We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Spa Retreat for a birthday escape for four nights. The facility is in immaculate condition and the staff was amazing. Everyone was exceptionally hospitable from the grounds crew to the front desk and bar/restaurant staff. The views are incredible and the location is key for dining and a quick cab ride to the beach. The snorkeling right off the cliffs was decent however a boat ride to the reef was incredible which the front desk arranged for us. The cell phone and welcome massages are a nice touch and great way to start your stay. I would highly recommend a massage while you are there. Also Rosa the resident dog was great to have around. The only two negatives were the private drivers they arrange are very nice however much more expensive than cabs you can grab right on the street. You can negotiate with them but they will be more expensive every time. My other complaint, which is out of control of the property, is the bar across the street was very loud every night until about 2:30am which was perfectly audible from our room. Otherwise I highly recommend a rooftop room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Roof Top 5 which was the best situated as it was away from the restaurant and next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your time on our cliff side property, relaxing to the tune of personalized service provided by the many members of our SPA Family. With regards to transportation, we offer a safe, reliable means of private transportation to our guests. Our private drivers are fully licensed with a "red plate" and are required to have auto insurance. Often times, transportation providers that are less expensive are not licensed drivers and operate as a shuttle service, compiling many people in one car. We cannot guarantee the safety or reliability of these transportation providers. Unfortunately, our Front Desk was not aware of any documented noise disturbances reported during your stay. In light of your very valuable feedback I am pleased to report that we have since contacted our local authorities and this issue has been rectified. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention as it allows for us to take action to improve our guest experience. We very much look forward to your return to "Negril's Newest Gem"! One love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Spa retreat for 3 nights over Memorial Day Weekend. There are only 18 total units, which made it perfect for us. Peaceful, quiet, and romantic. Yet although it was small, they had most amenities of a larger resort. We had a great massage by the sea, and a yoga class at our requested time also out by the sea.
One drawback of the smaller retreat was that there was no workout room and really no place to run or workout. But since it was a short stay, we were fine without a workout, other than yoga. The barstaff/waitstaff, and all the staff were amazing. Very friendly and fun. We enjoyed making new friends with them. Resort is set on a small cliff, so there is no beach, but they have a small man-made beach area with some sand and some stone, with beach chairs, that was perfect for hanging out, reading, and being right on top of the sea. My wife loves to read, me not so much, but with this setting, I quickly became a reader and really loved sitting out reading, having the barstaff bring us cocktails. The pool is small, but was perfect for us to soak in, while enjoying a cocktail, and within a few feet of the sea which made for a great view. The restaurant was fabulous, we ate all our meals there for the weekend and never had to leave. We loved this retreat, and are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Request a Seaside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrockBuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed sampling the many services and unique features of staying as a guest of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! We agree, the cliff side massages and yoga classes are wonderfully relaxing experiences. Our intimate property certainly allows for guests to truly unwind and rejuvenate. Until next time, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was a bit sceptical about Jamaica after all you hear. However if you listened to everything you wouldn't leave the house. I loved this place. Yes it's pricey....but worth it. I didn't leave the property....and when you stay there you'll see why. The best part was the staff. Richmond, Duwayne, Delroy, Tyrone O'Mar, Gregory and the list goes on. Well done! It really was a home away from home. After a longish holiday, it was great to finish it off here relaxing.

The food was great! I'm now addicted to Jerk Chicken. In hindsight, I probably wouldn't have done the all inclusive part as I don't think (some would debate) that I ate or drank that much......gave it a good go though!

Would definitely stay here again. I was in Garden 3 and for the 10m walk to the same place the seaside villas are......it wasn't worth (in my opinion) the extra $, although I'm sure they were nice.

I didn't use the spa, however the welcome neck massage was lovely, albeit a little unexpected at first as you're checking in :/

Well done guys. Staff are your number one asset and should get a pay rise! :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Aussieflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words about our SPA Family! We are so proud of the dedicated team of service providers that represent The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. We are humbled that you too identify with the incredibly genuine, hospitable service offered to our guests daily! As we recognize the All Inclusive Meal Plan is not for everyone, our team will do their best to personalize each individual guest's stay with supplementary half board, full board and a la carte plans based on your desire for consumption! We are already counting down until your next visit, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The resort itself was beautiful...small and intimate and well maintained. We stayed in Seaside cottage #5 which was half way between one end of the resort and the other. We were very happy in our room selection as it was right in the middle of the resort. The cottage itself was great. Large enough for 2 and a good sized bathroom. We also had a nice deck with seating to view the ocean morning and night...Absolutely everyone at the resort was amazing....they make a real effort to make a connections to every guest. Food was always amazing....props go out to Sheldon who came to our table to introduce himself. Bar staff - Dwayne, Tyrone, Richmond - couldn't say anything better. These guys knew you and what you wanted....Our experience was amazing and incredible and we hope to get back soon.Will recommend to all we know...

Room Tip: We loved our room - Seaside Cottage #5 - right in the middle of the resort. cottages are closed to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Starfish2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are truly fulfilled to learn that our retreat environment and friendly service met your expectations for a restful holiday. It is our utmost concern for guests to feel welcomed from the moment they arrive to our "home away from home". Our team will await your return through our gates of paradise. One love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wonderful experience. The epitome of relaxing. Excellent food, though slightly expensive. We went without the all-inclusive option as that tacked on $180 per person/per day, and we'd never spend that much on food and drinks alone. Dinner, with a couple of drinks each, cost about $70 total, so be prepared to spend a decent amount if you eat there, and don't do all-inclusive. That option, still, is much more than I think most people will spend. Breakfast was so-so and cost about $35. We much preferred a local restaurant across the street for breakfast, and the food was delicious and about half the price. Drinks are great, bar is awesome. Pool is great, views are unparalleled. They give you a cell phone, and obtaining drivers to go to the beach, or other Cliffside hotels is always available. It should only cost about $15 roundtrip to travel anywhere up the cliffs for dinner elsewhere. Rooms are immaculate, comfortable, AC is perfect, and rooms are well-designed. It's really beautiful, and we will be returning.

Room Tip: LOVED our room on the far end, in a rooftop cottage. We were away from the restaurant and bar, and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review and very valuable feedback. We view all comments as an opportunity to improve our service for an unparalleled guest experience in the future. We do agree, the All Inclusive Plan is meant for those who are interested in sampling an unlimited amount of fresh food and beverage selections from our Blue Mahoe Restaurant & Bar Menu. We also offer Half Board, Full Board and A La Carte options as a alternate for guests to personalize their stay based on the amount they believe they will consume. Your comments about breakfast have been addressed with our Chefs to ensure only the freshest and finest ingredients make their way to the presentations of fine Jamaican cuisine you receive morning, noon and night! We look forward to welcoming you back for another peaceful stay on the cliffs of Negril soon. One love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautiful Grounds. Great vantage points. Awesome sea water pool. A very spirited staff
( Duwayne, Nick, Tyrone, Tonnis, etc ) that make for a real, heartfelt experience.
Also...very tasty, healthy food and good snorkelling.

Two small disadvantages are that their is no coffee in the room and the price of massage is a bit steep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canuckjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to learn that you felt the positive energy and lighthearted vibes during your stay with us on the West End Cliffs. We aim to offer each and every one of our guests a genuine experience during their time on the island of Jamaica. Until next time, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just returned on Monday from the Spa Retreat...stayed four days. They arranged airport transfer which is a separate cost of hotel. Friendly drivers...took me to get jerk chicken because I was hungry when I got of plane. As soon as I arrived the staff was very welcoming...I was handed a drink and given a mini massage. They provide guests with cell phones free of charge to call home and local calls...free wifi. The hotel is right on the water...beautiful views...cabanas...pool...bar...restaurant. My room was fine...not enough light for my taste. Garden view. Really relaxing environment. I took yoga classes in the morning with ocean view. Nicole the yoga instructor was great. Had a seaside massage...amazing. Really good breakfast. Its a little distance from seven mile beach...so if you want to be on the beach this may not be the place for you. I like to walk so I walked into town...if you're nervous individual walking on the rode may not be for you...but I will say drivers are very cognizant of people on the rode. I attended a wedding at another resort and they arranged car service. I definitely go back again. My only complaint are the ants...had ants in my room but I attribute that to the garden. Shout out to staff Tanya, Billy, Kerryann!

Room Tip: would suggest booking a room with ocean view...I would if I had to do it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cishawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note your satisfaction with the serene and restful SPA Retreat experience! We are thrilled that you felt well taken care of by our SPA Family! For those wanting to explore Negril during their stay our Front Desk can easily arrange for a water taxi to take guests from our cliff side retreat up the West End and down to the 7 mile beach! I appreciate you bringing the concern for ants on your patio to our attention, we have since gone through the process of neutralizing this issue. We look forward to your return one day soon, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
243 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,313 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
860 reviews
1.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,023 reviews
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £158 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing