry, I just can't get over eating pancakes at the outdoor bar while people were smoking marijuana. The location of the hotel is great, the beach is great, the room is OK at best. The people that worked the bar were nice. I guess I didn't feel entirely safe there even though I never had a problem with anyone at the hotel. It is somewhat disconcerting to be hounded by the vendors that prowl the beach area and they are very bold in hawking whatever trinket, drug, etc...that they deal in.

Don't know if I'd go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northshoreeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#27 of 80 in Negril
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#35 of 80 in Negril
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#75 of 80 in Negril
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#44 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#54 of 80 in Negril
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar-B-Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar-B-Barn

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | 7 Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range: £61 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar-B-Barn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bar-B-Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar-b-Barn Hotel Negril
Bar b Barn Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing