We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went all-inclusive and were very happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went all-inclusive and were very happy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We don't typically do all-inclusive, but with the reviews of the food prior to going and knowing we just needed to chill we decide to do it. And quite happy that we did! Shane, the chef (owner has the same name and he was great too), truly cares about the food he makes and he does his very best with his team to create authentic Jamaican dishes as well as fusion dishes like Jerk Chicken Alfredo. They also have very good American comfort food. The fish and chips are excellent too.
We weren't there just to eat! We booked a seaside cottage and were very pleased with the quality of the room. If you want complete privacy you should go with one of the other cottages, but we never felt like we were in a fishbowl either. If it is was made from wood, Shane, the owner, built it! High quality wood work is on display throughout the property.
We really enjoyed the saltwater pool and that the ocean was just steps off the pool for snorkeling. Aside from music being played in the background there was a lot of quite enjoyment to be had.
We did get a few massages and thought that Temeka (sp?) did a great job with the 90 minute deep tissue.
We stayed ten nights and I believe what made the stay so great was the entire staff. From Duwayne, Tyrone, Richmond and Paul at the bar to Monique, Delroy, Marvin and the rest of the waitstaff and the already mentioned spa staff, chefs, owners and Heather and her team in the offices they all made us feel at home in the cliffs of Jamaica! We hope to return to Jamaica again and there is no doubt where we will be staying.

Room Tip: Try to avoid seaside cottage one if at all possible as it is very close to the restaurant and bar. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MjohnstonSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are excited that you enjoyed the Unlimited Food & Beverage served fresh from our 5 Star Blue Mahoe Restaurant! All of our chefs, including Shane, put a lot of love and care into each dish prepared especially for our guests. On behalf of all of the team members mentioned as well as the rest of The SPA Family, we thank you for spending time with us and look forward to the next time we meet on the cliffs of Negril. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    45
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
405
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The SPA Retreat provided a very welcome "weekend getaway".

The service was authentic, warm, efficient and extremely friendly. The hotel offers a great mix of first-world service with that unique Caribbean charm. The views are fantastic, rooms well-appointed and free WiFi is always appreciated.

I thoroughly enjoyed the food and having the open kitchen feel, but also having the ability to dine by the water on the patio, offers a welcome choice. We were thoroughly impressed by the food...for all the talk of farm to table, this is the real deal, with lots of fresh and flavourful local produce. But as a 'self-proclaimed hamburger aficionado' their Blue Mahoe burger was a definite winner in my book.

My wife enjoyed her spa services immensely and the salt water pool also gets huge bonus points.

It is always a pleasure to experience the essence of the Caribbean (the sea, sand and the unique island charm) in a relaxed but highly efficient and service-oriented resort environment.

The sunsets were spectacular...particularly the view that captures the infinity pool, the ocean and the bright orange sun against the magical Caribbean skies!

We will definitely be back...next time for longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dkg2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you retreat with us! Our team takes great pride in offering warm, friendly service authentic to the positive energy that can only be found on the great island of Jamaica! We look forward to welcoming you for an extended stay and taking you into a deeper state of rest and relaxation next trip. Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niwot, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our stay at The Spa Retreat was nothing less than spectacular!
The proprietors; Shane and Christine, should be proud of the beautiful and wonderful hotel they have built on the cliffs at West End but the thing they should be most proud of if is the wonderful people that help them deliver a wonderful guest experince everyday!
From check in with Heather, Gregory, & Rockie; to pleasant conversation (and a couple of late nights) at the bar withTyrone ("Pants"), Richmond & Duwayne; to great dining room service from Monique, Delroy & Marcia; to fanatstic spa treatment from Winsome & Jackie we felt like we were the only guests there.
We miss all of you and we will be back to visit The Spa Retreat and all our new friends.
Mike & Julie,
Niwot, Colorado

Room Tip: The Retreat Suite was beautiful. Local blue mahoe wood open beam ceilings were spectacular to wake u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review! We are absolutely blown away and honored that you feel we could be "one of the best in the Caribbean"! As a team we feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to meet and get to know wonderful guests such as yourselves. We look forward to your return "home" not only as new friends but more importantly as the latest additions to our SPA family. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesvilel, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

When we selected Spa Retreat we initially liked it because of the ambience of the resort - we loved the stone with the thatched roofs. When we arrived we were greeted by Heather and shown the property. We originally were in RT 1 but wanted a better ocean view so the next day we were moved to Rooftop 5 with a beautiful view of the ocean and the spa. We spent many hours out on our veranda overlooking the beautiful spa and ocean and saw a couple beautiful sunsets. The staff at Spa Retreat are the very best. Their whole goal is to make your stay enjoyable and they absolutely did that. We loved Gregory, DeWayne, TeShawna, Richmond, Omar and of course Rosa. We were inspired by Shane's mother Kitty - we watched in awe as she did her morning exercises each day! Jaimie also did everything to make our stay comfortable - she told me that they want the guests to feel like the are visitors in Shane and Christine's home - and that is exactly how they make you feel. The rooms are comfortable and rustic - the beds are great and very comfortable. You can really see the attention to details that Shane and Christine have put into the Spa Retreat. We will definitely be back - one of my favorite places now. They have made Negril one of our best and most unforgettable vacations. We miss you all already - enjoyed our time with you too Sabrina! Spa services by Winsome and Carrie were awesome also. Just the perfect vacation thanks to everyone at the Spa. Thanks too to Donovan who drove us all over Negril! DeWayne makes the best Rum Punch, Pina Coladas and Jamaica Smiles! He is the MAN! Very fun times with the bar group! The fish and chips are the best!

Room Tip: We loved our rooftop unit even though Jaimie offered to move us to a seaside cottage. More privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure getting to know you both during your time at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. Your feedback provided was most appreciated, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back as guests of Rooftop #5 during your next visit to Negril. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was my first visit to Jamaica, traveling with a very close friend. The Spa Retreat was the perfect place to rest, relax, catch up, get pampered and escape the "polar vortex" occurring at home in Midwestern, USA. We loved our rooftop room and the sunsets from our private porch. Spa treatments, poolside drinks, delicious fresh cuisine at the restaurant (The Blue Mahoe) & the blue waves of the Caribbean were highlights. The cherry on top was the incredible staff. Everyone made sure that our every need was met, treating us as if we were family. There was a lot of laughter and some great memories to take home. A place you must see and you'll see for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyMiMi143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you chose "Negril's Newest Gem" as your getaway spot! With the chilly weather continuing up north we could not be happier to offer you a warm reprieve, even if for just a few days. We do hope you will return as our guests during the next cold spell! Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

we organized a company incentive with 20 people at the spa retreat boutique hotel in negril, jamaica.
the service was perfect, the seaside stone cottages and the all other rooms are in perfect 5 star standard.
the personell read everything from our lips brakfast, lunch and several dinners for 20 people! has been delicious and on point.
thank you christine, shane and rosa and the whole crew for an outstanding, overwhelming week at the spa, negril.
all the best.
markus sprengler

Room Tip: the seaside stone cottages are lovely. 18o degree seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank medicevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! The entire team was thrilled to welcome your group for a luxury corporate retreat amidst our lush private backdrop. Our highly trained SPA Family were proud to set the scene with first-class service and Jamaican charm in our lavish cliff side setting. We do hope your team feels rested and rejuvenated after their time on the West End Cliffs of Negril. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Jamaica is a beautiful and lovely place. similarly, in its own unique way Negril is simple amazing. there are perhaps several places to stay in Negril that are exceptional. However, what i think separates the spa retreat is its exceptional staff and management.You feel it, the very moment you enter through the gates; its infectious. Their commitment to providing not a holiday but an experience is palpable from check in to check out. Specifically, Tatiana and Heather at the front desk were simple amazing and outstanding. The various wait staff, bartenders and ground staff at the hotel were similarly amazing and professional. The food at the Blue Mahoe provides not only an introduction into Jamaican food but a lesson in authentic Jamaican taste and presentation. Most importantly, the room was amazingly clean, comfortable and relaxing. which compliments the beautiful location overlooking the sea on the spectacular west end cliffs. The cost for the food, room and various spa services were exceptionally reasonable. if your desire is a wonderful vacation experience, then The Spa Retreat located on the west end cliffs in Negril is the place for you; not only for value, comfort, beauty and services offered, but for the human touch, through the staff, the retreat offers which exponentially increases its value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanrich_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Our team aims to provide first class service coupled with unique Caribbean charm and we are thrilled that you felt the positive vibes during your stay. We look forward to your quick return, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.8 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing