We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful little private hotel....shhhh don't tell anyone”
Review of Mirage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mirage Resort
Ranked #13 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful little private hotel....shhhh don't tell anyone”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This place is one of our favorite hotels to stay at now! We love the privacy the porprty offers and the vibe throughout this boutique hotel. Each room has a million dollar view. We had one of the top floor rooms and loved the view. It had very nice new bathrooms which can be hard to find in jamaica sometimes. The room is very roomy with a lil bamboo loveseat, and dresser/tv stand) and a small fridge & coffee maker. Nadine will make you some wonderful banana bread that is usually available in the mornings poolside. The complimentary reakfast includes sometype of fruit, coffe, juice, and bread with jelly, which is perfect to get you going in the morning. The breakfast is more of a serve yourself style breakfast, Nadine will show you where everything is (like creamer, sugar, butter etc) and each morning you help yourself at your own pace. The plce is like your own private hotel you MIGHT have another couple or two there while staying there. The infinity pool is nice and clean, and a wonderful view. Directly next door is the negril escape (cute but needs a little TLC) when they have their concerts on Tuesdays you can hear them perfectly from the swiming pool of the mirage. Right across the street is the Jam Can bar, we didn't see many people there! To the left about a 4 minute walk is a little grocery store. This place is truly great, it's not the place to stay if you are looking for a party nightlife, but is a wonderful place to stay but don't tell everyone!
We walked a lot so the mirage was a great little location, we walked to seastar, ricks cafe, murphys, the lighthouse, ltu pub, and down to xtabi, jennys, and even all the way to red top.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong with the 3rd floor, though all the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnilrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Once a year I come to Jamaica on business, but when that business is done, my wife flies in and I pick her up at the airport for a few days away from the kids. This year, I was pleased to bring her to Le Mirage---on her very 1st visit to the island a few years ago, she saw this property was for sale and (like so many of us on our initial trip) dreamed of moving to JA and said 'wouldn't it be wonderful to own this and live here?'. I wished to surprise her with the rennovations and re-birth of this fine boutique hotel that is sea-side on Negril's West End. We absolutely loved our stay.

The room with a balcony was beautifully done, tastefully decorated, with refrigerator and a lovely walk-in shower & bathroom. Go to the balcony for a panoramic view overlooking the sea----yes, perfect for the sunset hour. You will also find a sweet NON OLYMPIC size swimming pool so arranged and situated it achieves that pretty illusion of melding into the blue sea waters that lie beyond it. A perfect place to take the continental breakfast in the morn. My wife sighed with satisfaction when I showed her the spotless setting and lanscaping.

Security is a given---No Worries, in this regard. The young woman managing the hotel is pleasently efficient and lives on the property, and you will find her able to assist in those details that may come up during your stay. A security guard is on hand for the evening hours, ready to open the gates if you have use of a car.

Le Mirage is nicely situated for the nearby bars and restaurants that are a short, easy walk , so much so you should welcome the absence of them on the property---after all, when you enter the gates to the shaded couryard/parking area of this place, all that is left for you to do is relax.

We loved it, we shall return, and in my 3 decades of visiting every parish and town in Jamaica, this was as sweet a spot I've stayed---and to tell the truth, I normally pass on Negril for a lower-profile destination. But Le Mirage will be too good to pass up on future trips. You could easily spend several times the cost of a night here and not achieve what I have just described---I highly recommend this to adult couples who know what they want, wish to avoid high-traffic resort settings, and enjoy comfortable privacy.

Lovely. the real deal. 5 stars in my book, y'know??

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, they all have stunning .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Foreign-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

I stayed on the top floor that someone told me later had been added on in recent months.
The room is clean and roomy, with a fridge, desk and a great balcony overlooking the ocean and pool. The bed was new and comfortable. There was free and fast wifi internet included.

Nadine and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. All the rooms overlook the ocean. There was a nice continental breakfast included, with juice, banana bread, toast, coffee, tea, jam.

I literally had the place to myself for a couple of days, payed $120 + tax. There are plenty of small restaurants, bars within walking distance. I don't think they call it cottages anymore, as there are not any "cottages."

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington VT
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Mirage. We're freuent Negril visitors and had toured it several times over the past 4-5 years, so it was high on our list of places to try. It exceeded my expectations. Large, clean, well-appointed rooms. Not fancy, but very comfortable, bright and all the basic amenities. AC worked well, and it was a nice plus having a fridg in each room. Good hot water too - esp. on the south side of the property (near the solar heater).

Each 1st floor room opens onto the pool area and 2-3rd floor rooms have roomy balconies w/ table and chairs. The views from the rooms are excellent and there's room for 2-4 people on the balconies.

The staff was superb. Nadine the mgr, Bobby the groundskeeper and Mr. Newman the security guard were all wonderful - helpful, easygoing & professional. There whenever you needed anything and otherwise unobtrusive. The self-serve coffee/juice/toast in the morning was a nice touch - good for a light breakfast.

The new pool is excellent. Great for cooling off in the afternoon and very picturesque. It might get a little busy if the hotel was full, but our off-season time was great. My only suggestion for imporvement is the grounds on the sea-side could use some more potted plants, lights, and a bit more landscaping to dress it up and make it more scenic (ie: Catcha).

Overall, a big thumbs-up. Great rooms, amenities, super staff, good location and good price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisR_in_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at the newly renovated Mirage, located on the cliffs of Negril. We were in a 3rd floor--brand new room ( rm 12)with a King size bed, and gorgeous view from the spacious balcony! The rooms are huge, have a small fridge, A/C ( ours was leaking water from the condensor!), and a nice size bath with shower only!

Plus's:
-Location--on the cliffs, next to Tensing Pen--you can walk to almost everything on the cliff side!
-Great big rooms, plenty of room to spread out--and a pretty big balcony
-awesome new pool
-nice patio on the cliffs
-good service from Nadine, the office Manager, and Marcia the housekeeper
-security guard posted at night
-very clean--no bugs!

minuses:
-Not quite finished, kitchen was not in so our "breakfast" which was supposed to be included was not. Nadine said the kitchen should be in by the end of the month--but ask before you go!
-no hangers in the closet! Take your own, as this is the only place to store clothing in the room--other than the 3 small drawers of the desk!
-not big on amenities. There were only 2 towels in the room, no face cloths or hand towels at all--and none to be had. Make sure to bring all of your own toiletries, blowdryer ( i did leave one behind...). And this is small....but there was no toilet paper holder, the roll just sat on the back of the toilet!
--the beds were really, really hard! I mentioned this to Marcia, she said it was because they were new. They may have been new, but they were not comfy--and the pillows were a bit lumpy.
-there were supposed to be tv's in the room--we got one the day before we left, but it didn't work.
-there were supposed to be coffee makers in the room--we had a kettle, but no coffee maker
-there are no phones on the room
-there are no dressers in the room
-the ladders going into the ocean where broken, which meant that we couldn't go snorkeling from our hotel.


There are now 15 rooms at this hotel, not all of which are finished. there was only one other guest checked in, and he was right below us! This meant we pretty much had the place to ourselves, which was nice and private!

We spent several conversations talking about what we would do to improve upon this hotel. I think they definately need a bar, and to finish the restaurant. It would be nice if there was more landscaping, and if the ladders were replaced. Since there was no food/drink/access to the ocean we spent more time over at Tensing Pen.

The list price on the website says $160 for a double, but the "rate" button still lists $120 for a double. They honored the $120 rate, which I am glad, since so much was still missing! But over all I think this will be a nice place to stay once it is a bit more finished!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born-in-Detroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I stayed at the Mirage Resort Guesthouse from July 5-9, 2008. This was my third stay at the Mirage and I would stay again. The price for the room is a good value. Some may not like the Mirage for the property is old and could use some updating/repairs and it is not on the beach or near restaurants and bars.

The Mirage is small seaside property located between Negril Escape and Tensing Pen. The rooms are large with king or queen beds, AC, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and TV (about 7 channels). There is no beach, pool, bar or restaurant. There is sea access, nice jumping, swimming, a quiet scenic place to sun, lounge, or to fish. The Wise Choice market is close by and it has a good choice of drinks, snacks, and supplies. Most places to eat are about a ten minute walk away or a short route taxi ride. For breakfast try Sips and Bites or LTU Pub. For dinner take her to the LTU Pub if she's mad, De Bar and Grill or 3 dives for Jerk Chicken, or the Sea Star Inn. The Sea Star Inn has a $12 buffet on Saturday night that includes live entertainment and they pick you up.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank LyingOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 June 2006

Robert, Canada
I am a frequent traveller to negril and this in my opinion is the best value resort on the cliffs.
Great rooms, nice patio and sunning areas , easy access to the water for snorkeling and clothing optional sunbathing. Pat is the General Manager and lives on the premises and truly cares about her guests and the success of the Mirage. She goes out of her way to ensure you enjoy your stay. Any concerns were immediately adressed and she arranged trips for me to Bloody Bay and into town at fair and reasonable prices by the driver Vincent. Rosemarie, is the housekeeper and is pleasant , courteous and conscientious.
This is a small resort within walking distance to several resteraunts. It is ideal for anyone wanting a relaxed quiet vacation with a really nice room at a very reasonable rate. I paid about 50 USD per night in mid April and will be back in November.
Thanks Pat , Rosemarie, and Vincent

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#33 of 81 in Negril
1,342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#17 of 81 in Negril
2,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Resort

Property: Mirage Resort
Address: Lighthouse Road | West End, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Le Mirage)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mirage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mirage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing