We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxation haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The property and attention to detail in craftsmanship is outstanding. Staff are friendly and warm. It has a great casual feel that makes the place feel like a home away from home without the chores attached of course because you really don't have to lift a finger. Kevin, the chef, was just starting when we arrived. He can definitely cook. We had fun talking food and learning more about jamaican cuisine. He surprised us every night with a chef surprise so we did not have to even think about making a decision. He made it for us: curried goat, snapper in coconut milk, lobster, oxtails ... yum, yum.

The spa construction is not yet complete but services are available. Great massage! Can't wait to go back when it's done. Rooms don't have tvs yet but they may be there now. I actually think the disconnect is refreshing especially when no one has to fight for the remote. Wifi available throughout so you can cheat a little.

Hospitality was great. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snad-ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I just got back from another wonderful week in Jamaica and its time for me to write up my review. We decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary and take a pre-winter holiday and we wanted to return to Negril. Although we looked into some other resorts, we both really wanted to return to The SPA Retreat as we had such a great vacation when we visited there in February. We were also anxious to see how it was coming along. In the end, it was an easy decision returning to the SPA Retreat and am I ever happy we did!!

I have to report that this resort has moved along quite a bit since our last visit. The rooms continue to surpass expectations, the staff is exceptional, service is still over the top, the plants, vegetation and trees have really starter to grow in, the salt water pool (the only one in Jamaica) is refreshing, the spa is well under construction however the big milestone that has been reached is the restaurant, the Blue Mahoe (Jamaica’s national tree).

I am happy to report, to anyone reading, that the restaurant at the SPA Retreat is open and ready for business. Blue Mahoe, just like the rest of the resort, is completely over the top with regard to quality, craftsmanship and beauty. This restaurant has everything to offer, a beautiful view out to the ocean from inside, seaside tables for outdoor dining, a great bar area and a raised floor in the center of the restaurant with lounge seating flanked by another bar both crafted with indigenous blue mahoe. Behind this bar is an open air concept cooking area where you can watch your meals being cooked and the meals are delicious. The menu is well balanced with some tasty apps (the coconut shrimp was our favourite) and a great selection of delicious mains from chicken, fish, beef, shrimp and lobster options. Kevin, the head chef, Judith and the other staff members really do an excellent job on the presentation and the taste and flavours are wonderful. We tried them all and enjoyed everything thoroughly. I highly recommend the Tropical Chicken!

Something else that I must pass along, that was a surprise to us when we arrived, is the Guest Return Program that the SPA Retreat has established for return clients. For repeat clients of the SPA Retreat, they will provide some special extras that included spa credits, plush house coats, a bottle of champagne and …..to me, this program exemplifies what the SPA Retreat is about…a nice touch to an already amazing experience!

I really am amazed by this resort. To have seen pictures of what it was before and to know what kind of transformation it has gone through is truly remarkable. To top it all off, the location is great, the staff are friendly and helpful, the spa treatments are first class, the rooms are immaculate and completed with hand crafted wood furnishings, the mattresses and pillows are heavenly, the sunsets are fabulous, the pool is refreshing, the restaurant is built and the food is delicious. What else can you ask for? The spa is set to be opened by mid December and my wife and I have already started to plan for our next trip to Jamaica. If we are lucky, it will be this winter & this time as well, there won’t be any question, we will definitely be heading back to the SPA Retreat in Negril for a third time. Thank you for another wonderful vacation and many more memories. One Love to all!

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing...we stayed in Sea side octagon #4.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for your kind words of your second experience with us! Having guests return is the ultimate compliment.
Looking forward to visit #3...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Of all places we've been, Negril, is the place to go back to over and over again! The resort was incredible, the food to die for (we miss you Judith!!), and just the hospitality of everyone we met. We got married right on the grounds of the resort and it was simple, classic and breathtaking. The sunsets are like no other.

We had the pleasure of being toured around with Justours, taking us anywhere we wanted to go. We went out to Mayfield Falls, and trekked through the natural springs of the Jamaican mountains. The tourguide was great and we enjoyed an awesome spicy lunch!
"Once you go, you know" is the best description of Jamaica. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to witness the official marriage of such a fun-loving couple! One love to you both...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Spa Retreat is unlike any hotel i've been to before - it's an intimate & personalized experience that you will never forget. If you're looking for a get away to the Caribbean, but something away from the crowds - this is the place. The owners Christine & Shane, from Ottawa Canada, have developed this hotel from the ground up in the last couple of years and they've down an incredible job. Shane's sea wall's that wrap the resort will remind anyone who's been to Barcelona of Gaudi's Park Güell - beautiful design. Most importantly they have assembled a world class team - Nesha the Hotel manager will ensure you have everything you need - and she will help you choose activities to make your stay exciting & fun. Kevin the head chef, is astounding, every meal was great - he has the flair & gift for cooking, schooled in London, he cooks like a French Chef - presentation was almost as good as the taste (it's actually worth going just for the food...) The people are great - Unlike big factory resorts, within your first day you'll actually know the names of the hotel team.
Finally location - I've never seen such great sunsets reflecting off the ocean - including from the patio of my room. Every room has a great view, we chose the "Huts" - when i say hut I mean, beautiful room hand crafted in local wood..
Activities - 7 mile beach is a short hop away, Rick's cafe for those who want to party & lots of different excursions - we did mayfield falls (must see)
Best endorsement - we'll go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaFarl, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

We are thrilled you appreciated and enjoyed the views from our unique hand crafted accommodations! We whole heartedly agree the Negril sunsets are like no other....One Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Once you enter the main gate, you are greeted by a new level of customer service from everyone. Neisha, Kevin, Tara, Joe, Rayon, Sam, and many more made our stay memorable. The grounds and buildings are unique and beautifully built. You have to see it to believe the craftmanship. Executive Cheg Kevin has an unbelievable ability to make each meal feel like it's the best you have ever tasted. The desserts were to die for.
I have to say the massage was the best I have ever experienced (10/10). The rooms were impeccably clean. The view was extraordinary.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Fantastic retreat! The most intimate and romantic place in Jamaica. We had a wonderful time, the staff were outstanding, catering to our every whim. If you’re looking for the "royal treatment" you've found it! Even before the trip began we received an email welcoming us and asking for our pillow preference and favorite drink. Not only did we get a a private driver pick us up from the airport, they included a hostess for the drive to Negril. Once we arrived they had our drinks in hand and our pillows in place :)
They have a very personable talented chef creating fantastic meals that resembled works of art. Don't leave without getting a massage, one of the best I ever had...thanks Tara.

We have a very hectic life and this is exactly what we needed to relax. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have been to resorts though out the Caribbean and this place is a diamond in the rough. The excellent service from Nesha and the staff was outstanding. You can"t beat the views and accessibility of the crystal clear water. Hands down best Sunset view in Jamaica.

The rooms were brand new and super clean. You also have the closest access to Negril Beach. This place is a must see and must stay!

Room Tip: If you can get a close to the water room, that would be optimal but all the rooms have incredible v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
499 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 80 in Negril
877 reviews
1.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#4 of 80 in Negril
1,028 reviews
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £160 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing