We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
101
70
32
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
70
32
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbourbon beachbank machinebeautiful poolhot waterconvenience storesecurity guyscleaned dailyfull kitchenfront officejerk chickenvincentjamaicakingstonaccommodationsstovehousekeeper
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The past reviews do not live up to even descent standards. Rooms were moderately clean. Beds were uncomfortable. No room phones so anything additional needed you have to walk to the office. No washcloths were available. Water pressure was terribly low, sometimes no water at all. Wall tiles were popping off in the shower Customer service from the front desk was poor. WiFi connection wasn't consistent. According to one of the taxi drivers the also rent out rooms for locals to live, which explains the constant loud playing of cartoons on the tv from the room next to us. Only good thing about this resort is the location which is across the street from the beach, food, taxis, and duty free mall. Will never stay here again or recommend to anyone. Priceline should definitely remove this hotel from there list of places to stay in Negril.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sassybelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Since I was there last Jan., I have learned it isn't the Bungalo anymore. There have been several owner changes. I finally contacted the place to reserve next Jan. I was told it is now Pure Resort. I will still use Bungalo as most drivers know the place. I still love it there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I've been coming back to this hotel for a number of years and this year it is under new management. I was concerned not knowing the new people running the hotel but I can report that Ms Onie and her staff are wonderful people who ensured my every need was met. This hotel is kept very clean and the trees and lush garden are second to none. They work very hard here to ensure your stay in Jamaica is hassle free - well done!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla_on_Jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Our second time to Negril and this time we stayed the full last week of January. Glad we chose to stay across the road from the beach at the Bungalo this time.
Much quieter than the beach hotels - no loud music at night! Manager Onie and relief manager Vincent both VERY helpful.and did everything to accommodate and help us...including the use of her phone (no charge) to call our son in Canada due to an emergency. She also provided us with a bar fridge when it came available and fulfilled many other requests. We had a spacious room (14B) with two queen beds, color TV/remote, air con, screens on windows, good cross ventilation and a standard bathroom with lots of hot water on demand. The mattress was a bit on the hard side for our liking.
Nisha the room attendant kept our place spotless. Richard and William took turns for security and were always attentive and pleasant. The gardener, whose name we didn't ask, kept the grounds immaculate. I especially like the mature bamboo and palms that provide a fair amount of shade. We especially liked the option of the large pool --- and a respite from the beach activities. It was surprisingly, largely underused. We also made friends with many other travelers at the Bungalo, some have been returning year after year, others with children, yet others solo travellers. All we spoke with gave good feedback about their experiences. Though there is no restaurant service presently,there are many options for meals: from Biggs' jerk chicken stand (freshest & tastiest), and next to it Helen's Blue Mountain Coffee shop (great home cooking especially the fresh fish and best coffee as Helen roasts her own )--- located a five minute walk away from town on "land" side of the road. The Sweet Spot close by is also top notch. And there's endless restaurants on the beach: high prices don't always equate with great food, but you will catch the sunset. There are also two convenience stores across the road from each other and next to the Bungalo for the snacks, rum, etc . All in all, we had a great holiday and will return to the Bungalo, next time for at least two weeks, and a room with a kitchen. The Bungalo is also well situated and is only about a one kilometer walk into town. Your choice of walking along the beach or going down the road.
We take a respectful attitude towards the beach vendors, taxi drivers and everyone in between. If we're interested, we'll take a look, bargain or just say, "no thanks, man". In no time the locals know who you are and what you're about. Simply put, they're just trying to make a living. "No problem!"
. Our attitude is: you show respect, you'll get respect. And Jamaicans understand respect!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 69beachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I've been going to Jamaica since 1986. Bungalo has been my "home away from home" for a number of years now. The staff and owner are just great. The room is comfortable, clean and large. It isn't too noisy and across the street from the beach, easily accessed. The property is lovely with a very nice swimming pool at the rear. And, the price is always right. The only problem is that occasionally the visitors aren't aware they are at a nice hotel; they don't realize they don't have free rein to do what they want. Respect. Ann

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews