We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
741
54
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
54
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue mahoe seaside cottage the salt water pool neck massage bridal suite jerk fish tacos seaside bar the cliff oxtail west end all inclusive option beautiful property all inclusive plan welcome drink the entire property snapper front office
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

From the second you arrive at the Spa Retreat, all of your stress will melt away. It helped that we got a welcome neck massage at the front desk! The location is stunning, the rooms are beautiful and impeccably clean, the food is delicious, the drinks are flowing and every single person working at this resort was an absolute pleasure to meet. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is not your place if you're looking for a big resort. The Spa Retreat is meant for total peace and relaxation. It is quiet, peaceful and basically a little piece of heaven. Not to mention if you're a dog lover, meeting Rosa is a pleasure. Made me miss my pup a little less while I was away. Honourable mention to both of the front desk staff Heather and Kelly who are absolutely lovely, Dwayne who works the bar and my husband and I literally would welcome to our home and Deneisha in the spa who gives one of the best massages I've ever had. Honeymoons and quiet getaways, if you want to relax this is the place. And you never have to worry about the food. Everything, literally I tried the whole menu, is delicious!!! Also a plus, getting to know the very cool owners...I'll always proudly support my fellow Canadians. Definitely a confident excellent rating!

Room Tip: Go for the seaside cottage if you can! Amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you so much, we are truly humbled by your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to have hosted fellow Canadians such as yourselves as our guests, we will look forward to your return one day soon. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This place is heaven on earth! We just hosted our wedding at The Spa a few weeks ago and everyone was so welcoming. Not only is the location perfect- the rooms are really beautiful, the food is seriously delicious and the spa services are wonderful. There is a salt water pool, seaside bar and a private beach. Whether you're looking for a quick weekend getaway or looking to host an event, this place will take great care of you! Don't miss out!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillSBres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your review! It was an absolute honor hosting you and your guests at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel for a weekend long celebration in honor of your special day! We will look forward to welcoming you back "home" for many more visits as you grow together over the years! Soon come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent a few amazing days at this wonderful Spa Retreat for a wedding in April. The initial impression of the facility was so welcoming by Heather and Kelly. They took us to our seaside cottage and it was everything we had read it to be. We knew we would be having the romantic weekend we were hoping for. The cottages were just beautiful with all the handmade woodwork and having the windows and doors open to look right out at the Caribbean Sea was amazing. You can sit out on your private patios for the gorgeous sunsets. We were there for a wedding, so the facility was closed to outside guests. It is such a wonderful way to have a small, intimate destination wedding. The reception was at the Blue Mahoe restaurant with a reggae band and a DJ under the stars. The food was absolutely delicious for all our breakfasts, lunches, and dinners there. The servers, especially Monique were always so pleasant, friendly and smiling. The bartenders, Dwayne & Tyrone made the best drinks with such variety. There is one thing you will notice at The Spa Retreat is the way the staff goes out of their way to make you feel special & catering to your every whim. We want to thank them all for making our stay so incredible. It truly is a wonderful retreat if you want a quiet, relaxing, romantic vacation.

Room Tip: We would recommend the seaside cottages, especially #6 or #7(especially if you like a little privacy or quiet). They were so wonderful to open the windows and doors, and to look out at the Caribbean Sea from your bed or patio.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to have been able to set the ambiance for a romantic and fun filled weekend with loved ones! The SPA Family looks forward to welcoming you back again soon, one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Welcome home!
This is not one of those resorts like Sandals or Couples or the Grand Palladium. You are not a number on a piece of paper. You have a name and your every wish or need is important at the Spa Retreat. If you want to feel like royalty and at ease and be pampered come to this place. You will feel like you have the whole place to yourself!

This was my first real vacation and our honeymoon. I did a lot of research trying to find the right place. I kept coming back to this on trip advisor and looking on their website. All the great reviews are true! And all the pictures in the world will not do this place justice! From the sunsets to the ocean side dining to the kaleidoscope of flowers and plants outside your door. It is breathtaking. They really out did themselves!

Just a couple tidbits of advice
-When booking anything like zip lining tours or renting scooters, etc. ask the front desk. They are very knowledgable and will get the best bang for your buck. Ask them anything really!
-Get some spa treatments!!!! Got the lemongrass scrub and massage and mani- pedi and reflexology and the hubby got a papaya sugar scrub and cucumber aloe wrap. We were in heaven! They are all outside overlooking the ocean-amazing!
-talk to the owners Shane and Christine or any of the employees about this place and how it was built. You get a real sense of all the love and details and hard work that went into this. It made me appreciate it even more.
-eat here a lot- the food is great! Pretty much everything on the menu is made in house.

And just quick shout out to everyone that made this honeymoon absolutely fabulous for us-
Heather, Kelly, Denisha, Michelle, Peter the foot doctor, Dwayne, Marcia, Tyrone, Delroy, Townis, Rocky, all the wait staff and all the Kitchen staff, cleaning staff and grounds keepers
Shane and Christine-for building this little piece of heaven in Jamaica
Love you guys! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessacoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your review! Our team is so happy to learn that you felt "at home" during your honeymoon stay at The SPA Retreat. We trust that you enjoyed the overall experience including our fresh, organic cuisine and rejuvenating spa treatments. We await your return, one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the SPA Retreat for our friends' wedding which was held on the resort. The property was at full capacity with guests attending the wedding but we still had plenty of privacy while enjoying the balcony on our roof top cottage. The pool/tiki bar and restaurant areas could have easily handled twice as many people as were present. The guest rooms are all brand new and very clean. They are quiet and the AC gets nice and cold thanks to the energy efficient, sustainable building techniques utilized by the resort's owner. The oceanfront views offered by this property's direct western exposure (especially the sunsets) were absolutely stunning. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff really make this resort and will go out of their way to be sure everything is to your liking. The food at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant was great - all fresh ingredients with plenty of variety and healthy options. The spa services did not disappoint either. Definitely one of the best massages I've ever had.

Room Tip: The seaside cottages are closest to the ocean, but the roof top cottages and garden rooms have covered outdoor areas if you need some shade in the afternoon sun or cover during a passing shower.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are honored that you feel The SPA Retreat is the "Best Resort in Negril"! The entire SPA Family enjoyed getting to know your group and will look forward to the day when we can welcome you home again. Soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews