We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Caves
Nearby Hotels
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$670
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$880
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,313
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
637
63
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
63
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscave dinnerblue holehot tubrum barblue dolphinthe cliffour honeymoonsands barbutterfly roomisland outpostmoon shadowother guestsbanana pancakesfoot jumpcouples massageprivate sunsetwaves crashing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is one of - if not the - best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's romantic, but not naff. Exclusive but not intimidating. Luxurious but not ridiculous. We took a memory stick full of pictures of the view because you just cannot believe you are staying somewhere so beautiful. The staff are lovely (Patrick was a major favourite), the snorkelling lessons brilliant, the food so fresh and gorgeous. We hope we get to return one day? Truly amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edd_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My wife and i visited Negril for the first time and were overwhelmed by the setting and the staff. It is a very relaxing experience in a romantic setting.The food is very good and the rooms are bohemian elegant with spectacular views of the ocean. When we were looking for live music on thursday night and none was available--Karen the manager arranged for a private band to come play for the guests. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mtctraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Caves 9 years ago, loved it, and always dreamed of going back. And even with extremely high expectations, we weren't disappointed. Stepping through the little blue door is a bit like stepping into Wonderland. The colors, the decor, the cliffside location, the staff...it is orchestrated perfectly. Everything is small scale, and personal. No crowds at the bar, no hustle and bustle. Usually we steer clear of all-inclusives, which mean quantity over quality, but thats not the case here. Breakfasts are made to order (don't miss their banana pancakes!), and they are extremely accommodating. If you are looking for a place to totally unwind, a place where your biggest decision of the day is what to mix in your rum, this is the place. Its is expensive, but worth every hard-earned penny. We will not wait another 9 years to go back!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong. Each unit is unique. Personally, we love the rooms with outdoor showers.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roxy_Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our second trip to The Caves and it was wonderful. The laid back, casual vibe is what we love... and the food! The food is amazing here because they stick to what they do best, real Jamaican fare, no fancy fusions attempts or ridiculous concoctions. Curry goat, jerk chicken, roast lamb, incredible snapper! The breakfast is fantastic, made to order, whatever you want. This is not a resort. The pool is tiny, the rooms are funky, but very comfortable with good linens and pillows and comfy beds. Romantic, with candles, a fridge stocked with goodies... no TVs... that's a good thing! It's about the views, the sounds of the waves crashing, the free-flowing Blackwells Rum, the food, the spa, the privacy and the cool caves. The staff is very friendly and will always make you smile. My favorite thing about this place is you are never, ever asked to sign a bill or presented with anything that even reminds you that it costs a thing, its relaxing not to have dollar signs ticking before your eyes while trying to relax on an indulgent vacation! You can help yourself at the bar if nobody is there, you can raid the minibar every single day. There are freshly baked brownies and cakes set out in the afternoons. It is like going to visit your eccentric uncle who retired to Jamaica and told his staff to indulge you. The only thing you will see on your bill at the end is for the fabulous time you spent in the tiny spa listening to the waves crashing against the cliffs as you are pampered. Yeah, we love this place!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluehiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I decided we needed a short break -- escaping February weather, work and kids for a long weekend of simple relaxation. The Caves looked like just the place and was a non-stop flight away. Turned out to perfectly fit the bill.

We tend to stay at small hotels with local character and neither of us had ever done an all-inclusive. Well, the Caves oozes charm and has plenty of character. Those little cliffside bungalows are just as wonderful in person and, when you venture out of your cottage, you'll find a dozen different little nooks and crannies in which you can curl up on a sun lounger, sip your drink and forget all cares. Moreover, going all-inclusive meant we had nothing to plan or worry about while there. Staying on-site for all meals also allowed the guests to get to know the staff. Generally I would feel pretty indifferent about that, however the staff at the Caves are truly exceptional in their seemingly genuine friendliness.

I was seeking structure-less days to laze around, but thought my husband might get a bit stir crazy. Turns out we both did just fine. During our stay we did snorkeling with Paul, which was fun but there's definitely more to see in waters elsewhere in the Caribbean. My husband also enjoyed doing an extended kayaking trip with Paul. And we both took advantage of the on-site spa to get excellent massages.

Below are few things I was concerned might be issues before the trip. I tend to over-think things just a bit.....:

Bugs: I am a mosquito magnet and thought I might get mobbed by them while there. Wasn't an issue at all during our late February stay.

Food: I'm pretty picky about restaurants and the food here ranged from good to very good. Soups and daily banana pancakes were the highlight, desserts were consistently disappointing. Overall, though food was just fine.

No A/C: We stayed in a room with no A/C and never missed it. Of course, might be more of an issue during warmer months.

Charter flight from Montego Bay: Since we were only staying 3 nights, I booked the short charter flight to Negril to get us to the resort ASAP. Wasn't worth it. We ended up sitting around Montego Bay airport for over an hour before taking off. And the little plane was ancient. Next time I'd just have the Caves arrange a car/driver both ways.

One suggestion for the hotel: Get better mattresses and pillows! Both were rock hard and took their toll after 3 nights.

Hope that info helps. Truly, the place is just amazing. We plan to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Moon Shadow -- a whole house for the price of an upstairs room. Just know that it is at the end of the resort that is closest to Rick's Bar, so you get some pretty loud (and often pretty cheesy) music and deejaying in the afternoons and evening.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ash5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Ash5704,

Thank you for your wonderful review and great feedback. We truly appreciate it as we are always trying to improve our offerings and it is through these invaluable comments from our guests that we are able to do so. We are pleased that the "charm and character" of The Caves was exactly what you were looking for and that we exceeded your expectation.

To note since you were here last February, AC units have been installed in our three remaining cottages that did not have so the summer months will be more comfortable for all guests. We have also added WIFI to the rooms as well. Our desserts have been revamped and we are stilling working to expand our repertoire. We have included desserts such as oatmeal fried bananas, apple-cranberry crumble and spicy chocolate molten cake to name a few. These are all mouth-watering and definitely worth a try on your next visit. Thanks for the tip regarding the mattress in your room; we are looking into that currently.

Our aim is for all guests to feel at home and like they are staying with friends as oppose to being at a resort and that you left feeling this way means that we have truly done our jobs. We look forward to welcoming you home again.

The Caves Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews