We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class All The Way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class All The Way!!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is way overdue but still so well deserved! As I sit here in -11 degree celsius I figured it was time :)

My husband Tony and I arrived in mid September, so it had just stopped raining but was still pretty hot. As soon as we arrived, while awesome Heather set up our return pick up with the driver, Marcia walked in with some refreshing drinks for us.

We had arrived on a week after a wedding had occurred, so it was a little bit quiet at the hotel, but the attention and service we received was absolutely phenomenal. We had booked the rooftop cottage but since they had other rooms available they upgraded us to the seaside cottage. We then got a tour of the grounds which I have to tell you, the pictures on their website are great but nothing can beat being there to see it for yourself!!

The staff are awesome and so professional! Please tell Shane we miss his ackee and saltfish and the dumplings! Marcia and Dwayne were so friendly and super professional. Townis, the security at the gate, was so nice and friendly as well. Everyone always took time to talk to us and give suggestions on places to go. It was always nice to see Nick every morning on our way to breakfast because he was always friendly and checked to see how we were doing.

The property is just gorgeous! The rooms are nice and roomy and the architecture of the entire resort is just beautiful. Tony and I went to seven mile beach just one day to check it out, and within a couple hours we were ready to go back to the hotel because we preferred the peace and quiet of the hotel being on a cliff and a little secluded. With the salt water pool, man made beach and bar just a few steps away we didn't feel like we missed out on anything at all!

The owners Shane and Christine are really friendly and always take the time to make sure their guests are enjoying themselves. They pride themselves on the customer experience and you can see it in how their entire staff carries themselves and the care that is taken of this wonderful property.

Rosa is the most chill dog ever! She would hang out with us by the pool and just do her own thing, never intrusive and just awesome.

Bottom line, the hotel is absolutely phenomenal. Everything about our trip was made that much better because of the amazing attentive service we experienced from start to finish. If you dont book this hotel you'll be missing out on an amazing experience! We are definitely planning on going back and cant wait to see everyone when we go back :) Thanks to all of you for a wonderful anniversary trip we will never forget

Room Tip: The seaside cottages are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravel703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to learn of your positive experience at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! It is a pleasure to have travelers such as yourselves, come from all over the world stay as guests of our "home away from home" on the cliffs of Negril. Until next time, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    45
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
414
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We recently had our traditional Hindu wedding and reception at the Spa Retreat in Jamaica, we had searched for the perfect venue all over Jamaica but as soon as we spa the Spa Retreat we instantly fell inlove with this hotel. It is absolutely beautiful, clean, elegant and romantic. The staff at the Spa Retreat are what made our day so special, they went out of their way to ensure everything was taken care of and properly executed. The chefs at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant helped us put together a menu that would be suitable for our guests, we did a taste test with them and they helped us determine the appropriate spice levels for each dish. They really put a personal touch to our menu and were really easy to work with. The owners of the Spa Retreat, Christine and Shane are what really made our experience there a very special one. They made us feel like we were at home and that they treated us like family would. They truly went out of their way to make our wedding experience amazing, they were easy to work with and very flexible. The rooms are also very nice, they are spacious and clean and have amazing views. The view in general from this venue is spectacular, the stone work and the blue waters are gorgeous and made for an amazing place for our wedding pictures. We are so glad we chose this hotel for our wedding and definitely plan on visiting again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review! We are honored that you chose The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel & Blue Mahoe Restaurant as your picturesque wedding venue! What a thrill it was for our team to be a part of this gorgeous event. From the intricate details and beautiful colors, it truly was a stunning day on the cliffs of Negril. The beautiful love you both share was undoubtedly the focal point of your celebration! We look forward to having you return as "married" guests one day soon. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I've been going back to Jamaica the past 4 years and I've toured more properties than I can remember. SPA retreat is definitely top of the list. It's a stunning property with equally stunning views. It's clear the owners have an eye for detail and are fanatic about perfection. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the woodwork throughout is so beautiful.

Dinner here was probably the best dinner I've had all year. Everything is organic, farm to table, locally grown and you can tell! I had a seafood past dish and it was so fresh and so perfectly cooked. My notoriously picky eater partner finished ate every course and finished his entire meal. we can't wait to get back.

We also got a chance to spend some time with Christine and she is a firecracker! so sharp, so welcoming and really seems to care about local Jamaicans and her staff as much as she cares for her guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Atman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review! You are correct, at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel no detail goes unnoticed. We make it our mission to create the perfect setting for our guests to enjoy well deserved rest & rejuvenation. Together, as a family, we work towards achieving excellence and feel humbled when our guests take notice. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is definitely one of the most accommodating and helpful hotels I have ever stayed at. The ladies Heather and Tacita were so helpful throughout our stay. They assisted us with booking excursions, getting change for our bills and also helped keep things for me that I couldn't hold in my room. The food on the resort was absolutely wonderful! Shane was a pleasant and accommodating chef at all times. If something was not on the menu he and the other chefs were still able to prepare it. My favorite waitress Marcia was great with helping us choose dishes and was just pleasant overall! The bartender Duwayne was excellent with preparing drinks and was very helpful when I came down for room service. Unfortunately we had no phone during our stay due to some technicality but it didn't affect the trip too much.
The hotel is also close to several restaurants and great jerk chicken on the roadside. There was a shuttle with great drivers who were available to take us anywhere we want to go outside the hotel. I also received an amazing prenatal massage from Tenisha! Better than in he states!
The property is gorgeous alongside the cliffs and if you prefer a beach it's less than 10min ride away.
I stayed in room 1 rooftop suite and it was gorgeous! I'm very picky with bathrooms and beds but this was exactly what I wanted! Very roomy, clean and comfy! Overall the resort was excellent, the staff was wonderful and pleasant especially Nick from the garden. Very helpful and polite. I will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaneequewa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the personalized service and warm hospitality provided by our SPA family! The team is motivated to make your every wish a reality while staying as our guest. Included are our expert Chefs who are excited to come to work daily and create unique Jamaican cuisine for our guests. And of course, should you wish to order off menu we are pleased to accommodate any special requests and cravings! We look forward to your return to "Negril's Newest Gem", one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Where to start and what to say that has not already been said about this wonderful resort Christine and Shane have created such a special place. From the carefully planned and manicured property to the hand picked staff this place is truly a marvel. My wife and i spent 7 wonderful days on a full board at the Spa Retreat from Nov 30 to Dec 7 and were impressed from the time we were picked up at Sangster airport. The private driver offering is a nice touch and something less to worry about as it is about a 1 hour to Negril from Montego Bay by car. The driver we had was knowledgeable and told us stories and interesting facts about the island as this was our first trip to Jamaica any advice was well received and welcomed. Our bags were promptly offloaded from the van and brought to the front office as were quite early about 11:30 am we were welcomed and offered a cool drink and a brief but helpful tour of the property, then we had lunch at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant where all the meals are served. From the moment we arrived everything was relaxed and easy going we had a lovely lunch and had our first meeting of the gracious owners/hosts Christine, Shane and of course Rosa. One or both of the owners are on site and always available to answer any questions, address concerns, or just have a chat over a cool drink. The property is constantly groomed and maintained to a very high standard our room which was referred to as G-2 which is Garden Cottage #2 was amazing the decor is warm, inviting and very comfortable our room highlight definitely the double french patio doors opening onto a lovely terrace that overlooked a beautiful garden that came with daily visits from hummingbirds, butterflies and songbirds. We were on a full board that included our breakfast lunch and dinner which were all delicious. We were offered everything from traditional Jamaican food to gourmet dishes and if you ask Christine she'll pick the stuffed chicken every time and we agree it is to die for. If you are in the mood to try some traditional Jamaican food to try should be the ackee and salt fish for breakfast and the Jamaican sampler at dinner is very good. The deserts are decadent the cheese cake, chocolate layer cake and if you are particularly nice to Christine a mango creme brulee which is amazing!! Our first experience in Jamaica was amazing and made even more enjoyable by the wonderful staff and management at this true Jamaican jewel. Nestled away in the west end of Negril Jamaica known as the one love drive . If love to be spoiled, pampered treated like you were royalty give the Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel a look and remember don't worry about a thing just relax pull up a chair for the most spectacular sunsets anywhere and let the magic of Jamaica rejuvenate you. Thanks again to Christine, Shane, Teshawn and Duwayne.oh!! yes Rosa too....see you all next year

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mslebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your gracious review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the ambiance and relaxing vibes of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! As a brand new property we are proud to keep the grounds to the highest standard for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to the next time you return to "Negril's Newest Gem" and promise another cool cocktail awaits you upon arrival. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Wow. I did not want to leave. Though this hotel is located on the cliffs in Negril, the rooms made me feel like I was in the mountains. This is a great mix of the best Jamaica has to offer, stunning sea views and a cozy room, that helped me to relax and regroup. The service staff was discrete yet attentive. I will be back to lay out relax there again and again! Thank you Christine for an awesome experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banyan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Although grateful to have had you as our guest, we did not want you to leave either! What an honor to state that we offer "a great mix of the best Jamaica has to offer", thank you! We look forward to welcoming you home again and again. Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel Jamaica truly is an Eden paradise tucked away on the cliffs of Negril. It is evident from the moment you arrive that the staff’s top priority is YOU. During my weeklong stay, every staff member I came in contact with went out of their way to ensure my needs were meet and my stay was pleasant. The Blue Mahoe Restaurant staff were happy to accommodate my dietary needs. The reception staff were extremely knowledgeable about the local tourist activities and made day trips, easy and haste free. The Spa services were exceptional. (An outdoor massage while listening to ocean lap against the cliffs truly is a bucket list experience) Each and every staff member at the Resort was genuine welcoming and accommodating.

The seaside cottages are private, nicely appointed and have outstanding, comfortable beds. The property is very well designed, even when the property was close to full capacity there was still a sense of relaxed peacefulness and privacy throughout the Resort. An added beauty to the property is the lush topical gardens are impeccably maintained.

The Spa Retreat Boutique Hotel Jamaica surpasses every expectation I had prior to going. I had an excellent stay and I would recommend the Resort to anyone seeking a personalized, relaxing, boutique holiday experience. 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Seaside cottges are ideal as they are quieter and have stunning views. Yet every room at the Resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliedelfino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review and top scores, it is with great pride that our team works to achieve a perfect stay for our guests! We do agree, the sounds of waves crashing against the cliffs while enjoying the relaxing touch of our SPA service providers is nothing short of spectacular and a must try! Your seaside cottage awaits, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
4.8 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing