We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem of the caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The gem of the caribbean”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went for 7 nights and it was nothing short of amazing, we booked the seaside cottage it was very clean and very comfortable the views from our cottage was great ,the sunsets ,the pool , and the sea. You are instantly relaxed . The location is great you are close to attractions that are only a cab drive away. The service is top notch from Christine and Shane making sure every minute of your stay is the best it can be. Richmond and Duwayne at the bar, those boys are like family also the cab drivers Ardly and Donovan will look after you and take you anywhere you might want to go, then Gregory super friendly and ready to help with anything you might need .The food at the Blue Mahoe was excellent always fresh, many nights people from other resorts came to eat, that tells you how good it is service by Oudette,Delroy and Paul to name a few, very friendly service. The spas offers many treatments, Winsom and Kerry Anne those girls have magic fingers. In short there are only good things to say, we felt like family and miss the retreat already, we have travelled to many Caribbean destinations but this one was the most memorable and last but not forgotten Jamie for booking the trip flawlessly.
Louise + Troy
Respect

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capelgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words. It was a pleasure assisting you with planning your Caribbean escape! The entire SPA family had a wonderful time getting to know you and will look forward to welcoming you back "home" again soon. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    49
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
429
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I visited The SPA Retreat for 4 days and 3 nights, from March 13-16. My notes follow:
* Food - best quality we've experienced on the island of Jamaica - and this is our 9th visit to the island in the past 15 years.
* Service - best service we've experienced on the island. Friendly, low-key, sincere people.
* Accommodations - we opted for the seaside cottage (#1 - closest to restaurant). Some have commented that it can be noisy close to the restaurant and the nearly adjacent disco club. We sleep with a white-noise machine so any ambient sounds didn't affect us..but if you sleep without noise, do opt for cottage #5, 6 or 7. Very unique layout with terrific ocean views. With only queen beds (due to size and layout of cottage), not the best sleep for us as we are quite used to a king bed. Ceiling fan and air conditioner work keep too at perfect temperature. A few too many walls block some views and also don't allow for easy and immediate access to ocean. I'm sure it's a safety thing, but I'd remove some of the retaining walls and open the view and access paths a bit.
* Pool and ocean - pool is naturally fed with salt water from the ocean every couple hours and has tremendous ocean views from the pool.
* Spa - we tried a 60 minute deep tissue massage ($125/each) and a 90 minute swedish massage ($125/each). We both commented that the 90 minute massage was the possibly the best massage we'd ever experienced! Jacqueline and Winsome provide a tremendous 90 minute massage - it was beyond expectations.
Value - we opted for the meal plan (all-inclusive). I'm told few guests opt for this plan and instead reserve their room and pay cash for food and drinks. The menus are very good and the meal plan includes everything on the menu (ie. surf-n-turf, lobster tail, etc). Because it is a meal plan and some opt out, each trip to the bar or a meal generates a bill, which must be signed. Tips are encouraged here. Personally, I prefer an all-inclusive to mean I do not have to bring cash anywhere.
Activities - the resort is small, with maybe 18 rooms. There is no room for jogging or workouts. That said, we got creative and did 30 minute workouts on the patio of our room, which faced the ocean. I think the resort would benefit from an open air workout area with some equipment, as another phase in the buildout of the property.

Bottom line: this resort is as you read about here from others who've reviewed the property. The food, service, views, and massage services overlooking the Caribbean Ocean are special and make this resort a must-do.

Room Tip: Seaside cottages are numbered 1 thru 7, with #1 (our room) closest to the restaurant. Further away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freckles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn that The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel experience lived up to your expectations and appreciate the constructive feedback as this will allow for us to continually improve! We look forward to your return where we hope your expectations will have grown in unison with our budding cliff side retreat! Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went for a 4 day valentine’s weekend getaway and it was an unforgettable relaxing trip and we are sure to return soon!

-Atmosphere - feels like a quaint nearly private retreat on Jamaican cliffs with a beautiful ocean view - only 18 rooms and lots of different areas for lounge chairs
-Pool - beautiful pool overlooking the cliffs and ocean
-Ocean - 2 ladders into the ocean, easy to snorkel right near hotel
-Staff - incredibly friendly and eager to please ; regularly check to make sure they’re available to get you whatever you need
-Spa - overlooks the cliffs/ocean - open air tents for massages
-Food - great food, lots of Jamaican flare on the menu but also happy to do whatever you need
-Bar/Drinks - great location, nearby lounges, beautiful view, creative and yummy drinks ; great jerk popcorn in the afternoon, perfect snack after a day in the sun!
-Pickup at airport - easy to find and very friendly staff for the 1.5 hour drive to the resort
-Resort Owners - Shane and Christina are a Canadian couple, an architect and a seasoned spa owner who made the journey to Jamaica to open their first resort; they are very present at the resort and always ensuring their guests are well taken care of
-Rosa the dog - amazing, friendly, fun, will hang out and swim with you if you want!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review! We are proud to facilitate an environment that will enable guests to slip into an effortless state of relaxation. As time stands still on our expansive beach deck and our open air spa pavilion, we wish to connect you with an oasis of total well being and the ritual of renewed relaxation. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is located on the cliffs, so there is no direct beach access. But if you enjoy snorkeling, you are in for a treat! You can just use the steps or jump in the water and start enjoying an amazing fish variety steps away from your room. If you really want sand between your toes, there is always a driver available at the hotel to take you to the beach, within 10 minutes. The sunsets in this location are amazing! You must meet at the bar for a sunset drink every night! Their wonderful stuff will make you feel welcome, always serving with a big smile.
The pool deck is all covered in stone with a few patches of sand. Beautiful work!
If you are planning on jumping in the pool or in the ocean, you will have the watchful eye of Rosa, the dog. She may even join you...
We stayed at the sea cottage. I would recommend staying on Sea Side Cottage 7, most private and adjacent to the Spa.
You also must try the outdoor showers in the spa area, great water pressure and views of blue sky or stars, whatever you prefer.
Food here was so good! Feel free to venture out, but you will always come back to their restaurant. Be sure to order the fish tacos.

Room Tip: We stayed at the sea cottage. I would recommend staying on Sea Side Cottage 7, most private and adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review! Our team is happy to learn that you enjoyed the rejuvenating experience at our cliff side property. We aim to create a welcoming and positive environment for our guests to relax and have fun, whether you are taking a dip in our fresh sea water pool while enjoying personalized bar service or finding reprieve under shaded cabanas for an afternoon siesta. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked a Seaside Cottage which we were very pleased with, very clean and comfortable. This place is a must see. The views are beautiful. It will be hard to top the quality of service you receive here. Everyone and I DO mean everyone was wonderful, I truly miss them all. A special shout out to my man Richmond who was great along with Gregory, Duwayne, Marvin, Monique, Heather, and Omar. We had a few great nights laughing and chatting it up with the bar group. Great place to gather with them and the other guests. And I have to mention Winsome at the Spa what a sweet women. She gave my husband his first massage and thank you for taking such good care of him when he got sunburn. Then there is Rosa the owner's dog what a sweetheart. I hope next time we visit I can get her to jump with me. Food was great. Jerk chicken wrap, fish & chips, fish tacos for lunch and stuffed chicken and jerk chicken Alfredo is a must try for dinner. We enjoyed everything. Also loved the Dirty Bananas, and any specialty drink you like. The drivers Howie & Donavan will take you anywhere you want to go. The Spa provides you with a cell phone so you can contact them anytime. That was a nice touch. Overall we were very happy we chose The Spa. We WILL be back!!! So Richmond remember Bacardi Limon and tonic. NO SODA!!! Much love to you all !!

Room Tip: Seaside Cottage #4 was in the middle which was nice. And the pool was right in front of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. We feel humbled to read your kind words and learn of your positive experiences while staying as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We look forward to your speedy return to Jamaica where The SPA Family is sure to help you "get alright" once again. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We recently spent 8 days at the Spa Retreat. The hotel is comprised of a series of stone cottages with thatched roofs located after the 7 mile beach. The property is well laid out with nice vegetation, the cottages, a front office, and a restaurant capable of seating both in and outdoors. Stone walls that match the cottages separate the road and the sea and weave nicely around the property. Much thought was given to construction and the property, which is fairly small, is well laid out.
PRO's: The staff is excellent and the resort well managed with owners actively involved in the management. The owners have instilled a customer service ethic and the staff is one of the best we have encountered. The restaurant and bar are run well and the food and drinks consistently good. The rooms are well appointed and kept sparkling by the housekeeping staff. The pool, a saltwater pool, while small, is kept clean and filled with water from the sea.The snorkeling is excellent and the equipment provided by the resort free. There are some underwater caves to explore not far from where you enter the water at the resort.
CON's: No beach and the property can feel constricted after a few days. The swimming in the ocean can only be attained by jumping off or climbing a ladder into the sea. If it is rough, the ladders are pulled out.To reach the 7 mile beach you must walk along the road (not for the faint hearted since there are no sidewalks and narrow walking paths) for roughly a mile before access to the beach. The drivers from the SPA are excellent (Audley).

All things considered, a very nice stay at the SPA retreat. A great place to relax if you don't want to walk the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingman826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your review and valuable feedback! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our cliff side setting whilst embracing the friendly service provided by our SPA family. Based on your recommendations, we have recently implemented a water taxi service for those wanting to explore Negril via a stunning sea view. Our preferred driver, Vincent, will now offer multiple trips daily to the 7 Mile Beach from his Glass Bottom Boat! One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

It was our first time and our first destination on Jamaica. Instead of a welcome drink we enjoyed a short massage after a long trip from Europe. You really feel welcome, their hospitality is coming from the heart. Gregory, Richmond and all the other guys are a great team. Not to forget the excellent kitchen, starting from traditional ackee and salt fish to an excellent shrimps pot. If we would come again to Jamaica, we will for sure go there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review! We are honored that you chose The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel as your first ever destination in Jamaica. As always, it is our pleasure to embrace each and every guest with warm, friendly hospitality. We do hope that you will consider visiting our sunny island again. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
225 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
29.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,384 reviews
4.0 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing