We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
739
54
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
54
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mahoeseaside cottagethe salt water poolneck massagebridal suitejerk fish tacosseaside barthe cliffoxtailwest endall inclusive optionbeautiful propertyall inclusive planwelcome drinkthe entire propertysnapperfront office
Filter
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Pros-
1) We arrived with an introductory massage at check in and were immediately upgraded to a seaside cottage due to the lack of occupancy
2) Food was great, very authentic JA cuisine
3) We felt like we were alone....very isolated...perfect for couples looking for escape or revitalization
4) The cliffs/waters provide great opportunity for snorkeling
5) The grounds are immaculately kept and architecturally beautiful

Cons
1) The kitchen closes at 9pm and even if you arrive at 8:45 you will not get fed
2) The rooms are a bit snug although comfortable and nicely decorated
3) The rooms do not come equip with a tv but one was immediately brought to us upon request
5) The spa services are a bit pricey especially since the hotel itself is not cheap

I am more of a Portland girl, but I would definitely come back to Negril and the Spa Retreat for a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We appreciate your feedback, as a new business we are continually seeking ways to improve our guest's experience! We are so pleased that you relaxed amidst the intimate and romantic vibes of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. While delighted to learn that you enjoyed our authentic Jamaican cuisine served fresh farm to table from our Blue Mahoe Restaurant we are deeply apologetic if the restaurant closed early at any point during your stay. Although we do close at 9:00pm to the public, we will accommodate without hesitation in the case that a hotel guest makes a request in advance to dine later! We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to the West End Cliffs of Negril one day. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Amazing,me and my wife stay here 5 days and we love it, the staff was very nice, the food is good,if you have any question ask ROCKY he will put you in the right direction,all stuff were very friendly helpful with us suggestion were to eat for good traditional jamaican food , Rosa the dog was very fun to jump with her in the water ....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rionevilla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the West End Cliffs of Negril! Rosa and the entire team eagerly anticipate your return, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We just returned from an AMAZING week at the SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We are hard-pressed for words to describe how lovely, hospitable, and luxurious it was. We've taken at least 20 trips to small caribbean resorts over the years (we don't like the big chains), and this was one of the best hotels we have experienced.

In addition to its relaxed elegance, lush tropical landscaping and luxurious amenities, the service was exceptional in every way. EVERY SINGLE member of the staff -- from Howie, the taxi driver who picked us up at the airport --to Heather and her team behind the front desk to Dwayne, fabulous resident mixologist to several AMAZING spa treatments by Deniesha -- and other amazing folks) made us feel like family, VERY pampered family.

We were most impressed by the simple elegance of the hotel. Our quaint thatched roof cottage overlooking the beach (and lovely sunsets) was absolutely beautiful -- with gorgeous local, hand-crafted wood and sparkling new bathrooms with plenty of piping hot water and shower pressure (an anomaly among island resorts).

The chef was excellent and all the food was truly farm fresh. The menu had a great variety and included excellent local dishes as well as more traditional dishes with a special Jamaican flair (don't miss the Jerk Chicken Alfredo!).

One final note. In our experience, many upscale resorts lure guests with lower room prices only to charge exorbitantly for food, spa services and extras. The Spa Retreat did just the opposite. The food and spa services were VERY reasonably priced, especially given their quality and value.

Overall, all we can say is that we will be back! What a lovely and incredibly special spot to celebrate 20 years together. We hope to come back with old friends someday soon and take over the place once more.

Thank you to all who made our stay such a lovely and memorable week away from the crazy pace of Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean-front cottages. The view is well-worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twotravelingbears93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. We are honored that you feel your stay was one of the best you have ever experienced, our team truly enjoyed getting to know you both. On behalf of the entire SPA Family, best wishes for another wonderful 20 years together. We will look forward to your return, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It was absolutely wonderful to return to the Spa Resort in Negril Jamaica. Having been a few years ago when it was still in it's early stages of launching it was amazing to go back and see the transformation that had taken place. The resort is now more beautiful than ever, with all the lush vegetation grown in, it really is a tropical oasis.

The staff and owners were wonderful, they took the time to remember our names which gave it a really personal feel you would never experience at a larger scale resort. You could tell the owners have hand picked all their employees who were extremely personable and real professionals in their field. The seaside cocktails were absolutely delicious accompanied with the amazing service.. I didn't have to move an inch while getting a wonderful tan in the amazing Jamaican sun! Their Blue Mahoe Restaurant was easily the best restaurant I have ever experienced in the Caribbean, offering many Canadian style dishes with a Jamaican flare. Absolutely delicious, I never would have imagined I would eat so well anywhere in the Caribbean!

Just moments away from the 7 mile beach in Negril, it was amazing to stroll down the beach taking in the sights and touristy attractions, while close enough to return in time for a wonderful dinner and seaside massage. The sunsets were absolutely stunning, some of the most beautiful I've ever seen. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a truly unforgettable experience in Jamaica. They really go above and beyond to ensure that every guest has the best experience with the highest quality of service. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ziad_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to return "home", it was wonderful to have you as our guest again. What a thrill it must have been to see the evolution of the resort since the beginning stages. We are glad that this stay was everything you remembered and more! Until next time, one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Spa Retreat. A very straight forward name. The name doesn't pack any ambiance or romance that a romance seeker would want to find. And yet, this straight forward retreat, nicely located in Negril, is a really good deal for anyone seeking ambiance and romance. Its a small resort. 18 rooms, mostly bungalows. The food is terrific; the chef takes pride in bringing local cuisine with a twist. The staff is big smiles; warm, friendly, and they will hook you up mon. When we were their we practically had the place to ourselves. Having your own resort? Not bad at all.

Suggestion: bring bug repellent. If it rains, it can get really muggy and the skeeters come out.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the relaxed and laid back nature of our boutique property! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. One love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews