We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is our first trip to the island of Jamaica. We are a group of four couples who have made several trips to the Caribbean over many years. Have stayed at a number of Riu Palaces, so we are familiar what to expect as far as service, food, decor, etc. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an oceanfront room on arrival. Very nice. Service was acceptable, rooms kept clean, food wonderful. We were very relaxed and satisfied with our stay. The weather was just wonderful.....the beach has to be one of my favorite. No rocks or seaweed....crystal clear blue water that is warm and shallow for what seems like miles.....even had water aerobics at the beach instead of the pool. We all noticed and appreciated the difference in cultures from other destinations we have visited.

Room Tip: Oceanview or (better yet) Ocean Front
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NONNIENy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,336)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,200 - 3,206 of 5,336 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2011

The Riu Tropical Palace was a fantastic place to stay in the best place(Bloody Bay) in Negril for all ages. I stayed with my girlfriend for 5 nights and would have loved to stay longer. There are a few things that could change to be a real 5 star but overall for the value it is an awesome place and will really give you a relaxing vacation.

What we did:

Beach Everyday Obviously - The beach is amazing - no waves and basically bath water. It has three colors - clear, blue, and teal as you walk out.

Scuba Caribe Evening cruise to Ricks Cafe + Snorkel Caves - $45 - Scuba Caribe is on the Riu Beach and our Rep Kevron was awesome. All the Scuba people are professional and the 40ft Catamaran was a great experience for all ages on it. Snorkeling by the caves was much better than the island(different company) and they served rum punch and draft beer afterwards. Ricks is a real experience that you should see! Young Jamaicans doing amazing jumps off the cliffs(for tips of course)

Don Fresh Caribbean Lobster - $20 - If you walk the beach to the other Riu(grab a drink, its paid for!), the last stop is Don Fresh Lobster. The guy working was Paul and he cooked our lobster on an open grill with a log right in front of us and their bar is a fun, safe place right on the beach.

Steak-House, Krystal, and the Buffet - Our servers Dwane Wade and Capel were awesome and made dining really enjoyable. You have to try these places and make sure you try the sea bass and lava cake at Krystal, best dinner on the resort. If you eat the buffet get a table outside it was amazing and wine service was on point.

Jet Ski - $50 - right on the beach, the jet ski we got was the fastest Ive ever been on and the bay is a beautiful place to open it up.

Shows - Impressed by the shows and the bar area to watch the shows in. Inside/Outside venue was so chill to watch the entertainment. My Gf entered into the Ms. Riu show and had a blast with the staff.

Tips-

TIP! A Dollar goes a long way on the island and I didn't realize until the second day. We tipped a dollar for a round of drinks and about $5 at the nice dinners. You will see a big difference and you see these people every day while your there.

Bring Mugs- Everyone around us had mugs to keep Icy drinks cold in the sun and we got some at the gift shop. Also the cups are small so if you have your own it helps.

King Bed - Ask for a true king or you will get two queens put together - looks like a standard Riu thing as they have pictures of this set up in their brochures.

Use the balcony! - Stars were beautiful at night and the balcony was an awesome place to chill.

Try the Espresso Martini!

Small issues - Could use a renovation for small things like painting, new beds and comforters, etc. They have a lot of flys and they get around the food at times. We were in Building 5 and could hear some noise from the road. The desk guy informed us if we wanted to change for the king bed this would be the case. I still slept well. The Workout center had a bunch of treadmills and bikes but basically no weights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The beach, hotel and service was top notch. We have no complaints other than having to leave! Great times with good friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamOttawa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing week here in early March. The staff was very professional and appreciative of tips, the food was good and the beach and sunsets were great. We thought the beach at Bloody Bay was more relaxing and less congested than 7 mile beach. We ate at all 4 specialty restaurants. The food was average, but, it's nice to get away from the buffet occasionally. My only grievance was the fluctuating water temperature in the shower. If you feel or hear the water pressure change, be prepared to step back because ---"It's gonna be hot hot hot haahhtt haahhtt".

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DougPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

what a great time, if you cannot enjoy yourself here, stay home!! the room, food, staff, beach and pools could not have been better, thanx Andrew and Torie for making it an awesome time. We have been on 12 all inclusive trips from Cuba, DR, Mexico and Jamaica. This one was easily in the top of the RIU Palaces we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McLovin365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We go along with all the positive reviews of the Tropical Bay. The beds are very firm but that is better for posture so had no problems sleeping! Cannot fault any staff, so helpful and managers also great, especially Robert (and Elaine and Cloyd at front desk). Would be helpful if they could get the wonderful gardening team to plant a few more coconut trees in front of the volleyball pitch for extra shade on the glorious beach. Oh, a minor but annoying problem with the hotel is that they never have limes at certain times of the year and how do you run bars without limes? A kind bar waitress (that's how kind the staff are) brought some in from her home for us!! They have an ongoing supply problem which has not been sorted for 4 years.... how about planting a few lime trees around the property but in the meantime sort the supplies procedures out for Riu hotels as limes are everywhere, especially in London!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murrayhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Beautiful hotel but doesn't seem like a five star. Two adults and one 11 year old in a room with one bed booked as a Junior Suite for 3. No, there was no great savings for the child. Desk staff less than helpful. It was little things like unregulated water temperature, everyone wanting a tip, no snacks or food available in the late afternoon. Loved the beach, I just feel it didn't quite live up to Riu Palace expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busygirl028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,556 reviews
14.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
26.7 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
0.5 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#23 of 80 in Negril
622 reviews
65.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#14 Family Hotel in Negril
#14 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £177 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing