We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A fabulous small resort with a wonderful soul! Just spent a week at the spa on a yoga retreat. The accomodations, service and grounds are all exceptional. Each and every staff member went out of thier way to ensure that we were comfortable and happy.
This resort is a treasure!

Room Tip: Choose a seaside cottage - cozy with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the peace and serenity of our private and exclusive property during your time at the 2013 Yoga Wellness Retreat. We feel blessed with the opportunity to provide a place where guests can come to rejuvenate and hope you will return next year for another zen week of relaxation. Namaste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

From the moment we arrived, my fiancé & I were treated like royalty at the SPA Retreat! It was our first trip to Jamaica, and we had kind of randomly chosen the SPA based on some great reviews and it's location at the beginning of the cliffs. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! Heather at the front desk made us feel right at home immediately, giving us a tour of the beautiful grounds as she led us to our room, with personal introductions to all the staff and owners along the way. We were only there for a very short stay, but the entire time we felt so catered to in every way! The rooms were clean & quiet, the pool was beautiful, and you could snorkel right off the cliffs on the grounds. The restaurant, Blu Mahoe, had a very cool vibe to it, and everything we ate was completely delicious! Most of all, I cannot speak highly enough about the entire staff—the owners were super friendly, the bartenders Monique and Tyrone were very attentive and Delroy, our waiter, was so sweet! They all knew us by name and were always available for anything we needed. And, my favorite may have been Rosa—the owner's dog who joined us for cliff diving! Negril is beautiful all around, but the SPA made our experience so romantic, peaceful and just perfect! I only wish we had had a longer stay—but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanine202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always our hope that guests will feel relaxed at our "home away from home". The entire SPA team truly aims to provide personalized care for each of our guests just as we would for family and friends. Rosa will await your return to the cliffs, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We are visiting Jamaica for the first time and after 5 days being spent in Kingston, which is incidentally a lot better, apart from the roads and traffic than expected, we drove up to Negril. We had found the Spa hotel via the internet and it lives up to the website. Having been able to now compare the hotel with the main Negril strip we have fallen on our feet with the position.
The staff could not be more friendly and the service is first class.
By English standards the room cost is expensive, min $200 low season,but not out of line with other local boutique hotels. The menu prices are in line with the UK and apart from the wine, which at $35/40 a bottle is a bit more c$10 than English prices. However import duty costs drive this up.
That said, there can be few places in the world that offer such perfect sea view from the terrace and dining area.
If you are travelling independently, in the west of Jamaica, this should be a must stay place. This place promotes 5 star relaxation, and there is no need to move off the site, but if you want to, you will be told where best to go. When we returned to the hotel, we wondered why we wanted to leave in the first place! Watching the sun set over the Caribbean Sea is a magical time of day.
You will also have a great nights sleep - the mattresses are top notch.
Overall, the hotel more than met our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review. It is most appreciated that you have deemed our cliff side property a "must stay place" in Jamaica. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the ambiance and service during your recent stay in Negril and must agree, there is truly something magical about the sunset view. The entire SPA Family looks forward to your return, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As a travel agent I am fortunate enough to see and explore new and wonderful places all over the world. The Spa Retreat is an absolutely stunning resort in a breathtaking location. The entire property is beautifully designed and whispers perfection....Owned by Canadians, hand crafted furniture, carved ceilings, beautiful rock buildings. You won't be disappointed! LOVED it!

Room Tip: Beautiful second story ocean view - gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertsvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review. As a well traveled agent, we must say it is an honor to receive such positive feedback. We aim to offer excellence in service and hope to create a unique environment for relaxation for each and every one of our guests. We look forward to your return one day. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I randomly won some free airline tickets and decided to spend a weekend in Jamaica with my now fiancé. I wanted to stay in a romantic getaway and randomly found the SPA Retreat hotel online. I could not have been happier with my stay! The food is not only amazing, but affordable. (And coming from NYC area I tend to have a higher standard than most!) The staff is amazing: Monique, Tyrone, Delroy, and Heather were very accommodating and provided service that made you feel special— getting to know you by your first name, but still offering privacy and relaxation. We were only able to stay for a short weekend, but plan to go back for a longer stay to more fully enjoy the relaxing atmosphere as well as do more cliff jumping with Rosa (the owners' super friendly dog!). I could not be happier and would recommend the Spa Retreat to anyone and everyone, especially if you like to be pampered and relaxed.

Room Tip: We stayed at a seaside room, which had a nice outdoor deck and an amazing view of the pool and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you chose The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel for your weekend getaway! It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the fresh organic cuisine from Blue Mahoe Restaurant amidst the tranquil atmosphere of our cliff side oasis. We look forward to welcoming you back for a rejuvenating week of relaxation, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Could not have asked for a better vacation. The staff was always going out of their way to make our stay one we will always remember. The property was exceptional and the views were gorgeous. We were lucky enough to see the dolphins while on a boat tour and Rosia always brought a smile. Wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanna1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed our cliff side retreat and could not agree more about the exceptional views, especially as the colors in the sky change at sunset. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable stays at The SPA Retreat & Blue Mahoe Restaurant. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Absolutely magnificent and perfect in every way possible !
Rosa the dog is a great diving buddy! Shane has done a wonderful job of creating the perfect paradise retreat unmatched anywhere in the world!
Like walking into a cedar closet the scent of the handcrafted Jamaican cedar in every room.wonderful!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

On behalf of Shane, Christine & the entire SPA Family, thank you for your kind words. We are truly humbled to read that you felt our cliff side property was "the perfect paradise retreat unmatched anywhere in the world". We must agree, the unique smell of cedar in the rooms is wonderful. Your handcrafted stone cottage awaits your return, until then one love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £171 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing