We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
101
70
32
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
70
32
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbourbon beachbank machinebeautiful poolhot waterconvenience storesecurity guyscleaned dailyfull kitchenfront officejerk chickenvincentjamaicakingstonaccommodationsstovehousekeeper
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I've been coming back to this hotel for a number of years and this year it is under new management. I was concerned not knowing the new people running the hotel but I can report that Ms Onie and her staff are wonderful people who ensured my every need was met. This hotel is kept very clean and the trees and lush garden are second to none. They work very hard here to ensure your stay in Jamaica is hassle free - well done!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla_on_Jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Our second time to Negril and this time we stayed the full last week of January. Glad we chose to stay across the road from the beach at the Bungalo this time.
Much quieter than the beach hotels - no loud music at night! Manager Onie and relief manager Vincent both VERY helpful.and did everything to accommodate and help us...including the use of her phone (no charge) to call our son in Canada due to an emergency. She also provided us with a bar fridge when it came available and fulfilled many other requests. We had a spacious room (14B) with two queen beds, color TV/remote, air con, screens on windows, good cross ventilation and a standard bathroom with lots of hot water on demand. The mattress was a bit on the hard side for our liking.
Nisha the room attendant kept our place spotless. Richard and William took turns for security and were always attentive and pleasant. The gardener, whose name we didn't ask, kept the grounds immaculate. I especially like the mature bamboo and palms that provide a fair amount of shade. We especially liked the option of the large pool --- and a respite from the beach activities. It was surprisingly, largely underused. We also made friends with many other travelers at the Bungalo, some have been returning year after year, others with children, yet others solo travellers. All we spoke with gave good feedback about their experiences. Though there is no restaurant service presently,there are many options for meals: from Biggs' jerk chicken stand (freshest & tastiest), and next to it Helen's Blue Mountain Coffee shop (great home cooking especially the fresh fish and best coffee as Helen roasts her own )--- located a five minute walk away from town on "land" side of the road. The Sweet Spot close by is also top notch. And there's endless restaurants on the beach: high prices don't always equate with great food, but you will catch the sunset. There are also two convenience stores across the road from each other and next to the Bungalo for the snacks, rum, etc . All in all, we had a great holiday and will return to the Bungalo, next time for at least two weeks, and a room with a kitchen. The Bungalo is also well situated and is only about a one kilometer walk into town. Your choice of walking along the beach or going down the road.
We take a respectful attitude towards the beach vendors, taxi drivers and everyone in between. If we're interested, we'll take a look, bargain or just say, "no thanks, man". In no time the locals know who you are and what you're about. Simply put, they're just trying to make a living. "No problem!"
. Our attitude is: you show respect, you'll get respect. And Jamaicans understand respect!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 69beachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I've been going to Jamaica since 1986. Bungalo has been my "home away from home" for a number of years now. The staff and owner are just great. The room is comfortable, clean and large. It isn't too noisy and across the street from the beach, easily accessed. The property is lovely with a very nice swimming pool at the rear. And, the price is always right. The only problem is that occasionally the visitors aren't aware they are at a nice hotel; they don't realize they don't have free rein to do what they want. Respect. Ann

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just stayed here in late January, 2012. For room 15A we had strong hot shower, clean room, screens on all the windows, AC was fine and very friendly staff and management. We felt comfortable leaving our important thing in the room. Pretty setting and fabulous pool area with the ocean just across the street. Mrs Barrett, the manager is working hard to please the guests, did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. Yes she is pretty determined to keep out strangers for the safety of the paying guests, and some of our visiting family found this inconvenient. Perhaps some adjustments needed there. Mrs Barrett found us a refrigerator for the second half of our stay at no extra charge. We would definitely stay there again. Recommend, you go to Kuyaba or Bar-B Barn just across the street (or many others) for meals, no restaurant/ bar operating at this hotel.

Wireless internet access, important to me, which was no extra charge, (unlike Cuba) had limited range, but once you got it the service was fast. I did a check of high end hotels, and found every hotel in the area, even the fancy ones, lacking in good wireless internet coverage. Not a unique problem to Sun Garden.

Side note: In Negril, and perhaps Jamaica, all things take longer, especially anything to do with restaurants. So be prepared to relax, take a deep breath, bring good conversation or a book!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Well we just back from the best honeymoon ever!! I can only find one word to decribe our honeymoon AWSOME!! We went to the Bungalo on the recommendations of some close friends and boy we were not disappointed.
This was our first trip to Jamaica so we really didn't know what to expect [Or for that matter out of Bismark.] We were greeted by a very frindly manager named Onie and was she ever terrific!
Though they were very busy upon check in, she gave us her undivided attention and made us feel right at home. We had heard horror stories on the plane about being ripped off by the locals and we were assured by Onie that they provided very good security and that kind of stuff that happed on the beach did not happed here.
I probaly speak for many when i say that the beach can be very trying, peddlers everywhere and everywhere you turn people are trying to sell you something!!!
It was such a comfort to be able to get off the beach and away from all that hustle and bustle.
The accomadations were nice, nothing real special, however the cleaning staff did a great job making sure that we were comfortable. Though they did not have an operationl kitchen the Sun Beach resturaunt occross the street had faboulus food at very reasonable rates.
While speaking with other tourist we came to appreacate how lucky we were to NOT being in a beach hotel. Though the view the other hotels offer might be great, the seclusion and privacy the Bungalo offerd far out weighted the extra money that they charged on the beach and really who would want to pay to get hassled.
Onie was correct we did not get hassled once, and we found the pool area a grat place to go when you didn't want the hassle of the beach. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy the tropics while not getting all the hassle, very quite and romanic place!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews