We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing!!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

we organized a company incentive with 20 people at the spa retreat boutique hotel in negril, jamaica.
the service was perfect, the seaside stone cottages and the all other rooms are in perfect 5 star standard.
the personell read everything from our lips brakfast, lunch and several dinners for 20 people! has been delicious and on point.
thank you christine, shane and rosa and the whole crew for an outstanding, overwhelming week at the spa, negril.
all the best.
markus sprengler

Room Tip: the seaside stone cottages are lovely. 18o degree seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank medicevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! The entire team was thrilled to welcome your group for a luxury corporate retreat amidst our lush private backdrop. Our highly trained SPA Family were proud to set the scene with first-class service and Jamaican charm in our lavish cliff side setting. We do hope your team feels rested and rejuvenated after their time on the West End Cliffs of Negril. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    49
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
429
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Jamaica is a beautiful and lovely place. similarly, in its own unique way Negril is simple amazing. there are perhaps several places to stay in Negril that are exceptional. However, what i think separates the spa retreat is its exceptional staff and management.You feel it, the very moment you enter through the gates; its infectious. Their commitment to providing not a holiday but an experience is palpable from check in to check out. Specifically, Tatiana and Heather at the front desk were simple amazing and outstanding. The various wait staff, bartenders and ground staff at the hotel were similarly amazing and professional. The food at the Blue Mahoe provides not only an introduction into Jamaican food but a lesson in authentic Jamaican taste and presentation. Most importantly, the room was amazingly clean, comfortable and relaxing. which compliments the beautiful location overlooking the sea on the spectacular west end cliffs. The cost for the food, room and various spa services were exceptionally reasonable. if your desire is a wonderful vacation experience, then The Spa Retreat located on the west end cliffs in Negril is the place for you; not only for value, comfort, beauty and services offered, but for the human touch, through the staff, the retreat offers which exponentially increases its value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanrich_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Our team aims to provide first class service coupled with unique Caribbean charm and we are thrilled that you felt the positive vibes during your stay. We look forward to your quick return, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I loved our time at the Spa Retreat. The service is incredible. The food is great. The rooms are clean, spacious and have amazing views. Owners are kind and attentive to your every need. We hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ben d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It was with great pleasure to welcome you to your "home away from home" on the West End Cliffs of Negril. We are delighted that you felt the food and ambiance paired well with the company of our friendly SPA Family. Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is in top place for all the right reasons and I suspect it will remain there quite some time. Flawless execution from all aspects. The staff is unbelievable - I won't attempt to mention names because I'd hate to leave someone out. The entire team has a sense of pride and ownership and constantly exceeds expectations. Never have we visited a resort where everyone was so in sync with ensuring that guests were constantly happy.

The food was fantastic. If you're not fortunate to stay at this property be sure that you vist the Blue Mahoe for a meal. We tried other popular places for dinner but ended up eating at the Blue Mahoe 4 out of 7 nights as no other place else came close to comparing to the taste, quality and service,

The resort itself is breathtaking with spectacular gardens, beautiful comfortable rooms and is conveniently located to town for those that want to shop.

Kudos to Christine and Shane for building and maintaining such a perfect place.

The entire Spa Retreat team made us feel like family and we look forward to seeing you all soon.

This is truly a very special place.

Room Tip: Try a seaside massage. Wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BoomerOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. Our team is very proud to offer friendly, genuine service amidst a stunning setting. We truly believe in taking the time to learn about each and every visitor as we wish to create a lasting connection with all of our guests. One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our previous stays in Negril had been at Rockhouse (which we loved) but they were booked so after hours of reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we ended up at The SPA Retreat.

What a beautiful property! The previous reviews and photos are spot on!

We stayed in seaside cottage #2 which was absolutely beautiful. The only downside to this cottage was that it is next to the restaurant so you did get a little kitchen noise from time to time. The construction and furniture is very nice. Wi-fi signal was strong. The rooms, as were the entire facility, immaculate!

The staff and service were over the top. They knew you by name and remembered your preferences. The front desk is more than happy to assist with dinner reservations at other restaurants and make arrangements for excursions.

The owners made a point to visit with everyone onsite and even came out to say goodbye and thank you for staying when we left.

The spa services amazing! The restaurant excellent! Having drivers available a great benefit, as taxis are not as readily available on the cliffs as they are on the beach road. The pool, which is where I spent most of my time, was clean and enjoyable.

We had taken our own snorkeling equipment but they have plenty available for guest use, as well as pool floats and beach towels.

Being that I am not a dog lover, I was concerned about the resident dog, Rosa. My concerns were unfounded as she was never a nuisance. She was quiet and only frequented those guests who welcomed her attention. In fact, she must have sensed it as the only time she even approached me was when I had some jerk popcorn from the bar (which I'm betting she must like). She stayed off of the pool lounges and out of the pool.

I enjoyed 3 spa services during our visit and highly suggest a visit to the spa. Do understand that it is not very secluded so if you do not want to be seen by others, you should make arrangements for a treatment in your room. As for me, it wasn't an issue.

The ONLY complaint I walked away with was that the only outlet in the bathroom did not work. It was reported day 1 and then again day 3 and still was not repaired when we left. It was rather difficult to dry my hair (and curl it on the day of departure) sitting in the bedroom area on the floor.

If asked to compare to Rockhouse…
I like the more tropical setting at the Rockhouse (less concrete and more space between most of the villas) and villas at the edge of the cliffs. However, the service at the SPA puts it over the top. You will not get this kind of service at the Rockhouse.

Room Tip: Since there are limited rooms on the property, you can not go wrong with any. The seaside cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review. As seasoned travelers to Negril we are proud to learn that your SPA experience lived up to expectations. The entire team feels humbled receiving your kind words of approval. Your feedback on areas to improve are also much appreciated. We have since implemented enhanced communication strategies with our Front Desk and Maintenance Departments to ensure room repairs are handled efficiently for guest comfort. We look forward to the next time your arrive at our "home away from home", one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Just got back from the Spa Retreat and it was everything that was described and better. The owners, staff, rooms, food and location were awesome. With only 21 rooms by the second day the staff knew our first names and treated us as family. Whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted it was the theme for the week. The owners have made sure that the staff is all on the same page. From the staff who kept the property meticulous (awesome guys who took pride in what they had built), the front desk staff who set up excursions, dinners off the property, and made sure we had what we needed, the spa staff who went the extra mile in attending to us, the houskeeping staff who made sure we had towels, turndown service and ice and finally the personable food service staff who waited on us, each of these groups has bought into the service model the owners are trying to instill. Probably the best overall service we have encountered in Jamaica. This is a very special place....Kudo's to Christine and Shane

Room Tip: choose the stone cottage away from the restaurant...numbers 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssmith1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! It is our pleasure to set the ambiance for a relaxing and enjoyable getaway on the West End Cliffs of Negril. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the friendly and hospitable service offered in coordination by all of our departments. The team truly enjoys working together as a family to provide an unforgettable holiday experience in Jamaica for each and every one of our guests. Until next time, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful place;) staff is
so nice & very very helpful. Great service! Like no where else. They accommodate you in anything. I would definitely go back again.;) Heather and Tacita took care of us to the N'th degree! Our seaside cottage was fabulous! So peaceful and serene. Duane and Richmond were great too. The food was out of this world good! No place better in Jamaica!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SRTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you feel there is "no place better in Jamaica" than The SPA Retreat Boutique hotel! We hope you enjoyed peace, tranquility and the calming energy of our intimate property during your stay. Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
226 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#2 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
29.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,387 reviews
4.0 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing