We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning a trip to Jamaica? Stay here!!!”
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Caves
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is an easy review to compose...

Location? Excellent. Service? Excellent. Food? Excellent. Facilities? Excellent.

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we highly recommend this resort. While you may need to save up for a while to be able to afford to stay here, it is well worth it. Privacy, fantastic service, excellent facilities, great food and a relaxed atmosphere are all included in the price!

The cave dinner was awesome as well, as was the hot tub (which overlooks the ocean) and the cliff diving (thanks to our lifeguard Paul, who showed us all the jumps!).

The food was fantastic- we're still raving about the thick chunks of pan seared snapper especially! And the dark and stormy drink was a winner- thanks Randy!

All the staff were relaxed and friendly and it seemed like they were happy to chill with us and talk while working. Very cool.

Overall- an awesome experience, and if we get the chance to return to Jamaica, we will certainly aim to stay at The Caves.

Thanks to managment and staff at The Caves. Awesome stuff!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zionite86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caves-management, General Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

We thank you for such a fabulous review! It was a pleasure to host you for your honeymoon.

At The Caves we aim to give our guests an "absolute unique experience" - and are well known for our high standard of service and food. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the other unique and what I call "once in a lifetime" experiences - the cave dining is always exquisite and so is the swimming, kayaking and snorkeling off of our rugged and beautiful west end cliffs.

We also are known for the unobtrusive but friendly service and glad you pointed that out!

Looking forward to hosting you again very soon - stay in touch and this goes to all our fantastic guests and reviewers!

One love...one heart,

The management and staff of The Caves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
There are newer reviews for The Caves
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have been accumulating Aveda points for over 5 years to take this trip and it was well worth it! It is a small, very quaint resort. The people, the food, the scenery were all amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherine_ianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caves-management, General Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear tg81,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We of course continue to encourage and host our Aveda guests and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our unique property so much!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon again...

One Love,

The Management and staff of The Caves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My girlfriend arranged a caves dinner for my 30st birthday in The Caves hotel. This is probably one of the most romantic dinner spots ever - well, at least in Jamaica! The table is located in a small cave almost on sea level and it is full of candles. The atmosphere with the sound of the sea is amazing! The food is ok at best but for Jamaican standards also rather good - the prize is rather high for the Reggae island. Nevertheless, if you plan any special occasion while staying on the island, caves dinner in The Caves is highly recommended but only if it is for two - more people don't fit the stone table! One remark for gentlemen: bring an extra shirt because it is super humid down in the cave. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at The Caves for three nights after six nights at the Iberostar with a group of nearly 50. My husband and I moved to The Caves for a few days of quiet relaxation, and couldn't have been happier. Though we had some transport issues, we didn't book that through the hotel and it was no fault of theirs.

We arrived hot and hungry, and they promptly gave us a cold towel, a drink and led us to lunch. We then got our room (Macka Tree), which was just gorgeous and spacious. We only used the AC at night (and definitely used the mosquito net, if for no other reason than it made me feel like a princess).

The food is fantastic, and you should never feel bad asking for more/seconds or a combination! Paul, the lifeguard/activities guy, is awesome, as is the rest of the staff. Paul's available to do activities with the guests every day, though we only did a couple of cliff jumps and that was it.

The property is well-maintained, and we found ourselfs on a different ledge/cliff each day to sunbathe, which was really fun. It's definitely a quiet, secluded vibe (we were in bed by 10pm each night!) but that's absolutely what we wanted after six crazy nights at a mega-resort.

I don't like to repeat trips, but if I did - I would come back to The Caves.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

What an experience...from the beauty all around, sunny days and faces, the gorgeous water and snorkeling with Paul :) Truly a slice of heaven. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to experience a trip of a lifetime. Mother and daughter trip with wonderful memories to last a lifetime!! Thank you Aveda Pure Privilege Program!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in One Drop which did have an air conditioning unit, if you want to use it. Has an outdoor sh...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnnDR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

For a first trip in Jamaica we chose The Caves and Goldeneye for a 2 center stay, staying 3 nights at the Caves.
Firstly- I would recommend booking direct with Island Outpost. This reservation team was excellent, well-informed, amenable, and when some of the details on arrival were slightly different to what we agreed - there was no dispute and they got all this sorted immediately.
For the price, we were a little startled at first- there is definitely a shabby chic element to this hotel- if you come looking for immediate hot water on demand or luxurious rooms this would not be for you. But the rooms are pretty, island bohemian and most look over the most glorious crystalline seas.
The positioning of the hotel is unique- with 30ft, 20ft and smaller jumps from the hotel cliffs depending on your courage or how many dirty bananas you drink...
The food was nice- not fabulous, but nice, and there are just 2 choices each evening unless you check with chef in advance. There is no menu for dinner or lunch, just what is prepared. The most special feature of meals was the service- always jolly, engaging staff, and absolute perfect positioning in the rooftop restaurant or on the secluded gazebo/cave tables that can be specially set (Gents pay attention, good brownie point opportunity!!).
A nice touch is the free minibar with sun lotions, and a bottle of rum, vodka and wines.
The resort really grew on us. The staff were a lot of fun and helped contribute to a blowout local bday event. Very fun!

Room Tip: Mackatree was a great room!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have been to Jamaica several times, and always had a wonderful experience. I have stayed in 3 different cities and experienced several different resorts. Given that context, I had high hopes for my experience at The Caves in Negril. I can honestly say, The Caves exceeded my already high expectations! The accommodations were outstanding, the resort was clean and beautiful, the scenery amazing, and the staff was extremely friendly and thoughful. Specifically, Leon Simpson worked with our group. He went above and beyond to ensure that our experience was more than we could hope for. Leon, as well as the other staff members with whom we interacted, were always kind and did everything they could to make sure we were enjoying our vacation. I cannot say enough about this resort, and I will recommend it to everyone I know who is planning a Caribbean vacation. Thanks for everything! I will absolutely come back to this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
242 reviews
36.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,609 reviews
27.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £401 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing