We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Has Already Been Said... But a Few More Details!”
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Caves
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I apologize in advance for the length of this review but our stay was above and beyond great and I want to address some complaints and offer some tips for those of you who decide to stay here.

The Great:
If you are the type that needs lavish accommodations and Ikea/trendy looking furniture, this is not the place for you. If you are looking to relax and be catered to... This is the perfect (and I do mean perfect) place to stay. You will be extremely relaxed and honestly won't want to leave the hotel to explore. You will feel like you should, but trust me, it is worth just staying there and relaxing.

The food is excellent and if you see something on the menu that you know you will not want just tell the office a day before or a few hours before that meal and they will make an adjustment. VERY simple! Do not skip the soup because all of the soups are very tasty and almost everything here is homemade (including salad dressing!). The meal options are very healthy and you will be full but not with grease or a ton of calories.

Margaret in housekeeping is great! The rooms are technically indoors but feel very open to the elements but Margaret kept our room as clean as possible. Please bring bug spray if you are staying here because the mosquitoes are everywhere (which isn't the hotel's fault). It may put a damper on a honeymoon if you have bug bites all over :-)

A Few Tips:
Every bartender has a signature drink, so while the Cliffhangers (watermelon juice and spiced rum) and Dirty Bananas (think a banana frap with liquor) are very popular, each server has their own and they are all VERY tasty! We loved Randall's "Ivory Nectar", Bryan's "Country Boy", and Zoom's "Zoom Zoom" the most. Orain's special is also very tasty (and strong).

They serve Jerk chicken on Wednesdays and Saturdays right before meal time. However, I would avoid paying for it and just request it for dinner so it can be part of your all inclusive. It is extremely good so I paid for it both times but if you are on a tighter budget you can make the request.

If you need to go to the beach (because you are close to one of the prettiest beaches in the world) then DEFINITELY go to Idle Awhile. Margaritaville sounds like a great time but it is usually crowded, while Idle Awhile has great service, tasty drinks, and is in the middle of 7 mile beach. That is the only excursion that is worth it to me.

If you want to truly experience the water, go snorkeling with Paul! He is truly great. I can't swim and he swam and let me float by holding on to his hand! That's above and beyond! Other places that I would not be able to.

A Few Suggestions for Management:
It would be great if there could be a dedicated pool bathroom. I mention that because the bathroom near the pool can get quite damp with pool guests using it and if you are dry and dining at lunch it can be a little annoying.

Tipping vs. No tipping is a little confusing. We tipped as we went along but came across a past guest who said that in the past it wasn't allowed. Would it be possible to clarify at check in? Just so no one feels uncomfortable because they aren't.

Once again, this resort is very worth the price, we will definitely be back to our "home away from home"!

Room Tip: Stardust is the perfect choice for couples on a honeymoon or who want the extremest of privacy. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank BrittanyHBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Brittany,

Thank you for your very thorough review and welcome tips for our future guests. You have covered a lot of areas including some of the most frequently asked questions. We are happy you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and have found your “home away from home”.

We appreciate your suggestions and they are easily remedied. You will see how we have on your next visit. We also wanted to clarify the issue with tipping. Service charge is already included for the full room rate that is paid, anything outside of that is up to generosity and discretion of our guests and we have never restricted our guests from tipping a team member that they think is deserving of it.

We have notice an upsurge in mosquitoes in the past few weeks and we are presently working on ways to address that and have seen some improvement already.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home.

One Love,
The Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went to The Caves in January as a group of 3 for a company retreat (small business). It was Paradise. I can't stop thinking about this place as it was so magical. I cannot wait to return with my husband. And this is from a person that very rarely goes to the same place twice, as I'd prefer to explore new ones. But the Caves is my one exception and it's well worth the $.
Also, if you're worried about going as a single, or group of friends, like I was, don't be. It's a very romantic place but it can be just as great for friends or just a place for R&R.
Not only is the setting of the hotel great and the grounds amazing, but the staff was amazing and really made our stay the best.
Try the Mr. Smooth :)
Do all the jumps
And definitely secure some time with Paul - for a swan dive or to take you on an adventure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank realideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Realideal,

Thank you for this review. We do get a few persons for company retreats who find that a stay at The Caves does a lot to rejuvenate the creative juices. Your feedback will reassure others that you will have an enjoyable time here whether you are a couple, family, “single or a group of friends”. The layout of our property is such that different persons can have different experiences at the same time.

We are glad you are making the exception to return us, to somewhere you have already been and it is appreciated as we know that there are many options and we look forward to having you back here with your husband.

One Love,
The Caves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We anticipated the resort to be small and intimate but when we got there, it felt even more so than we had expected. Everyone on staff at the resort is super friendly and helpful, as if their sole mission is to make sure you are enjoying yourselves. The view is simply breathtaking and it's something you don't get from other areas of Jamaica. Paul who is the lifeguard on staff would escort you to the water activities offered on the resort property to ensure your safety. He would also entertain guests by doing the "suicide jump" off of a high ledge into the water. You have to do cliff-jumping either at the resort (with Paul's supervision of course!) or at Rick's Cafe, which is right down the road. The food at the resort is fantastic and unlike that of the massive resorts, as it feels and tastes a lot more like hearty, authentic, homemade meals. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Annie W,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Our aim at The Caves is exactly what you described to make sure that each person is having the best vacation possible and we do whatever can to ensure that. Thanks for your many recommendations, we are sure it will be well received by our future guests.

We looking forward to having you back.

One Love,
The Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I can not say enough amazing things about this resort. My husband and i went out on honeymoon to Negril, and spent half of our time on the beach side, and half on the cliff side. Both places were great, but The Caves is honestly unlike anything you will find anywhere else! I was in a complete depression after we left because I missed our friends (the staff), the beautiful views, the amazing food, and the most delicious pina colada's ever!

Staff - Paul, Brian, Zoom, Javier, Glenn, Orane, Randall, Randy, Felicia - they are all amazing! Paul knows so much about the waters, and I would highly recommend going on a guided snorkel trip with him. He also gives you great tips when jumping off the cliffs to make you comfortable. Brian and Felicia were my favorite smiling faces in the morning. And Brian makes a seriously amazing pina colada! Zoom was our server for dinner a few nights, and we just loved him. Orane, Randy, Glenn and Javier were also amazing, and always made the best cocktails! They each have their own favorite so ask them to make whatever they like, you won't regret it!

Food - Some of the best food I've ever eaten. I was nervous it would be restrictive with only 2 entrees to choose from, but it wasn't at all. The food was so flavorful! The best tip I can give is to get both of the entrees, you get a large portion of both so you don't have to decide :) Their soups are also amazing, not sure how they do it, but every soup was SO good. Breakfast you could have whatever you wanted, and as everyone raves about in the other reviews, the fresh fruit plate, the banana pancakes, and the delicious Blue Mountain coffee are amazing.

Room - We were in Two Birds. This room didn't have an ocean view, but it didn't matter to us at all, we hardly spent any time in it! It was a very private, secluded hut, with an outdoor shower that was so awesome. I will say that I kept repeating to my husband that this felt like 'glamping' because the A/C wasn't very strong and there were bugs in our room, but it was hardly roughing it.

Activities - We did a guided snorkel trip with Paul, couples massage, a private dinner in the cave with Zoom as our waiter, and a private hot tub. As mentioned above, snorkeling was amazing. Next time we will do the kayaks! The couples massage was amazing, we loved it. The ladies were so great, and laying there listening to the ocean was very calming. Just a warning, if you say your like your massages hard, they are going to give it to you hard! The private dinner in the cave was so romantic and special. This was included in our package when we booked so it wasn't extra, but the $150 is worth it if it's not in your package! Also included in our package was the private hot tub. This we could have done without. The tub is huge, and it's not pre-filled, so it takes FOREVER to fill. It was kind of a mood killer standing there for 30 minutes waiting for it to fill. I would have preferred to be hanging out at the rum bar.

I can not wait to return to The Caves next year, and this time we are bringing some friends so they can see what we have been raving about! Thank you to The Caves staff for making our vacation so amazing. We miss you all and can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Marissa,

Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review. Your mention of so many of our team members is greatly appreciated and was well received by each of them. Always we try to ensure that our offerings are authentic and unpretentious and we hope that transcends to even the food that we serve. We try to make it fresh, delicious and healthy so you can indulge without feeling guilty. We are happy you loved it all.

The Hot Tub is reserved at The Front Office and so it is usually preset for our guests and decorated with candles and flowers and comes with amenities of fruit and cheese platter and a wine of your choosing so that all is required is for you to show up and get in it. We are unsure what happened with your booking, we are looking into it but we will have to make it up to you when you return so you can get the true experience.

We looking forward to hosting you and your friends next year and we would like add that you have made great friends here as our team cannot wait to see you again!

One Love,
The Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we've been to The Caves three times and every time it gets better and better. it is absolutely the most laid back, mellow vibe we've ever encountered this side of Fiji. Sure the staff is out of this world and will do anything to make your stay unforgettable. Sure there's a bar built into a cave where you drink free (its all inclusive) champagne while the sea rolls under your feet, literally. and of course there's a hot tub cut into the rocks with a window that lets you gaze out at the stars and ocean (you reserve this so it couldn't be more private). but the best thing, besides it being adults only, is the fact that you can plunge from a number of cliff jumps right into the Caribbean Ocean! that is your swimming pool. you throw a float in the ocean and lay on it until you wake up!. its pure heaven

Room Tip: theres only 12 or so bungalows. you can't go wrong. Three Little Birds is in the "Garden&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinWilburys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Honeymooned here a few years ago and had the oppurtunity to meet Chris Blackwell. This place is great to just wind down. For those who don't want TV, busy beaches and all that comes with those giant resorts, this is the place. Dinner in the cave was great, sunset was stunning. You need to try this place once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from 5 days, 4 nights at The Caves. I want to go back- NOW! We loved it all. First of all, the place itself is so beautiful and peaceful. Very intimate. The staff is the icing on the cake. Roxanne greeted us upon arrival ad was very helpful throughout our stay. Paul is such a great guy. His adventures are a must when you go. Bryan & Randall were always great at breakfast & lunch. Orane took care of us at dinner. The meals were always tasty and healthy. Can't forget Owen the grounds keeper!

We were very lucky that our pkg included a cave dinner, sunset hot tub, and coffee scrub. We were also lucky enough to stay in Butterfly. We added a massage to the scrub and it was well worth it! Thanks to Elizabeth & Enid in the spa! The cave dinning was a little warm but something I'm glad we did. We actually had dinner in Blackwell's Rum Bar due to rough seas.

We snorkeled most days and jumped off every cliff multiple times. We kayaked past Rock House and got a great workout with Paul (Red Stripes included). On the way back several dolphin played all around us.

I obviously can't say enough about this magical place and I can't wait to go back and do it all again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Hangovergirl67,

Thanks for your great review. We appreciate your sentiments about the staff and are happy to know that everyone took such great care of you. We are glad you got a chance to experience the cave dining, hot tub and watersports activities with Paul and that the dolphins were out to play!

We look forward to welcoming you to our repeat guests’ fraternity.

One Love,

The Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,038 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £398 - £731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing