We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Vincent Glass Bottom Boats

Famous Vincent Glass Bottom Boats
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We took the glass bottom boat (the glass bottom is really the least of the amazing things you'll see) right from the cliffs at tensing pen to the snorkeling area. It was my first time and it was great!

One of the other couples with us were spearing their own lobster (ask him about that if you're interested).

We took a pit stop to the "island", where we had fresh lobsters grilled right on the spot for us. Everyone is accommodating and super laid back. Amazing excursion.

My only recommendation is that they offer a little water on board. It can be a long ride in the heat, or bring your own water.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    8
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Awesome Snorkeling Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Famous Vincent is the man! I found out about Vincent on trip advisor, and decided to give it a shot. It was an amazing experience so I went back for a second time. The big difference with Vincent over other snorkeling tours (we took the one our hotel supports and it wasn’t as good) is that Vincent gets in the water with you and points everything out. Vincent can take you to two reefs. recommend the Sandy Kay reef for people looking for larger marine life (octopi, sharks, eagle rays, ext.) , and the Booby Kay reef for people who are looking for brighter fish, coral, an old cannon and ship’s anchor, though the Sandy Kay reef also provides the bright coral and animals. If you want to contact him to make a reservation, the best way to reach him is on his cell phone which you can get from his website. Don’t try to flag him down. I didn’t see his boat at all on our trip, except for when we went snorkeling of course. Vincent was exactly on time picking us up in his boat, something unusual when “Jamaican time” prevails. His crew is friendly and inviting and he pointed out all sorts of animals and coral I would have never been able to see without him. I definitely recommend his tour for anyone looking for a great snorkeling trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my favorite vacation experiences!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Vincent was hands down the best snorkel guide our group could have asked for. As someone who is somewhat scared of the ocean at times, and a nervous traveler, he made me feel safe and right at home! Vincent picks you up in a glass bottom boat, which is fun to see under the boat the entire trip. We saw a dolphin under the boat, and he continued to go back and forth to make sure that we could get a great view. He also went snorkeling with us, and acted as a guide in the water. There are apparently several snorkel guides in Negril who sit on the boat while your group snorkels, but Vincent gets in the water with you and shows you where to look and a few cool things in the water. We saw two huge sting rays in the water, which was so exciting! Then, we went to Bobby Cay Island, which was a fun experience! Overall, this was one of the coolest traveling experiences I have had yet!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“enjoyed the day out on the boat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Vincent was kind enough to wait for us after a staff member at The Rockhouse had flagged him down...we had only mentioned in passing that we were thinking about going out snorkeling that day. Vincent pulled up to the cliffs and told us to hop on, but at the time we were nowhere near ready to go...not wearing swimsuits...no sunscreen..no money!! Needless to say we took some time to get to the other end of the resort & get ready to head out even though we rushed!! Boat ride to the reef was nice....picked up another family on Seven Mile Beach & then headed out to the reef....our snorkeling adventure was great...about an hour in the water...so thankful that we all took the floatation devices!! It was just a really good excursion away from the hotel that day! So thankful that the timing of it all worked out!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkeling tour which never happened”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We signed up for what was supposed to be a beautiful snorkeling tour, but unfortunately thing were very different. First Vincent arrived half an hour late, then he took a large group of people, which wasn't planed to do different tour than ours, so he dropped 4 of us on a deserted island and was supposed to pick us up later to do our snorkeling tour. Except he came back 3hours later! we were wondering if he would ever come back. He literally abandoned us at a place where there was nothing to do or see, with no food, no drink and under the rain... We wasted one of our precious day, we were so disgusted that none of us wanted to go snorkeling anymore, we just wanted to be back to the hotel and have a drink. As nice he seems to be, he's definitely not serious and professional, I wouldn't recommend him or I would make sure, we're clear on the schedule to avoid bad experience. Good luck!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Vincent Glass Bottom Boats also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Famous Vincent Glass Bottom Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing