We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Weekend getaway Stay Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Weekend getaway Stay Ever!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I randomly won some free airline tickets and decided to spend a weekend in Jamaica with my now fiancé. I wanted to stay in a romantic getaway and randomly found the SPA Retreat hotel online. I could not have been happier with my stay! The food is not only amazing, but affordable. (And coming from NYC area I tend to have a higher standard than most!) The staff is amazing: Monique, Tyrone, Delroy, and Heather were very accommodating and provided service that made you feel special— getting to know you by your first name, but still offering privacy and relaxation. We were only able to stay for a short weekend, but plan to go back for a longer stay to more fully enjoy the relaxing atmosphere as well as do more cliff jumping with Rosa (the owners' super friendly dog!). I could not be happier and would recommend the Spa Retreat to anyone and everyone, especially if you like to be pampered and relaxed.

Room Tip: We stayed at a seaside room, which had a nice outdoor deck and an amazing view of the pool and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you chose The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel for your weekend getaway! It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the fresh organic cuisine from Blue Mahoe Restaurant amidst the tranquil atmosphere of our cliff side oasis. We look forward to welcoming you back for a rejuvenating week of relaxation, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    49
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
429
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Could not have asked for a better vacation. The staff was always going out of their way to make our stay one we will always remember. The property was exceptional and the views were gorgeous. We were lucky enough to see the dolphins while on a boat tour and Rosia always brought a smile. Wonderful trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanna1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed our cliff side retreat and could not agree more about the exceptional views, especially as the colors in the sky change at sunset. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable stays at The SPA Retreat & Blue Mahoe Restaurant. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Absolutely magnificent and perfect in every way possible !
Rosa the dog is a great diving buddy! Shane has done a wonderful job of creating the perfect paradise retreat unmatched anywhere in the world!
Like walking into a cedar closet the scent of the handcrafted Jamaican cedar in every room.wonderful!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
On behalf of Shane, Christine & the entire SPA Family, thank you for your kind words. We are truly humbled to read that you felt our cliff side property was "the perfect paradise retreat unmatched anywhere in the world". We must agree, the unique smell of cedar in the rooms is wonderful. Your handcrafted stone cottage awaits your return, until then one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were looking for a small hotel to get away, relax and escape daily routines and Wow were we amazed from the time we stepped foot onto the property to the minute we left. Tyrone & Dwayne are two of the greatest bartenders that took care of every need. Always saying "No worries mon you are on vacation" with a smile. And they were right, I had no worries the entire trip cause we were so well taken care of. We cooked with Chef Shane one day and learned how to make Jerk Chicken, Festival, & plantains. This was such a great experiece for those that like to cook and Shane was outstanding to work with. Making it fun the entire time. We ventured out twice to try some other restaurants in the area onlyto find ourselves coming back to the hotel because the food was so amazing at the Spa. We have already recommended this hotel to many of our friends and we hope to visit again soon. One last thing - I can't leave out Rosia the wonder dog. Great friend and cliff diver!!

Room Tip: Definately want the Seaside Villa. View is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at "Negril's Newest Gem"! Our team aims to create a relaxing environment where guests can sit back and get all right. The entire SPA Family, including Rosa, had a wonderful time getting to know you both. Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My new husband and I just came back from our honeymoon at The SPA Retreat and I cannot say enough good things about this place. From moment one, our experience was breathtaking, and the little details are what make this place really shine! In 4 days here there was literally no need to leave the resort as the added sand with beach chairs/umbrellas/cabanas took care of our need for the beach. The possibility of spa services (I did not partake, but the spa looked lovely) fulfills the need to relax and the on-site restaurant, the Blue Mahoe, is quite literally the best food I have ever had on vacation. Though the rooms do not come equipped with a tv, they brought one in for our stay within an hour of our request (we are from Boston and the World Series was on!). I did not hear the word "no" throughout our stay and the staff was super accommodating for our every need. I cannot recommend this location more highly and I know this sentiment is shared by each and every person who comes to this resort! Also, Rosa the cliff diving dog was just a bonus and made the place feel a little like home.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are worth the extra expense, more privacy away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostontraveller767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you, the entire team is proud to have received this glowing feedback! We are humbled that you felt Blue Mahoe Restaurant served the "best food you have ever had on vacation" as our focus is providing a fresh farm to table organic dining experience for each and every one of our guests. As a family, we look forward to welcoming you back "home", soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we spent 2 amazing days at boutique spa retreat.we were treated like royalty as soon as we walked in the door. we were given complimentary massage and cocktails at the reception desk.
our gorgeous room was very comfortable, with swimming pool and ocean view .
food was absolutely amazing. anything that you order was delicious. staff was very friendly .
time that we spent there was very peaceful and relaxing . they even change your bed twice a day no matter if you slept on it or not. We are Canadian and we do alot of traveling and this place was only only place out side Canada that you can get a Caesor cocktail, very yummy!
all i can say it is by far our most favorite place we've ever been!

Room Tip: every room has its own beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you, we are very humbled that you feel this is the "best place in Negril"! As fellow Canadians we are also proud to serve authentic Caesar cocktails and are so glad you enjoyed them. We look forward to your return one day soon, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband who is a dentist and me his assistant went to Jamaica to provide dentistry for the people of Burnt Savannah when we finished with our clinic days we checked into The Spa Retreat. We were exhausted and needed some rest and relaxation and boy did this place do the trick! Our casita was gorgeous and the staff was always smiling and the food was fantastic. It is on the cliffs of Negril so there is no beach but you can always go and hang out on the beach at Cosmo's or Alfreds. Oh and if you go to Alfreds you must try to CoCo bread and Cosmo's the curried goat is a must! Yeah mon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klr1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review! It was truly a pleasure to have you both as our guests. We feel lucky to have provided you with well deserved R&R after all of the great work you have done for the community. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
226 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
851 reviews
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
29.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing