We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negril stay”
Review of Mirage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mirage Resort
Ranked #13 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Negril stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at Le Mirage in January 2013 for a weekend in Negril as I wanted a convenient location which was not to far away from the famous Rick's Cafe. I also wanted a hotel where I could get away from the noise and activity of Negril's beach side and nightlife. I was pleasantly surprised by the location as it was a 3 minute walk from Rick's cafe. The room and bathroom was clean, well kept and had a large balcony overlooking the pool and beautiful blue sea. It also had a large fridge which was perfect!

Our location was convenient enough for me to shop, go into the centre and to experience the nightlife by the beachside. There were many local restaurants to choose from along the road so we did not have to travel too far.

Le Mirage is worth staying at for the weekend or even a week!

Room Tip: Any room is ideal but the 2nd floor has a security safe. The ground floor rooms lead out to the swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmcmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel was overpriced considering what they offered. The rooms were clean and air conditioned, with a comfortable bed. However, we experienced many issues:
- Continental breakfast was disappointing: Toast and a few pieces of tasteless fruit
- No minibar or any kind of food or snacks on sale
- No coffee cups provided in room
- No hot water - had lukewarm water one night out of five nights stay, cold water all other nights
- No room service

Will not stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Marketing Agency at Mirage Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Charl,

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I'm also sorry for getting back to you so late.

We want all of our guests to have a great time with us, and we clearly failed to meet your expectations.

We've improved our continental breakfast and hope that future guests will be happy with it. We've also started serving drinks such as rum punches, beer, and soft drinks on the property.

We're sorry there were no coffee cups in your room. This was a mistake and it does not normally happen. We also regret the problems you had with a lack of hot water.

Please get in touch. We hope you'll give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Mirage. We have been to Negril more than 30 times over the past 13 years and have stayed at many places on the cliffs and beach. For the past few trips, Mirage has been our 'go to' place to stay for a variety of reasons. Our previous favorite was SeaGrape, but the cost became a bit high ...though the privacy you get at SeaGrape is unsurpassed anywhere that we've found on the cliffs. But back to Mirage and why we like it so much...

1. It is not very busy when we visit (November) and we often have it to ourselves or with friends...that is fabulous.

2. It is c/o at the pool, which we love.

3. The cost is incredible!

4. A nice continental breakfast is included in the cost with GREAT coffee!

5. The rooms are clean and have all we need (mini fridge is a huge plus), though we would like a little microwave to reheat leftovers. : ) All rooms are seaview and poolview and have either balcony or walk out to pool.

6. The pool is lovely and there is shade and sun available.

7. Great location on the cliffs.

8. Last, but certainly not least, the staff is wonderful.

The landscaping continues to need work, especially after the last storm....it is not the lush greenness of so many places and never will be. It is more of the concrete kind...but that is fine for us. As with most places, it is NOT for everyone, but it definitely works for us. We will not hesitate to return and to use One Stop Vacations to book....they also rock!

Room Tip: The upstairs corner rooms are the largest and have great views and wrap around decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Le Mirage for 4 days and nights in February 2012. This is a very nice, very small hotel, only 12 rooms and there were only 2-3 other couples there from what I could tell. I loved the location, it is about a 5-10 minute walk to Rick's Cafe, and a 10-15 minute walk to The Rockhouse/Pushcart. The rooms are nice and large, and all views are incredible. Since there is no one there, you pretty much have the run of the property, including some nice diving platforms with a functioning ladder. We saw dolphins swim by on most days, which was awesome. We also enjoyed meeting and socializing with the locals, another positive about the location of this hotel. For the price, this place is great.

FOOD. The hotel offers a small breakfast that consisted of pineapple, white bread/jam/butter, coffee, juice and either banana bread or a croissant. There is a coffee pot in the room, but no coffee. If I could do it over again I would plan out our meals better, and buy coffee at the local shop on Day 1 so we could have enjoyed it on our balcony. I loved the mini fridge, which came in handy! There is a small store a few minutes to the right of the hotel, and one a few minutes to the left. They have water, beer, pop, and snacks. This was our first trip to Jamaica, and it was very last minute so I wish we had done more planning. Since the Mirage does not offer meals, we struggled to find good places to eat locally. The hotel next door, I believe called Negril Escape, was okay with average food, we ate there only once. The Jam Can bar across the street was a very odd experience with a few guys hanging around asking you to buy them beer, buy their cds, buy their grass, and pay them for singing. They only served one thing, which we ate and it was okay. Rockhouse was GREAT, Rick's Cafe was GREAT and the Charella Inn was GREAT! The Charella Inn is owned by the same people, so the front desk can arrange a taxi for you to spend the day there, which is nice since the cliffs can seem a little isolating after awhile.

SERVICE: We didn't need much, so we didn't ask for much. The housekeeper does not work every day, but someone is always there at the front desk if you need anything.

SAFETY: I have no idea what is considered normal as I have never been to Jamaica. I saw guys climbing the cliffs at night, but as far as I know we were perfectly safe. We usually took cabs at night just to be sure, and there is a security guard outside of the gate to the street.

THE AREA: We had never been to Jamaica before and planned our trip with only 2 days notice, so we didn't do much research. I wish I had read more about exchange rates, cab fares, and restaurants because I am pretty sure after getting home and reading other reviews that we got ripped off daily, lol live and learn!

THE POOL; Is awesome. Seriously.

THE GROUNDS: Are small, very nice and very well kept.

THE ROOMS: Large, clean, have a mini fridge, have a huge balcony with a great view, and everything pretty much looks exactly like the pictures.

Overall, I think this would be a great place to stay for an experienced traveler who loves peace and quiet. If you have never been to Negril, you may be better off at a place with more staff and amenities. There isn't much to do at Mirage, and you are on your own to find entertainment. I didn't think I would notice when we booked the trip, but I did miss having a pool bar/restaurant for those days that you don't feel like leaving and just want to hang around and have a few beers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mischa491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We have just spent Christmas and New Year at the Mirage, which was a late booking and having read the reviews on here we decided to give it a go.

First of all, it is very good. But it has a few flaws but bags of potential...

The main thing to note is that this is a B&B only. Not a hotel, nor a resort/boutique etc. You have your room, your breakfast and the grounds to enjoy and that is all. There are no self catering facilities. Nadine is lovely and will do anything to help and Mr Newman is such a laugh, a great bloke who sits out all night and guards the closed gates at the front. Everyone is very friendly here, in a sincere way.

I'll list up the good things first and pop up some really nice pics of the place too.

* Rooms are big, with standard but functional furniture, a locking safe, little flat screen tv, fridge/freezer, massive beds but very hard mattresses. Bathrooms are fairly roomy too, if you get one of the ground floor corner rooms (poss 1 and 4) then the bathrooms are enormous.
*The view - it's stunning from every room, a little better on the higher floors for obvious reasons but each room is sea view with a balcony. Keep an eye out for dolphins early doors.
*The pool is very good, warmed up ok by mid day but we do have a little gripe about it, see bad points below.
*The grounds are well maintained, good sunbathing spots out the back and safe to jump of the cliff here (from the platform) in to the sea (about 30ft deep with no rocks). Although a few days of rough sea seems to have robbed their ladders.
*Nice friendly breakfast in the small building next to the pool, fresh baked banana bread, soft white bread (again I think this is all home made at the Charella Inn), pineapple, watermelon, OJ, very smooth coffee, Jams etc. It's basic but good. be so much better if they offered some cooked eggs etc.
*Location - is fantastic, with a 5 min walk to Ricks Cafe, LTU pub, Catch a falling star, sexy rexy's (turning right out of the building). Whilst turning left you can head towards the town and walk down to the Rock House/Push cart, or jump in a cab and hop in to town or the Charella. The location is quiet compared to the beach, so mostly peaceful sleeping at the Mirage although there are some local dogs which can sometimes make a little noise. Taxis are always going past and they will charge per person. It's normally 100 JA$ per person with 200 JA$ minimum to town double it for the beach - they often ask you to give what you can and we paid on average around 400 to 500 JA$ per taxi. Jamaicans earn very little so best to be generous where you can.
*The Charella Inn - is owned by the same family and happens to be one of the best hotels on the beach with probably the best spot on the beach. As a Mirage guest you are welcome to use their hotel/beach/bar/restaurant - free beach towels, good food and it really is one of the nicest spots on the beach with coconut palms and very friendly staff. So you have the quiet spot in the cliffs to stay in and the Charella to use as and when. The only thing you need is your taxi...........I should be giving this place 5 stars but there were a few little issues, although nothing major.

Bad points:

*There is nothing available during the day, a cold fridge stocked with drinks and a few snacks by the pool would make them more money and be a great addition. However as it is, if you stay around the pool during the day it's a pain having to go up to your room to get a cold one every time.
* Hot water was hit and miss in the higher rooms, had to run the hot tap and keep it going with the shower on - somedays it was fine some not so but you don't exactly need piping hot water in jamaica so it wasn't a major problem.
*We didn't' have a kettle in our room (other did) - nor any coat hangers (i don't think any of them have).
*Rough sea during the last few days meant the cliffs were out of bounds. Leaves had blown in to the pool so they had turned the pumps off. It was like this for our last 3 days. A bit poor considering it's the main feature and it was getting quite scummy on the top and certainly not safe to use. Shame they couldn't get the groundsman to rake/net the leaves out and keep the pool going. They do need to address that as it's such a feature and to have it redundant for 3 days because of leaves is disappointing - we also had it cleaned one day (new years day) by a contractor who added the chemicals during the day, therefore losing the use of the pool for that day too. I would normally expect this to be done on an evening.

The bad points are minor, sans the pool cleaning. Overall this is a very friendly, comfortable B&B with amazing views. If you want somewhere affordable and amongst the cliffs for some peace and quiet then the Mirage, along with the fact that you can use their bigger hotel on the beach is an affordable winner. Entertainment around the cliffs is limited so it's nice to be able visit the beach via their other hotel.

Negril cliffs can be a little intimidating at first, especially at night. However, rest assured everyone is nice and friendly, even if you keep getting offered weed from the rastas a 'we're good with that already' often deals with it. The Jam Can opposite ran by Crazy Knacker offers cooked breakfast and some live reggae on Mondays & Thursdays (music till midnight). It's mostly ran by his son, 12 yr old Okarey. Keep an eye on your bill though, he can often add a few drinks here and there!!. It's an alternative option for breakfast and don't not visit these places - the little wooden shacks often provide better meals than some of the larger places and the locals are very nice and need to earn their living too. Do visit Ricks cafe at least once before the sunset and watch the cliff divers and grab some food for the sunset - it's 5 mins walk away. Two local shops stock plenty of cold beer, wines, spirits, snacks and some food items. There are very few places with sunscreen (throughout Negril), make sure you take your own. Be careful on the road when walking too. Highly recommend Negril and the Mirage. Hope this all helps.

Room Tip: we had room 11 (look at the night picture of the building from behind and it's the arches with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mackered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro BRASIL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very beautifful hotel, we spent one day only, but there is nice cottages with great prices. Very close to the famous Rick's Cafe. Great view and great rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZedaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

La Mirage is down on the West End...there is no beach on the West End, only coquina cliffs. At the La Mirage there is concrete poured out to the edge of the cliffs (about 15' down to the water) which is nice because the properties next door don't have concrete and it would be very dangerous to walk on the uneven coquina to get to the edge. The rooms are very large and well furnished. The bathrooms have granite counter-tops and are nice. The tv's in the rooms are very small, but have limited cable channels. There is also a small refrigerator in the room. The staff is extremely nice. La Mirage is not the place to stay if you want to stay on the beach with unlimited access to food/drinks at your resort and want to walk on the white sandy beaches outside of your room. However, if you want a quiet place to stay with breathtaking views and a nice breeze (especially on the higher floors) then this is the place. It is close to the Rockhouse restaurant and Rick's cafe. You will have to take a cab to most places. Pros: the view, cost, serenity. Con's: take a cab to most places, not a full-service resort

Room Tip: I like the top floor: better breeze and views. In the summertime staying on the cliffs offers better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#34 of 80 in Negril
1,328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#18 of 80 in Negril
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Resort

Property: Mirage Resort
Address: Lighthouse Road | West End, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Le Mirage)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mirage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mirage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing