We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine and Mellow”
Review of Pure Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pure Garden Resort
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine and Mellow”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Over the past year, I’ve stayed at the Pure Garden twice. I really like the place. Run by friendly, hospitable people, its two storey buildings are set in a pretty garden, bamboo and palm trees growing up to the shady second floor verandahs. I’ve been happy with three different rooms, including one with a spacious kitchen. A quiet patio-pool area at the far end of the hotel features a laidback restaurant that opened during the winter and serves up tasty Jamaican cooking. Yes, there can be water shortage problems, but they have nothing to do with the hotel, which has installed a pump system to keep water going in the rooms.

Leave the Pure Garden, cross Norman Manley Boulevard, and you’re on Negril’s 7-Mile Beach, specifically Bourbon Beach, beloved for its jerk chicken and frequent late night reggae shows highlighting legends like Toots and the Maytals and Yellowman. Within walking distance of Pure Garden are iconic Negril spots like Roots Bamboo and Alfred’s Ocean Palace. A five-minute cab ride away, the two-tiered dance club Jungle throbs to dancehall riddims, and a whole lot of wining going on. The town of Negril and plenty of bars and restaurants are also close by. If you feel like checking out Ocho Rios or Kingston, you can grab the Knutsford Express bus right across the road.

For very reasonable rates, The Pure Garden offers a convenient location, and simple but comfortable and well-kept accommodations. When you return to it from wherever you’ve been for the day or evening, you feel a fine and mellow vibe.

- Maurie A.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    63
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
32
50
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I was very first time in Negril. This hotel is perfect for young people looking for fun in Jamaica and for families as well. Stuff and managment are very convivially . Rooms are clean and nice looking. Restaurant is serving best "ackee and saltfish" Jamaican breakfast for cheap price.Resort is at hand to everything in Negril.
Best recomendation for this resort - one of the best times in my life.

Room Tip: all rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemanja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The accommodations were great for the price. Mark the cook is like a personal chef that makes it a point to cook whatever you like. The sheets were changed regularly. The location was across the street from the 7-mile beach. Great value overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We (family of 4) had a great stay at Pure Gardens. The grounds are a delight and the location is great for those who'll enjoy Bourbon Beach, popular for its reggae shows. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who, like us, enjoys an friendly, mellow Jamaican vibe, and a good value. While the hotel and its helpful and friendly staff provide a beautiful and safe oasis to relax in, they do not attempt to isolate you from local culture. This made our experience all the richer. The kitchen serves authentic jamaican food made from scratch, so it's worth the wait. Ask the hotel staff if you are in need of anything, e.g. Taxi, etc. This will usually prove a better option than haggling on the street in the bustling tourist center that is Negril.

Room Tip: We asked for two rooms with a kitchenette and that gave us quite a bit more room to move. I hear ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Pure garden is a disappointment. My friend and I called it " last resort" the room is extremely dirty that I wear my slippers even while in the shower! I found two cockroaches lurking on our dressers. Cabwebs on the ceilings, toilet with a brown bowl it soo disgusting and it oesnt flush. The bedsheets seems like it wasn't change when we checked in, sheets are hard and starchy and pillows is so bulky I can't even use it!

I'm a world traveler from a bag packing trip to luxury vacation; I know the difference between "you get what you pay", great value and plain ridiculous place I feel like I'm about to catch something!

Oh their so called restaurant you will wait for the eggs to be cook for an hour and they charge us 11 dollars for two eggs and with fried dumplings (fried dumpling was free, it came with every meal. So two eggs fro $10 USD is cazy.

Locals knock in your door to sell drugs, please tell me how safe is that?!. My cash was stolen in my room.. Come on, save your money and book somewhere else! Pure Garden website's picture doesn't look even close to the real life... also the " rent a dreads", pimp and drug dealer hangs out in this twilight zone!

Thank god we met some nice locals that made our trip! The roaring river cave was worth checking out and the cave water even terrifying was so beautiful to see. We went YS falls and enjoyed the fresh water and the lil fishes;). Ricks cafe was a blast, the beautiful scenery and the performers under the sunset made me happy. I also spent a day in rock house spa although the cost was more than the booking of our hotel for a week, I felt amazing if you have time check out the spa and end your evening under the sunset at rock house restaurant next to the sea and the rock cave it's spectacular! ;)

Definitely check out the market for some sculpture we bought a life size female statue for an amazing price ! You need your bargaining skills when your going to this place. Don't look the seller in the eyes as you stroll the market or else they will expect you to come in to every store they own. Buy certified blue mountain coffee for you or as a gift amazing taste and the price is triple in the USA. Hi-lo market sell this coffee.

If your into ganja check out Jenny's they have the best brownies :)

Route taxi should only cost you 1$ they will try to get more but say from negril to downtown it should cost a dollar! I also paid $20usd per person from airport to pure garden be careful to the can driver that will charge you a hundred from the airport in montego bay to negril.

Last but not the least exchange your money to Jamaican dollar so you will get the full value! Cambio has the highes exchange rate a better value for your dollar.

Room Tip: I will not recommend this place from cockroaches, to cobwebs, dirty brown toilet bowl that doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lobelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I had a wonderful time at Pure Garden. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful with a wide variety of trees and flowers that made it very peaceful and serene. I had a room with a kitchenette and anything that I needed to prepare my meals that wasn't there the restaurant was able to let me borrow for the week. We did have a water issue after a certain time at night and the pressure didn't come back until about 9am but I was on vacation and didn't get out of bed much before that anyway so there were no worries. That was my first time in Jamaica and when I go back it will be to Pure Garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheenaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Pure Gardens was a great deal from Priceline.com. I stayed from 2/5 to 2/11. I managed to snag a double bed room with AC, and cable. The hotel grounds are sooo lovely. It is very quiet and peaceful. My only complaint would be the low water pressure. Sometimes I would have to wait until 9am to shower, but no worries. Overall, I would suggest it to everyone!

Room Tip: The curtains are see-thru, so be aware when you engage in any naughty behavior(s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afrocaribbean_kaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.8 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
1.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#55 of 80 in Negril
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#34 of 80 in Negril
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#48 of 80 in Negril
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Garden Resort

Property: Pure Garden Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Next to the Time Square Mall, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pure Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard room Relax in comfortAuthentic Jamaican-style room complete with all the amenities you need.- Room with Kitchenette For all your cooking needsIncludes all the features of a standard room plus a fully-equipped kitchenette.Main facilities - Cable TV - Ready for your viewing pleasure. WiFi internet access - All rooms are WiFi-ready for browsing the internet. Free parking - All signed-in guests have free access to the resort's parking lot. Safe-deposit box - All guests can request access to the safe-deposit boxes at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pure Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalo Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing