We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't have a good Experience”
Review of Coral Seas Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Seas Cliff
Ranked #60 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Checked into the hotel with the intention to stay for three days and two nights but ended up cutting my stay very short. The room wasn't cleaned properly and the bathroom did not have any towels or bathroom mat. The floor and walls were really wet and on the second day of our stay there was no light in the hotel and the owners did not have a generator as back up.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sexysuper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

this is a nasty place. False advertisement and poor customer service. I wouldn't advice not even my enemy to stay there. They ruin my summer vacation. The pool was full of algae and the floor in the rooms were wet, they did not provide any towels for the guess and they do not have a generator for electricity outage.Over all its a ripp off. Please donot waste your money and stay at this crappy hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank divasweetness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a quiet property on the cliffs, close to lots of great local Jamaican restaurants. Watch the sunset from your room balcony. Pool kept clean and enjoyable. Swimming right off the cliffs. Food was good, The property shows some wear from the sea, could use paint in places. For the price, a good value. I found the staff opens up with a smile and a little conversation. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunrayeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for many years. It used to be called "Coral Seas Cliff". It was a great hotel until the storms wiped out the areas where you could get some shade. The cabana was not rebuilt. New management took over and was not very friendly. The rooms were remodeled but not real confy. There were times the shower didn't work, so we knew to bring our own shower head. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dive01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

this was my 10th stay at least to both sunset on the cliff and sunset on the beach..it is an extraordinary place to stay..beautiful setting, friendly staff, excellent food and right in the thick of the west end- a totally hip and cultural area..the food was totally delicious..you cannot beat the value for the price..if you expect 5 stars stay elsewhere and pay 5 times as much for so much less!! my suggestion for new travelers: use common sense and keep your valuables secure..i have never had any issues with feeling unsafe. everyone at the hotel goes over and above whats expected to make your stay enjoyable..i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to really experience jamaica !!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lluvjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Just returned from a trip to Negril. Stayed at Sunset on The Cliffs and loved it! Staff was great. Spot was quiet and that's just what we wanted. This is not fancy resort but the food was top notch and we were treated very well by everyone. We already know we want to go back.

Food at the hotel was great but we picked this location and did NOT do an all-inclusive so we could try some locals spots. LOVED De Bar(just across the street). Trevor will take good care of you.
Also ate at The Hungry Lion, LTU Pub, and Sips + Bites. All good spots.

Used Rocky's Tour services for our aiport transfers as well as an excursion. Very professional and prices were competitive. I'd recommend them. We had many taxi drivers offer to take us places but we wanted the security of a reputable company and we found it with Rocky's.

This was quite a different experience for us. Just remember that you're in a country where ganja is everywhere. Once I got used to seeing it and smelling it everywhere, I was fine.

Felt safe our entire trip. Learned quickly to say a firm No Thanks when asked muliple times to buy a variety of wares.

If I had to list a "complaint", my suggestion for the hotel would be to invest in some new pillows for the beds. Other than that, no complaints at all! Pool was great. Drinks great.

Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunshineGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

This was my second stay at this property. I think Sunset on the Cliffs represents a nice value for the money. This is an attractive hotel, with great staff and larger sized rooms. It needs some cosmetic work but no huge issues. Rooms have air conditioning, TV, and phones to call within the resort. A big plus- there is a nice pool and you can swim off the Cliffs. We travelled as a larger group with 5 rooms (11 people), all kitchenettes. The staff made us feel welcomed - we arrived on the heels of Hurricane Nicole and were the firsts guests of the season. It was apparent that a lot of work went in to opening. The vegetation I recalled had been battered and new sprouts were planted in it's place. Our air conditioner stopped working right after we got there. They had a man out to repair that night and Carol did not leave until it was fixed. It could not be repaired so he wired a replacement in as he knew we did not want to move rooms. Any issues were promptly taken care of. The staff is great- Stacy took care of our all inclusive breakfast every day, making sure we could all eat and meet up with our friends for day. She was sensitive to Island time and made sure we were not late. Carol took good care of us, as did Denisha cleaning our rooms. Byron is a promising chef, personally checking on our satisfaction with the meal. The bartenders make mean Pina Coladas.

We spent a lot of time at the hotel, our rooms were ocean front. There are a lot of great outdoor spaces. The staff was helpful but not intrusive. I would recommend the hotel to a friend, I would just want to make sure the expectation is realistic. If you want high end luxury, pay for it, this is not your place. This hotel represents a great value for an ocean front kitchenette room with breakfast (a meal, not continental) included and there are some real gems on the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sista069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.4 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#55 of 80 in Negril
281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#35 of 80 in Negril
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#36 of 80 in Negril
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort
The Oasis Resort
#57 of 80 in Negril
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Seas Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Seas Cliff

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £39 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Seas Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coral Seas Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Cliffs Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing