We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Relaxation”
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Caves
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Complete Relaxation”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Wonderful stay from start to finish, Staff was outgoing and friendly. This resort suited our tastes just fine. We were not bombarded with staff, they seemed to show up just when needed, it was such a relaxed atmosphere the we never felt like we had to do anything at any particular time. The small amount of like minded guests made for a better stay, there were no lines, no rudeness, no kids and no noise.
The cave dinner was very nice, cave 2 is the best, more open with a nice breeze. The rooms were very homey and the AC was a plus but not needed. We did not have a bug issue, mabey one bite the whole stay, only needed bug spray for the cave dinner. The food was good, not excellent but heads above a typical all inclusive. The best meals were breakfast, The jamaican breakfast was excellent.
We also did the couples spa treatment which was wonderful, relaxing and professional. We stayed in one drop and stardust, the views from stardust were better but one drop was cozier. My suggestion would be to stay in a unit as far away from the main rd as possible, as it can get noisey in the evening, The beds were not too hard as others mentioned and the pillows were sooo soft, had great nights sleep
One quick walk down to Riks and youll realize just how nice The Caves is and how woderful the people are. I LOVED THE STAFF AT THE CAVES

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunknGingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    58
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
514
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Its hard to get so much right in one place. The view from every angle of the property is a dream to begin with, and to stay alone at a hotel seems daunting at first, but this was a joyous experience. The private property seems almost suspended, as its nestled on Negril's West End cliffside, overlooking aqua blue waters. There were a few celebrities in house, but not to worry, everyone takes a laid back vibe once behind these doors. I actually felt like celebrity myself, sitting in the hot tub sipping champagne, looking down at boats of visitors staying elsewhere, who looked up at The Caves in awe. Actually felt sorry for them. The staff are clearly working hard, but its unseen, another Island Outpost experience that cant be missed. And I think when I leave a vacation, it must be an experience, or its not worth it. Be back in April, cant wait!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylemalatai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed here and at Catcha Falling Star. The latter is much better value for money. Although the staff are pleasant, one expects something excellent at these prices. Some examples of things that could be improved: our request for a sewing kit was met with the suggestion that we could buy one in town; the food was mediocre with excessively speedy service, puddings were awful with aerosol whipped cream; ingredients for cocktails were often missing - no mint to make a mojito or limes to make a caipirinha; water pressure in the shower was pretty dismal; it is in need of some refurbishment - some seat cushions are worn and scruffy, sun umbrellas are held together with sticky tape.

Dinner in the cave was fun. There is a pleasant bay to swim and snorkel in. Unfortunately Paul had broken his arm and was in plaster, so he could not swim.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pasht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Caves in Negril, Jamaica. It was fabulously beautiful. Our accommodations were cliff side with expansive views of the ocean with fabulous sunsets. There were options to go on interesting excursions, but we were content to stay on the verdant property since it was so gorgeous. The meals were all-inclusive, and freshly prepared and quite delicious. The rooms were surrounded by beautiful, lush plants. They had wonderful yoga classes, and snorkeling equipment on the premises. They also had an Aveda spa, with wonderful massage treatments, and other spa services, which we enjoyed immensely. The massage tables are private, but have an incredible ocean view.

En route to Jamaica my legs mysteriously swelled.There was a brochure for Isadora, an intuitive, natural health practitioner on call at the hotel, and the staff made an appointment for me. Isadora was intuitively and amazingly accurately able to see things both with my health and in my life. She shared insights with kindness. During our session she recommended flower essences, homeopathic and other natural remedies for me to get at home. I still think about her incredibly intuitive insights many,many months afterwards, and would highly recommend a visit with her to anyone traveling to Jamaica.

Lastly, I would also recommend the hotel taxi service to the airport, rather than public transportation, since it is a little bit of a drive from Montego Bay Airport.
I would go back to the Caves again most definitely.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneacleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
End of the Road
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Suzette did an amazing job coordinating all of our request prior to arrival. We used the resorts transportation to and from the airport, which was reliable, and we didn't have any issues.

My wife and I stayed in the Stardust, and believe that it is the best room, for our needs, on the entire property. It is totally isolated from all of the other rooms, literally. Complete privacy the majority of the time. Other resorts from Montego Bay bring their guest to watch the sunset right next to the room at the Sand's Bar; that will give you an idea of how good the view is from the Stardust... The room itself is very charming, and pretty much what we expected. We didn't go to the caves to stay in a luxury penthouse. We went for intimacy and relaxation. The unit is stand alone, and is perched literally right on the cliffs above the sea caves. The ocean was extremely strong the night we got their, and was really loud. But, the remainder of the nights it was pleasant. The only complaint about the room was the phone did not work. We couldn't order room service, we couldn't get wake up calls, and more importantly we could receive calls in case of an emergency at home. Unfortunately, we actually had one... one of our children had to go to the emergency room. There was a call to the resort, a message left, but we did not get notified. Had the hospital visit been different, this could have been tragic.

We set up a horse-riding tour with the office to go to paradise park, but sat around waiting the morning we were supposed to go. The office quickly got another company to pick us up and go to Rhodes Hall, which was really disappointing. The experience was not the one we requested.

The food pretty good. We enjoyed eating the local cuisine, and always got the combo. Good, nothing too fancy. On occasion, there was some exceptional entrees. We really enjoyed the breakfast. The ambiance during dinner was amazing too. The combination made the dining experience really nice. We requested Cave 2 for our dinner, but got Cave 1 last minute do to the New Year's eve party. It was nice, but again, not what we requested. The staff was really did a good job setting up the cave for us.

Skip the hot tub. It is okay. Just get a bottle of champagne and sit in the pool.

The drinks were good. The liquor selection was not top shelf, but decent. The bar tenders made excellent drinks. I could live off the dirt bananas. Zoom and Orrane did a great job mixing drinks, and serving meals. Everyone that served us did an exceptional job. They worked really hard, and we tipped appropriately.

Make sure to go with Paul on his snorkeling tour. He knows the cave systems and will guide you through them. Exceptional job!

Make sure to jump of at least one cliff. The blue hole is fun!

Pros: Super friendly and attentive staff. They will cater to your every need. The location of the property is amazing and safe. Perfect for an anniversary or honeymoon.

Cons: The price is a little steep.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoutpilot75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caves-management, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
We are very sorry to hear about your recent stay at our hotel whereby you had phone issues. In fact we did have an issue with some of our cabling installed for our new phones at one point after it was affected by two back to back storm surges at the end of the year. This problem has since been rectified. In all cases, we do offer a cell phone out to guests if we know that the phone in the room is not working. We are looking into the matter of you not receiving such an important message and will get to the bottom of this, as also is our standard "any message that comes in for a guest is delivered right away" -
We also are very sorry about your horse riding experience, as we usually try to recommend the best tours out there, Chukka Caribbean and Rhodes Hall (closer than Chukka).
As for the cave dining, we realized at the last minute that if you would have dined in cave #2 on NYE it would not have been a quiet and private experience like we deliver due to the noise that would have emanated from the party area --- hence setting up of cave #1 - we are happy you enjoyed the experience anyhow!
Thank you so much on the wonderful kudos to our staff -- who are passionate about what they do, standards and we continue to aim as high as we possibly can to continue these standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon again, and promise to deliver a unique, charming, delectable and exceptional experience.

One love,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We returned to The Caves because I loved the food so much last time we were there and couldn't find anything as good on our last trip.
After staying other places, I really appreciate the fine details. We stayed in Moonshadow again, what a view from the upstairs deck! From the design of the rooms themselves to the sculpture and art scattered around the common areas, there are so many nice touches.
I only have a few things they could improve. One is that there is very limited lounging area with shade. I think in a hotel of this caliber, one shouldn't have to claim space early in the morning. Given the limited property it sits on, I don't know how they could fix that problem easily.
The other is that in between meals, it can be difficult to find a bartender. Even at happy hour, sunset, there are usually no people at all at the bar, so it can get a bit boring. Granted, when there is no bartender, you can just help yourself, but I like to have some of their complicated blender drinks. For what they charge for rooms, they should have staff walking around taking drink orders during the day.
I enjoyed taking their (brand new) mountain bikes out for rides in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saeyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at The Caves.

The staff from the moment you enter the gates are nothing but attentive, courteous and helpful without being in your face. They are always there when you need them but never over your shoulder.

After spending 3 weeks travelling around the US, the food was a welcome relief! Fresh, home cooked meals were amazing! Fresh seafood, vegetables, salads, soups and the famous jerk chicken were to die for! The dessert - if you're not already full, can be a bit hit and miss though.

Drinks are never hard to come by, with the staff happy to make you one of their signature cocktails!

We were fortunate enough to stay in the 'Stardust' Villa, which was slightly removed from the other villas making it more private. The room was spotless with everything we could possibly need! Whilst not much time was spent in the Villa, our daily Red Stripe on the balcony whilst watching the sun set was a memory that will last a lifetime.

The facilities are straight from a postcard, the water is as blue as it looks in promotional photos! There are ample lazy boys, albeit you will need to get up pretty early to secure the ones close to the water. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy your meals and cocktails. Whilst we were staying there, all villas were full yet at no point in time did I feel like there were too many people -

Finally... don't be afraid of the big cliff jump! once you've done it I promise you'll be straight up there to do it again!

A big thank you to all of the amazing team at The Caves.

ONE LOVE!

P.s. The Caves is a one and a half hour drive out from Montego Bay Airport, make sure you keep this in mind when booking your flights!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Property: The Caves
Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing