We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary ─ offers a truly life-altering experience”
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Caves
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We could not have chosen a more wonderfully romantic resort to spend our honeymoon. The Caves experience is one you will never forget. It is an exclusive All Inclusive. Someone should think about changing the rating system because The Caves is in a class of its own.

There is nothing typical about this resort and if you read all the reviews, most will confirm it. As for the few negative reviews I have read, they appear to be written by people who did no research whatsoever — The Caves delivered everything we were expecting after reading the reviews, plus much more than we could have imagined.

No matter how much we talk about the staff, the fantastic food, about hearing the sound of the waves crashing in the blue hole next to our room, that you can be as secluded as you choose or socialize in the awesomely unique cigar and rum bar, about our unforgettable cave-dining and private hot-tub experiences and about all the beautiful views, there is truly no way to adequately describe any of our experiences.
Of note: Keep in mind that there is no beach access directly from the caves, so if you want to be able to walk on the beach, the office staff can arrange for you to spend a day at the nearby 7-mile beach, as well as any other excursions in which you might be interested. Also, as badone2’s review indicates, if you want it, ASK, the staff members will do whatever they can to accommodate – they are all completely genuine, with never-ending smiles. My wife and I brought their “No Worries” attitude home with us and it’s been a much-needed change in our busy lives.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fcurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2009

There is heaven on earth... it is in Negril at the beautiful Caves resort! Every single moment of the trip, once we entered their property, was fantastic! The staff knows how to support your every need while you're there without being in the way at all. The food was good, the location was perfect. Our room was better than expected and the overall experience was truly the best in my life so far! Be sure to get a massage--you will not believe how amazing it is on that property!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilleybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We just returned from a five day stay at The Caves, and it was a wonderful vacation.

The place is beautifully set into the cliffs above a series of caves with cottages along the top and seating areas for sunning and going into the water set into the cliffs. (Warning, if you don’t like heights or steep stairs, this is not the place for you.) Each private little area has two chairs for laying out and sunning and if you want an umbrella they will set one up for you.

Swimming in the sea and lounging above it is what there is to do here and we loved it. Ask Paul for some snorkeling tips, there are many fish to see here right in the Caves’s own area right off the cliffs. It is fun to snorkel into the inside of the caves as well.

The food is very good. Each breakfast starts with coffee, freshly squeezed juice, and fresh fruits. You can then order pretty much anything you want. I highly recommend the banana pancakes and the hash browns. Lunch usually starts with a salad and then you have your choice of lunches – usually between a seafood entrée and a pasta one. Dinner is under the stars on a deck above the crashing waves. They have appetizer, salad, soup, entrée and desert. You can have as many or as few of these items as you want. The entrée choice at dinner is usually between seafood and some kind of meat -- if they both sound good to you you can get both -- order a "combo." The lobster was amazing. Speaking of dinner, make sure you book a cave dinner when you get there – it was amazing. We arrived for ours and couldn’t believe how beautiful it was with all of the candles and flowers everywhere – the pics don’t do it justice at all.

The only reason I am giving this place 4 stars instead of 5 is because it felt at times that the guests were on top of one another a bit – meaning that you have to get up pretty early to get a good sunning spot on the cliffs and “claim” it with towels and your own stuff, and whenever I wanted one of the hammocks someone was in it. But this is really minor, especially compared to how on top of one another people are at those mega resorts. Oh, and one other thing. They couldn't send a fax for me, the fax wasn't working and so they expected me to go into Negril to an internet cafe to send my fax. This was very disappointing.

Others have said it and it bears repeating, the best thing about this place is the staff. They will do anything they can for you – just ask, mon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Just returned from five incredible days at The Caves. Everything we could have wished for. The staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating, you feel like you have your own little "family" at The Caves. We spent days lounging on cliffs, floating in the sea, snorkeling, napping...all just wonderful. We had a great visit with Edmond during the manager's cocktail party...he's the best. Our cave dinner was exquisite, pictures don't do it justice. Beautiful!! Alex (she) was our server during most dinners, I've never seen a harder working server...thank you Alex! Brian, you made breakfast and lunch a treat...your smile lights up the soul. Glenn, you mix a fantastic rum runner! Talk to Paul before you snorkel, he's got great tips and is a gem! We can't wait to come back to The Caves, as Elvis said when we left "I'll keep the key for you until you get back." Thanks to everyone for making this such a delightful trip. One Love!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caserbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

The Caves is an incredible resort and I can only say that it was one of the best trips of my life. If you like great food with incredible service this is your place. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Amazing does not even start to describe The Caves. We were met with welcome drinks(Thanks Orane) After traveling all day, we just want to set and have a drink. So we made our way to The Sands, where we meet the BEST bartender in the world, IMRON who can fix any and everything you want or need. The morning we spent sitting with the most beautiful view and being waited on by Brian, who would have anything we wanted fixed for breakfast. Our room was the Bird’s Nest with an incredible view and was stocked with everything you might need. The private hot tub at sunset was unbelievable Overall The Caves has the most beautiful view, amazing food, and the best service ever, ever(LOL) I had and the safety that I felt while staying at The Caves was beyond words, I was traveling with my friend, and as two young ladies traveling alone safety is very important, we never locked our door not even at night or when we left the resort.
Thanks to all staff at The Caves for a Wonderful Trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

There is not enough praise that I could give for the Caves... and I'm at times hard to please. It was absolutely fantastic... all around.
Hidden little nooks everywhere, tons of privacy, friendly staff beyond belief and an amazing on-site chef. The food was tremendous, and delightfully prepared with plenty of vegetables and fresh seafood.
Our sunsets bath (book ahead) and private dinners in the caves underneath the property themselves will always be remembered.
We stayed in Butterfly and it was IMHO one of the best rooms on the property. Don't expect typical luxuries... the quality of this place is in its charm, as the rooms are rustic, to be sure. However, lovely robes, cool tunes, and full sized AVEDA products, never mind the AMAZING views, will make you smile the whole while you're there.
Rooms come stocked with full sized bottles of spirits, wine, and plenty of red stripe. I wanted Red Bull with my liquor and they had no problem bringing it in for no extra charge... the staff will help you with any of your needs.
It was akin to being in a little fairytale world...Alice in Wonderland comes to mind. We had a great water instructor that took us for private kayak trips and snorkels... and there's also yoga on premises.
The hotel is very small, so, if you're inclined, you can get to know your fellow hotel mates. We shared many an afternoon beer and smoke with ours...
Undoubtedly, this was one of the best, most relaxing, charming hole-in-the-walls we've ever stayed and I would come back, again and again and again... don't expect your typical 5-star joint, or you will be disappointed. Do expect a heavenly experience that's uniquely Jamaican.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank agsinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,046 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £355 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing