We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and staff ever and we have travelled around the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel and staff ever and we have travelled around the world”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Spa for 10 days. It is a beautiful resort with breathtaking views. The staff are amazing. I miss them. Rocky, Gregory, Casandra, Tanya , Richmond, Dwayne, Truman. The food was great. So sorry that we don't remember everybody's names. Every single staff member were sweet, helpful and accommodating. They seem to really care about your stay. Miss you guys!!!! Lilly and Henry

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thespagroup, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Lilly and Henry, thank you for your review! We are happy to hear about the great impact our staff had on your stay. It is our pleasure to offer genuine, hospitable service to all of our guests! We miss you too, and hope to see you again soon! One Love, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    45
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
417
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My Family and I stayed at the SPA Retreat in July 2014, and we had a great time! The accommodations and the restaurant were very nice.The Staff were warm and professional. Rosa the Lifeguard Dog was an unexpected treat. The on-site Spa personnel were skilled and welcoming. The hotel was all-inclusive optional, which allowed us to save some money, explore local fare, and enjoy different experiences, without being tied to the Resort for meals.

The cons: The wi-fi was unreliable, even after a technician was called to repair it. The only day that it consistently worked was on the day that we checked out. Family members were staying in Garden 4, and they were being eaten alive! Once they were moved (which did happen promptly) the majority of the biting stopped. The title of this review is due to the service fee that was applied to EVERYTHING, except the double taxation.

Room Tip: Seaside Cottages look great! The Garden Cottages were okay, too.The Rooftop Cottages with the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thespagroup, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we take great pride in our resort, and appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry for the inconsistencies you experienced with our Wifi. You are correct we did have an expert technician on property; however the issue did take longer than anticipated to resolve. We are now pleased to inform you that we have installed a brand new Wifi system that offers a reliable signal. We do recognize that with the lush foliage and tropical gardens that line our property, there is a potential for outdoor insects, and suggest for our clients to please let us know the moment they experience a bite, so that we may offer repellant immediately. The resort does charge a 10% Country Tax, as well as a 10% Service Tax. We have tried to contact you but unfortunately we have not heard back, we would really like to understand your perception of the double taxation. We would still love to speak with you, and you may reach us through our toll free number +1 876-399-3772. On behalf of the entire team, thank you again for your review. We hope to hear from you soon! One Love, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel was amazing & relaxing. Staff and drivers are all so friendly and welcoming!! I Loved my stay at the Spa Retreat. The last 4 days of our trip were spent pool side, soaking up the sun, drinking and eating great food. Tanya, Billy, Gregory, Dwayne, Tyrone, Richmond, Delroy & Cassandra - THANK YOU!! Donna J & Family

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOnzie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thespagroup, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Donna & Family, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences. We are thrilled to learn that your stay delivered the experience you were looking for! We look forward to welcoming you back! One Love, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a few weeks on the island for an amazingly charming and scenic honeymoon which was capped off with a final stay here at the spa resort. We stayed at the finest lodgings the island had to offer as we made our way from Kingston to Ocho Rios to Negril, and I have to say this was an amazing place to stay and end our honeymoon. After a minor hiccup at checkin Jamie K. the most amazing service person ever stepped in and within 15mins had solved every problem and made us feel at home immediately. The staff all around the resort are amazingly cool and respectful, the tone they set for the resort is a comfortable home away from home where you feel free to come and go and safe and relaxed while relaxing in your room. Their honeymoon room is a slice of heaven, the views fm the patio stunning and the interior is huge and relaxed with furniture and tv and a great AC system and a safe and anything else you would want. The owners by the way are both super in tune with their guest needs and make a invaluable addition to the property, they made us feel like family. The food is to die for by the way, everything on their menu blew my palate away. Their trifecta of the local dishes like the curried goat makes me salivate back home now thinking about it. The prices are also super reasonable, they don't rip you off, we went a la carte and never once felt like we overpaid. The service staff at the bar and restaurant make you feel warm and happy and the security super safe. The beds and everything were super clean and made us feel relaxed after much traveling. Thank you all for a wonderful stay, we felt truly blessed ending our honeymoon with you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TannerF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it was my absolute pleasure to assist. It is our hope that all of our guests slip in to a seamless state of relaxation from the moment they arrive to the moment they depart. We are humbled by your kind words and can't wait to welcome you back as our guest soon! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and another couple stayed here 3 nights and we absolutely loved it! We enjoyed cliff-side massages, snorkeling, eating, drinking, pool & hammock time, room service, etc. We didn't do the all-inclusive package, even though it was an option. I thought it was great that they gave us local cell phones to use, pre-programmed with staff numbers, and trusted cab drivers for our excursions away from the resort. We were also able to stay in touch with the couple we were traveling with since we had the phones. The rooms and the entire facility are clean and well maintained. And we loved the fact that there were no tvs in our rooms! We will definitely be returning, and highly recommend The Spa Retreat.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank fitpitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so happy to learn of your positive experience at our "home away from home"! What an honor that you feel we are the "perfect place" for total rejuvenation, mind and body! We look forward to your return, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After spending a week in a sub-par hotel the week before in St. Lucia, I was nervous to bring my family to the second leg of our trip - Negril, Jamaica. Expectations were high and the pressure was on me after having messed up the first part of our trip. However, I was confident that even my super picky family would find this piece of heaven on earth to be suitable for their expectations. Sure enough, I was right (phew!)! My family stayed here for an entire week and we loved every second of it. The staff is top-notch. Super accommodating, attentive, friendly, and social. They go out of their way to ask you about your day they're all super easy to carry a conversation with. You are in paradise here! It was a bit difficult to leave the resort at first because of how comfortable we were just being there and relaxing. The food and the drinks at the restaurant/bar were exceptionally delicious! Definitely recommend eating there.

Cons - a bit pricey for lunch and dinner, wifi is a bit spotty, and the resort is not on the beach (however, it is a short cab ride away! the resort is at the cliffs and DOES have direct access to the ocean for snorkeling. Also, the resort has made a fake beach so you practically have everything there!)

Pros - amazing customer service, very relaxing setting, friendly and social staff, breathtaking scenery, recently built, free snorkeling, amazing spa treatments, saltwater pool, and very intimate resort since it is quite small compared to other resorts in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn that your stay delivered the experience you and your family were seeking! Our aim is to satisfy even the most discerning guest with authentic and warm hospitality amidst a unique cliff side setting. A specialized technician has recently solved the spotty WIFI issues as we can understand how imperative connectivity is to our guests! Next time you we suggest taking our water taxi service to the 7 mile beach, which offers convenient cliff side pickup! We look forward to your return, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

You can't go wrong staying at the Spa Retreat. Incredibly friendly staff, spectacular property, excellent food & the wife loved the spa treatments. We've been to Negril on 5 different occasions and have happily determined that we'll be staying here from now on. Seriously, it's that nice!

Room Tip: Loved the rooftop stone cottage room- number 5 is furthest from the restaurant & thus, the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IN_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review and kind words. We are honored that you have determined The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel as your choice of destination for all future visits to Jamaica! The SPA Family looks forward to your arrival at our "home away from home" very soon! One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
84.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
128.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
4.8 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,274 reviews
37.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Property: The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing