We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Mirage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mirage Resort
Ranked #20 of 44 Negril B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Firstly, the only quarrel I had with the hotel was that when we asked for a 3rd floor room instead of a 1st floor room, we got a pretty weird look/vibe from Nadine. Other than that, this place is awesome. It is a very clean hotel. The interior of the rooms were perfect and gave us the "Caribbean feel". It is in walking distance of a convenience store, Ricks Cafe ( we went 3 times lol), snorkeling, and plenty of other restaurants... OH SPEAKING OF RESTAURANTS, please do not leave without checking out 3 dives, which is also in walking distance, the food was AMAZING. If you are adventurous as my fiance and I are, i would suggest renting a scooter, Nadine referred me to a guy in walking distance who actually came to pick me up. In a review someone mentioned the A/C as "ok", OMG the A/C was frigid, Which was perfect after a long day out in the sun! The security officer/gate keeper was amazingly friendly and prompt even when we returned at 3 AM, he was there to let us in with no delay. The infinity pool is perfectly placed and was always clean, provides a great view of the sea and cliffs. Want an even better view, you can walk down to the cliffs which is pretty much a 1 min walk from the pool lol. As for the water in the shower, perfect temperature, we had no issues with cold water. We loved our stay and we will be returning, thank you for a great experience Nadine, Respect Mon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

I don't understand how Le Mirage is not ranked higher on Trip Advisor. It is much nicer than many of the hotels that have a higher ranking, and should easily be in the top 10. It's true that the hotel doesn't have a bar or restaurant, but that should not have an effect on the rating.

First, the rooms are some of the nicest that you will find in this price range. Clean & modern, good A/C, strong WiFi, private balcony w/ awesome sea views, fridge and flat screen TV. Most rooms have king size beds and the bathrooms serve their purpose well.

The property is well maintained, with plenty of tropical foliage. The infinity pool is regarded as one of the best in Negril. Access to the cliffs is easy, and there are plenty spots to jump into the sea from plus a ladder for easy entry/exit.

The small staff is friendly and at your service. Like a previous reviewer, we had trouble with our safe but the issue was quickly resolved after we reported it. Security is top notch and we felt very safe on the property. Newman watches over the property most nights, and he is there to open gates when you return from an evening out, no matter how late it is.

A nice continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Jamaican coffee, local fruit and fresh-baked goods from the Charela Inn are served every morning. For a more substantial meal, there are a variety of restaurants and bars within steps of Le Mirage. Right outside the gates is the Jamaican Style Restaurant and Bar which serves wonderful local Jamaican fare at a great price.

We are glad that we found Le Mirage and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor end rooms are actually slightly larger than the others. However, all of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anatalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The positive: great view, good location (very quick walk to small grocery store, AhhhBees, Ivan's, etc.), really, really friendly small 3-person staff (Nadine in office, housekeeper and security man), nice clean small infinity pool, decent AC, big fridge in room, free wifi but had a long outage after a power break.

The bad: no hot water for two days (solar heated so cloudy days = no hot water) - did get warm after letting it run for 10-15 minutes but what a waste, safe was broken (batteries were dead and no one could change them except "management" who wasn't around), usual Caribbean very hard bed, no place to hang a robe or towel in bathroom (really?? why are hooks so rare?), just a very "bare-bones" feel for the price.

The safe was especially troubling. We had specifically wanted a room with a safe and when I called to confirm there were safes, I was told yes. But I guess I neglected to ask if they were actually working. So we ended up having to carry our passports etc. around with us as we don't like to just leave them out. I got the impression that there were no rooms with working safes.

This could be a much nicer place with a few more dollars put into it. Management may be spending all their money on Charela (on the beach)?? Anyway, office staff was very pleasant and tried but they can't fix the broken stuff. Security was always there to hail a taxi or open the gate quickly at night and very friendly as well.

I booked this based on other good TA reviews so I assume these issues are sporadic. However, for $160/night (what we paid), not worth it. For $100 or less a night, I would call this a decent place to experience the cliffs.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room on 2nd or 3rd floor as they catch the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoNet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirage_Res0rt, Public Relations Manager at Mirage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

We are sorry for the Inconvenience you experienced at our hotel, Le Mirage Resort
However, since then we have addressed the problems at hand.

We only became aware of the problems with the safe after you booked in. It was dealt with immediately on my return.

All our hot water at both Mirage and Charela Inn is supplied by solar water heaters. when it is overcast for an extended period of time, we have a reduction in the amount of hot water available. When this occurs we normally switch over to electrical heating. However sometimes we do not notice that there is no hot water until it is brought to our attention.

Since your stay at mirage we have upgraded to an automatic heating system which turns on the electrical heating when the temperature drops below a certain degree.

We appreciate you taking the time out to write this review. It has enabled us to correct certain problems and increase the value of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I just stayed at Le Mirage. Got a great deal and loved it. Beautiful rooms with good bed, fridge, AC, TV, coffee pot, wifi and continental breakfast included. Only 12 rooms, all with large seaview balcony. Gorgeous newer seaview pool. Great staff. Really safe, homey and relaxing. No restaurant or bar but I like to self serve my own drinks and check out the many cliff restaurants. Great location, beside Tensing Pen. Wise Choice store 5 minutes away with great drink selection. Shark's and Ahhbees across from Tensing. You're treated very well at Charela (sister hotel) with beach towels and service when you visit as a Mirage guest.

I stayed in room 16, 2nd floor corner. Great view and good wifi in room and on balcony. Bed was very comfortable and room was very clean and spacious. Great newer fridge and tv. I found I had to let the water in the shower run for a couple of minutes to get hot water. Breakfast consisted of fresh homemade white bread you could toast, jam, banana bread, 2 types of fruit, Orange juice and coffee. Self serve, available 8:30-9:30. Nadine the manager and Mr Newman, night security were so pleasant and helpful. I felt very safe and at home as a solo woman.

I would for sure return, great value for a very nice place. Wonderful experience!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
8  Thank Melody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just returned from our 4th (or 5th?) stay at Mirage and were pleased as usual. It's a nice 12 room hotel with a pool overlooking the sea. All rooms have sea view. Staff was superb as always - very accommodating and friendly. Rooms are rather large and have a small fridge, ceiling fan, AC, coffee maker & TV. Free wifi too, which is nice for keeping in touch w/ folks back home. A light serve-yourself continental breakfast is included (toast, coffee, fruit).
It's located between Negril Escape and Tensing Pen - a 5 minute walk to 2 small stores and a handful of restaurants like LTU, Ras Roddy's, Ivan's & Hungry Lion. (There's also a new small restaurant directly across the road called "Jamaican Style" that was very good - and super convenient.)
We've stayed at ~ 6 other places on the cliffs over the years and Mirage is now our favorite. Inexpensive, clean, comfortable, good basic amenities and conveniently located.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have patios or balconies w/ direct views of the sea. The 1st floor rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at Le Mirage for 5 days over Christmas, and generally enjoyed it. Nadine, at the main desk was great, and very responsive, and the staff was helpful. We loved the privacy and quiet as we were often the only ones by the pool or cliff. The room was tasteful, clean and spacious, and the bed very comfortable. We loved the incredible view of the endless blue sea, athough the descent down to swimming area was rough and the coral sharp. Swimming there was generally much too rough for comfort and inadvisable unless you're accomplished and comfortable in the water. There wasn't much to see with a snorkle mask as the reefs had no fish. The water is a brilliant blue however! We enjoyed our trips down to Charela inn where the swmming was delicious, but wished there was a free shuttle service (however, if you bargain, taxis can be had very cheaply). Also, the infinity pool was delightful although a bit on the cool side in December and I didn't stay in for long. The negatives: barking dogs off the property made our first night miserable, but Nadine complained for us which improved things. We learned quickly to sleep with our window closed at night. The long road on the cliffs is not very walkable as taxis whiz by at high speed, and therefore is not recommended; also, it's very run down and a bit depressing (unlike the resorts which are located there which are generally beautiful). We would return to Le Mirag again if seeking a quiet, serene and private place. It is idyllically beautiful but not a place for partyers looking for a crowd.

Room Tip: We loved the 3rd floor room: very beautiful view and no noise from above. Balonies are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cestmoi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Spent 4 nights in Negril as part of our two week trip ' on the rock' . We wanted: somewhere away from the flat, the hustle and noise which can sometimes taint the seven mile stretch of beautiful beach and glassy still water , somewhere we could wake up, turn over , yawn and gaze at the sea before contemplating coffee ( which we bought from a local supermarket on our way in) , somewhere we could watch the sunset from our balcony rum and ginger ale in hand ( another supermarket purchase) or go sit on the rocks. This is exactly what we got ! Stay at La Mirage if you like clean, simple, well air conditioned and comfy bed accommodation with the most amazing views. Go elsewhere for breakfast, lunch and dinner ( we recommend nearby Pablos for the delicious Jamaican breakfast fruit juice freshly squeezed or fruit plate. In fact you can walk if you choose or can to the many eateries, cafe's and restaurants in the area. In the room there is a huge comfy bed, fridge, coffee maker, coffee cups and glasses. If there is something missing ask Nadine or any of the staff and they will sort it. Breezes or Riu it is not so a gentle and polite request for more of anything and staff will be happy to help. La Mirage is very safe with vigilant and friendly security guards ( Mr Newman , thank you! ) We expected the odd powercut which quickly righted itself during our stay. La Mirage met our expectations, good value a perfect break will stay again!

Room Tip: Top Floor Room when we're not there cos it's ours !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jah Freedom Guesthouse
Jah Freedom Guesthouse
#3 of 44 in Negril
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Judy House Cottages and Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hummingbird Resort
0.6 mi away
Rondel Village
Rondel Village
#34 of 80 in Negril
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road | West End, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Le Mirage)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range: £70 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mirage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mirage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing