We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We checked in with an open mind but was immediately impressed with the customer service, which was consistent throughout the trip. The food was outstanding. Our room was comfortable but not luxurious. However, we would go back tomorrow. We enjoyed it that much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to offer a home away from home for our guests to enjoy during their time in Negril, Jamaica! Our team aims to offer warm hospitality with a personal desire to ensure your time on the island is everything you dreamed of and more! We look forward to having you as our guests again soon. One love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was planning a trip to surprise my wife for our 10th anniversary. I ended up choosing The Spa Retreat, and I'm glad I did. I decided on the seaside cottage for the view and to avoid any noise from the street. It was perfect. The room was spacious, the patio was great for relaxing, and I was surprised that there was a TV in the room (I was able to watch the World Cup matches). There are only 18 rooms, so at max, you're looking at 34 other vacationers at the resort at the same time as you. There were never any issues with beach chairs or towels. I didn't spend much time in the pool because the snorkeling was so good right off of the cliffs. What I found so refreshing here was that you decided what kind of vacation you were having. It is so peaceful and quiet on the property, but you are a short walk or a quick cab ride into town or to any of the tourist spots. We only left once, to scuba dive. Our first day we had a personalized yoga session with just us and the yoga instructor. Our last day there we had a couples massage at the spa, overlooking the ocean. It was perfect. The food at the Blue Mahoe was excellent. We attempted to taste everything on the menu and almost succeeded. The Blue Mahoe Burger, the fish taco, and the coconut milk snapper were our favorites, but everything was good (although the ackee and saltfish for breakfast was a one time occurrence). We went with the unlimited all-inclusive plan which is nice because we were never really concerned with the prices of the meals, we just tried what looked good. Our whole experience at The Spa Retreat was excellent, but what really set it apart was the service. Almost every one of the employees wanted to know how they could make our experience better. We met the owner, Shane, and he seemed to sincerely want to know how our stay was and how they could make it better. I would recommend this resort for adults and couples who want to relax and be pampered.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you found our piece of paradise on the cliffs of Negril and it lived up to all that you expected for a romantic anniversary getaway! Your kind words propel our team to continue our devotion! We look forward to your return trip, soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I don't have anything bad to say about the Spa Retreat, it 's as simple as that. The calm days away from the hustle of big All Inclusives, the amazing top notch personalized service, every day is better than the last. The food is amazing and affordable. When you go there, you don't feel just one of thousands visiting Jamaica, you feel like you're special. Also you give your money to persons you can actually meet, not a huge chain.
The only thing I'll say is that the sea access is not made for people who have trouble going up a ladder. For us, it was perfect, we didn't miss the beach at all. We went one day (it's very close by) but stayed an hour and we were like : when are we going back to the hotel? It's much better there. Snorkeling was also fair right by the hotel.
We dined twice outside the restaurant. The food was not better than at the hotel but the menu was different. I recommend Catch a Falling Star restaurant.
The view is breathtaking everywhere on the cliffs.
Thanks to all the Spa Retreat family, Richmond, Tyrone, Gregory, our driver Audley and all the others, we usually never go to the same place twice, but we will be back someday for sure! And to Rosa the adorable dog, we miss you!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room, but we prefer the 2nd floor rooms because there is a roof and beautiful v...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review and kind words! The entire SPA Family is humbled that you have deemed our cliff side retreat "the best place ever"! We truly aim to provide an environment of calm and tranquility for our guests to enjoy an intimate and reclusive getaway! You and every one of our guests truly are special as you are a part of the fabric of our life in paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our "home away from home", soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I were in search of a resort where we could lounge around, eat great food and not feel pressured to do anything. Spa Retreat was the perfect choice. The food was GREAT and we thought it was reasonably priced. We were tempted to try other restaurants off the property, but we had enough choices during our 5 day visit to stay on-site. You can order anything you want to eat, even if it is not on the menu. We combined multiple dishes to make the perfect meal for each of us. I asked someone what time lunch was served on a day that we didn't eat breakfast and was told that lunch is whenever you want it. Everyone and everything is so laid back that you can do what you want, when you want. You don't need to abide by anyone else's schedule, unless, of course you book spa services.

As we learned from other reviews, the service is unparalleled. Everyone on the property is incredibly friendly and will go out of his or her way to make your vacation special. The resort is architecturally gorgeous. Stone everywhere. The pool overlooks the ocean and continually circulates water to and from the ocean. The water is crystal clear and we swam and snorkeled every day during our visit. Be prepared that most of the resorts in Negril are right on the water and likewise, right off the street. From our rooftop room, you could hear noise from across the street, but it was muffled when we shut our bathroom door so it never bothered us. We spent very little time in our room anyway, although it would have been easy as the beds are so comfortable.

Our only complaint that we were unaware that all tips must be paid in cash. We did not bring enough small change so we waited until the last day to calculate tips. Because receipts were not provided for each meal or drinks, we had to keep track of each of the inidividuals who served us and the applicable tip. This was a slight nuisance but more than that, we think that we may have missed someone who provided service during our stay. The resort should provide an easier method for giving tips, even by including a fixed gratuity in the price of the food and drinks - may 18% and then you can tip above and beyond if someone is extra special. Or possibly a bulk gratuity that could be provided for some of the service folks who were in the background (not waitresses or bartenders) to make sure they were covered. Or, at least, let guests know in advance that all gratuities must be paid in cash. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Roof Top 4 - centrally located and relatively quiet except for street noise in the back...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lkurlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review! What an honored that you feel "The SPA Retreat was the perfect choice"! We are so happy to learn that the relaxing vibes and calming energy mixed with our sumptuous cuisine and friendly service were all elements that equated to an enjoyable stay for you both! Although we have been advising guests via confirmation emails to bring cash for gratuity as it is not yet available via credit card, we do recognize that this is inconvenient. With this in mind, we have decided to implement a 10% service fee on all restaurant bills to cover a minimum gratuity for our service staff. We very much appreciate your feedback about our gratuity methods as this has allowed an opportunity for us to improve our service! We look forward to your return one day soon, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Poaitive pointa:
Amazing pool, the service, smiling and lovely staff, playful dog (we love you Rose, we miss you <3)
Excellent room service
Heaven massage!!
Great view.
Near to Rick's café.

Less positive points:
I wish the badroom had a bathtub..
A little expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zenaida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the complete SPA experience during your stay as our guests! As a new property we aimed to be Eco-conscious with many of our building and design features. We opted out of bath tubs as a part of our commitment to sustainable tourism to consciously monitor water usage. We even collect rain water with sump pumps to irrigate our grounds as another water conservation tactic! We do hope you can appreciate our pledge to being an environmentally responsible SPA Family. Until next time, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the SPA Retreat for the last 4 days of our honeymoon and absolutely LOVED it! I'm glad I trusted the reviews on TripAdvisor and choose to stay here. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, but not to the point of being annoying.

The food was EXCELLENT! Don't leave without trying the Coffee Flavored Banana Pancakes.

The rooms and entire resort is immaculately clean. They even gave us a cell phone to use during our stay which turned out to be very helpful.

Can't recommend this place enough.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JSWeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to learn that you found the warm, friendly service provided by our SPA Family enjoyable. It is our aim to create a comfortable, laid back environment for our guests while still offering superior service. Our organic, farm to table cuisine is prepared fresh by our Blue Mahoe Restaurant Chefs who are proud to serve an array of traditional Jamaican and International dishes, including the oh so yummy coffee flavored waffles and fluffy pancakes! Until next time, one love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at the Spa Resort for a wedding in late May 2014. Everything about the experience was wonderful- the location, staff, food..etc! I would (and have) recommended the Spa to several of my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are truly grateful that you have spread the word about "Negril's Newest Gem" to family and friends based on your recent experience as our guests. We await your return to our home away from home one day soon! Soon come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
242 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
35.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £145 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing