We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Great Service, Awesome Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Service, Awesome Time”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Cant say enough good things about this resort and our entire Jamaican trip.
Food was excellent. After our first visit to the buffet, never even thought about booking the restaurants (heard they were also excellent, especially good reviews of the Italian one). Beaches were clean with crystal clear waters in the morning. The bay itself is very sheltered with minimal waves even though most days were quite windy (20 to 30 KM winds were the norm). Past the barrier reef.

Excursions:

Chukka: Went zip lining and took the river tube ride. Mixed reviews on the lines with those having previous experience finding the runs short. First timers thought it was great and all loved the tree to tree experience. The tube ride was relaxing (ok, a bit boring) but the guides were definitely entertaining.

Diving: Went on two afternoon dives with the on resort dive shop - Scuba Caribe. Mariam is an excellent dive master and was great with some newbies in our group that took the Discover Diving Course and went on a reef dive.

Fishing: The charters are a crap shoot. 4 guys in our group went out for 8 hours and got 1 fish. I went on 3 trips with the locals who pull up on the beach. $60 an hour, they supply the gear and I personally liked going out with them far more than any open water charter. Actually went out 3 times with one of them and hand pulled in a 25lb Mahi Mahi! Look for Moon (Boat is Moon Star). If your into fishing, bring some extra tackle to leave with the gang. You need anything else while you are down there ask for Bobby... from Aloe to car rentals and tours. (hangs out by trees on west end) Will be doing a separate review on the fishing...

Martha Brae: Romantic rickshaw ride on the water... great place to get engaged... yeah, we did. She said yes, even though i took off fishing 3 times. Its that romantic. Ask for Larry... great guide. We rented a car to get here and that was an experience on its own. Would not recommend driving back in the dark. They do NOT turn off high beams and there are no lines on most of the roads.

Rick's Cafe: Took the catamaran through the resort group, stopped for some snorkelling on route. Must do excursion. If its windy, I would suggest gravol unless you have good sea legs. Captain and crew were great, drinks kept flowing and the net is a wild ride when the waves pick up.


Definitely going back and would repeat all except Chukka but only because its more of a "one time" kind of thing. One last thing.... bug spray. 1 in 20 people get attacked by Sun Flies...

Room Tip: Ocean View well worth the added cost. Watch for line of site blockage by Trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SargentTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,350
    1,740
    633
    279
    181
See reviews for
1,157
2,221
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowville, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Just returned from RIU Tropical Bay. Resort overall was good, but Bloody Bay makes this place great. The beach is outstanding with the calmest water. Visited RIU Negril, where we had stayed in 2007, and realized that although both are on Bloody Bay the beach is far better at TB. Still not a fan of the RIU reservation process, so opted for buffet most evenings and was not dissappointed. Good choices and done well. Room was nice, but the beds pushed together is just odd. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We just arrived from our 9 days stay in this resort. Overall it was good vacation. We used Jamaica Tours Limited to get to and from this resort. It’s cheaper and more dependable than using taxi. You can arrange it in the airport.
There are 7 blocks. The best are 6, 4, 1 and 3. They are closest to the beach and farther from the highway. Avoid block 7. It’s very close to the highway and any room does not have good view. The room number is 4 digits. First digit – block number, second – floor number and the last two – room number in this building. FYI – there is no elevators. So, if you don’t want or can’t go upstairs – request first floor.
Our room – junior sweet was roomy and clean. Conditioner worked pretty good. Though when we tried to adjust temperature, it kept working anyway. So, we switched it off for night.
Overall, food was good. Buffet had excellent appetizers and desserts. Main course was hit or miss. Almost all fish dishes were overcooked. For lunch I highly recommend a jerk hut. You can get excellent chicken. We also visited all 4 À la carte restaurants. Japanese was good – we took rice noodles and dashi soup for appetizer, beef and tempura shrimp – main course. For dessert we both took fried ice-cream. All dishes were tasty. We had very nice Surf and Turf in Steak House. Baked Alaska was good too. Italian had pretty good lamb and in Krystal we liked Beef Carpaccio and beef stake.
But the main attraction was the beach. Crystal clear warm water, sandy beach and a lot of shade. You have plenty of room to set your chair. Fortunately for us, mosquitos did not bother us too much. There were some jellyfish. Not a big deal. If you get stung – treat it with vinegar and it will be gone in minutes.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. I spoke with many peoples and some of them visited this resort 3 or 4 times.

Room Tip: There are 7 blocks. The best are 6, 4, 1 and 3. They are closest to the beach and farther from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were originally booked at Breezes, just down the beach, but after spending less than 24 hours there, checked out! (See my review for Breezes).....We had stayed at Riu in the past and at 9AM on Sunday December 9th, I called their front desk nearly in tears due to our horrible Breezes experience and thankfully got Marsha on the phone. In less than an hour she had booked us a beautiful ocean view room for $800 less than what we were paying at Breezes! She really went out of her way to help us get a room and get settled in. All the staff at this resort are wonderful. The room was clean, it was cleaned and stocked daily, we had clean fresh towels offered to us twice daily, there are always plenty of clean beach towels. The desserts on the buffet were fantastic! An all around wonderful vacation. We will be returning next year!

Room Tip: We like ocean view or garden view rooms instead of ocean front. We think they tend to be a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This was a great vacation. Staff went above and beyond to ensure your stay was more than expected. Zip lined and scuba dived while there. Water was warm and the weather was in the mid to low 80's with a slight sea breeze. My only advice is to take a private car from the airport we waited for over an hour and a half for the bus to take us to the resort and the bus ride was an hour and a half. We landed at at 2pm didn't get to the resort until 5:30pm. On our way home we were told that if you take a private car you are picked up without waiting and the drive is less than an hour.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and was extremely quiet. They have a mandatory quiet hour around the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank molina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just returned from our stay nov 24th to the 30th. I had read mixed reviews but really the negative ones are just not true in my eyes. I didnt expect alot for what we paid and was pleasantly surprised at this resort. The food everyday was great in variety and quality. The service was superior from checkin to check out. The drinks were top quality ( tried evey martini ). We were in block 5 and found the walk not bad at all. I personally prefered being away from the pool music and nightly shows and could be away from it if I chose to. The rooms was beautiful (we moved to a 5 star $500.00 a night hotel for 4 days and the RIU room was nicer) I have been to many places in Jamaica and the Carribean and I would return to RIU Tropical- no problem

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank top1wop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Having left JA 54yrs ago. I came to the right place to let me realize I shouldn't have stayed away so long. The staff was very accomodating, The food was very good, the choices you had to make ....... the entire property is well maintained. The water clear, the sunset, the entertainment. I celebrated my 65th. b/day while I was there, the staff reserved me a table adorned with flowers, they sang and had a birthday cake delivered to our room. I could go on and on....I will be back to visit my newly found family.

Room Tip: jr. suite with the ocean view suited our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#35 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
3.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#14 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing