We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff Made Our Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Winnipeg Manitoba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Staff Made Our Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We did not stay at this resort, but came down in the afternoon to enjoy the pool and grounds, and of course 'Happy Hour' before sunset and dinner. We made arrangements by phone for a 4:15 pick-up and the driver was there at 4:00. We needed a couple of vehicles as there were ten in our group. When we arrived the manager, Samuel Henry was handing out pool towels as we were getting out of the vehicles. A table dressed for ten was set for us in perfect place to view the sunset. Stacy The bar/restaurant manager greeted us and then the drinks were flowing. After we viewed the spectacular sunset we sat down for a delicious meal with appetizers. Every thing was delivered to us in a timely relaxed manner. A very enjoyable afternoon and evening. I'm sure you will enjoy it too, whether you are a small or large group they will accommodate. Thank you so much Stacy. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    48
    30
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
47
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We originally booked at Sunset on the Beach which was overbooked so we were transferred to Sunset on the Cliffs. June (the owner) took every effort to make sure we were taken care of. Our group of 8 had side by side rooms on the second floor, all with beautiful views. Two of the rooms had a fridge and microwave which was nice for drinks and leftovers. They have a shuttle to take you to the sister property Sunset on the Beach which is really nice...Not having to pay a cab. The bar was open until 10pm and the bartenders were all friendly and helpful, especially Millie. All the staff, housekeepers, cooks, groundkeepers, security as well as front desk help were very nice and helpful. The Pool is clean and refreshing on a hot day. You can also go for a swim or snorkel in the ocean...there is a ladder on the side of the cliff if you don't want to jump off of the platform. We have always stayed on the beach and really enjoy being able to walk the beach and enjoy the night life....But all enjoyed the peacefulness at the cliffs too. This is not a 5 star so if you don't expect that you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from second floor balconies...Very Peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannagetoutatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just wanted to gives a big thank you to the whole Sunset on the Cliffs staff for again making my 5 week stay a complete delight. This was my 7th year back at this resort & as reported by the folks from Vermont it is very relaxing property that yes could have a little touch up here & there, but all in all it's layed out just right. 22 rooms with 20 on the sea & I mean ON THE SEA!!...giving you spectactular sunsets. I just love this little gem property & it's because of the staff & owner..June. I feel very spoiled there..everything I want is right there or a walk across the street...DA BAR. I always feel safe there at night & sometimes very late at night coming home from a show...always..security is very good there. You might not see them...but I can promise you they see you & keep those who don't belong OUT!! See you all next year!!

Room Tip: I like the second floor...a better perspective of the sea & sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROOSTA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericho, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Ok so this place needs some tlc, If you are looking for The Ritz Carlton you don't belong here . We visited March 2-9 2014 Our room and it's patio overlook the aqua sea 25 feet away. The dinning area/bar was adjacent to the pool deck was elevated one level next to our block of rooms with the same incredible views. In front of that are cliffs made up of fossilized coral reefs. There are various sets of private grass thatched umbrella with loungers in little nooks overlooking the sea. We had the same one the whole week. It was not crowded and we never had to reserve anything. The staff were the sweetest people I have ever met. The food was good and the drinks were cheap. We ate 5/7 breakfasts there and the other two next door at Sips and Bites and Erica's across the street all were good. Two dinners there were good. Rest of the dinners at 3 Dives and Murphy's. The the Sunset at the beach and this hotel used to be owned by the same owner. She kept this one. We travelled down to the beach to the other (recently renamed) and I am so glad we ended up at sunset on the Cliffs. The cliffs are beautiful and peaceful. That is why I went on vacation. If you are looking for multiple amenities and activities go elsewhere. This is not really a resort . There is a PADI dive center here. There was a free shuttle from this resort to it's sister resort on the beach going down by appointment between 10 and 11 and returning between 3 and 4. I suspect this won't last since they are not owned by the same person anymore. When we used it once we made an appointment but the driver did not show. The owner was at the front desk and grabbed her keys and took us herself. I have stayed at the Ritz and Couples Swept away in ocho rios. This hotel of course is nothing like those experiences( which were great)but this was the most relaxing vacation I can remember.
Our room was a little noisy since it was within 30 feet of the pool deck and restaurant but not bad, The air conditioner was an in the wall type but it worked fine. The TV was old style but we were not here to watch tv. There was cable with us channels. The room was clean, beds firm no bugs of any kind. Could have used a better bedside light for reading but I just took the shade off if I needed to read. Housekeeping was good, front desk was great for us. Paint chipped in a few areas.
We almost rented a car but due to a snafu with checking on our credit card insurance on Sunday at the airport we were going to have to pay for daily insurance. While we debated a local got us on a bus to our hotel form Montego Bay to Negril. $25 each. We returned by Joe Cool taxi. Showed up 25 minutes early, great service $60 total back to airport. Would use again. Walking on the road is not for the faint of heart. Narrow with fast drivers. Local taxies are cheap and called route taxies. Official taxies are expensive. We used the local taxies called route taxies. you negotiate the rate before you get in. Don't take their offer. They say 8 you offer four and then tip them. We walked up to Rick's cafe . Fun to watch divers but a real tourist trap. Bar just beyond on same wide with killer views and ambiance. Just past there on the opposite side is rustic Murphy's. Don't miss this.
Finally do not miss a chance to go with Famous Vincent glass bottom boat and snorkeling. It was the highlight of our trip. 4 hour trip out to reef then to an island where you can pick our a spiny lobster and have it cooked in front of you. I think is was $12 for the lobster and veggies. This trip cost $25!!! and was excellent. There are others that take you to places with almost no fish and cost $60!! You can call him but we just went to the nearby Rockhouse resort and they pickup there. Check with their desk. all in all one of the best vacations I have ever had. Don't know if this was in response to other reviews but I just went up to the restaurant and asked the staff if I could take coffee back to my room. They always said of course(we usually went up later for breakfast) Yes the restaurant service was slow. You are in paradise! What is the rush? Internet free in the lobby( and sometimes at the end of the pool closest to the lobby ) We did not feel the need to be constantly connected so we passed on the 36 per week or 12 per day internet pass.
Bar was fine. Good Chilean wines, great Red Stripe beer and $3.50 Pina Coladas. Last two times in Jamaica we stayed at Couples Swept away in ocho rios Great experience and food but $650 per night per couple and subsequently Sunset at the Palms in Negril (not related)

Room Tip: Just confirm you are getting an ocean view. Not sure if they even use the building with garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank johnjackgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Room was in sad shape. A/C unit was extremely loud. No coffee available at breakfast. Horribly slow service. Difficult to get waited on. Bar was terrible and seemed like liquor was watered down. Bed was uncomfortable. Only good thing about the place is the view from the cliff it sits on.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitroxNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry we ran out of coffee temporarily, but this is definitely not the norm. We also apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. Sunset on the Cliffs was recently put under new management and we are working very hard to improve standards in every area. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negril hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Don't think that because you booked your reservation 5 months in advance and pre-paid for it through a third party site like Expedia that when you actually arrive you will have a place to stay. They told us when we arrived that they were full and we did not have a room and we would have to stay at their sister facility 4 miles away. There was absolutely nothing we could do and they did nothing about compensating us for our room costs given THEY made the mistake. Would never stay here or sunset on the beach again if in Negril!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCC6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We are very sorry about your experience. We were having problems with our booking system, but are working to correct them. We agree you should have received some compensation for this inconvenience. We have a new manager at Sunset on the Cliffs and he will be working with the team to improve customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This resort is seriously lacking in many areas. Although I paid in advance for 3 people they said I only paid for 2 and then told me I would need to pay again. They tried to sell me an internet card so I could prove that I had a reservation for 3. Staff not very friendly. A/C didn't work in the room so was moved to another. Paid for oceanfront but got garden view. Only 1 washcloth in room for 3 people and no towels. Was told towels were in the wash. Bathroom not clean and toilet was running. I do not recommend this hotel because it needs a serious makeover in more ways than one (especially facilities and staff).

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
If any of our staff members were unfriendly to you, we apologize. We will have a staff meeting with our team to talk about this. Our employees should be respectful and helpful to guests at all times. It would have been good if you had reported this staff member while you were staying with us, so we could have handled the situation right away. We’re also sorry about the confusion with your booking, as well as the issues with your AC and room. We are getting more towels and washcloths, so there shouldn’t be any more shortages. We appreciate that out of all the hotels in Negril, you chose us. Thank you for your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
3.3 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#52 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort
The Oasis Resort
#62 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset on the Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Property: Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Coral Seas Cliff Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset on the Cliffs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunset on the Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Cliffs Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing