We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a great hotel, the service is outstanding .all the Friends
(Staff) are brilliant. Cannot understand why so many negatives! we are going back for our 3rd visit in March 2015 Looking forward to it.God Bless all at the Riu Place Negril You do not deserve the Negative comments.Chad & Theresa in particular are excellent as is "Trevor McDonald" & a big SHOUT for Christine -Thomsons Rep as well Guys this hotel has it all Hard working staff Great entertainment -all day if you want it great beach fabulous location wonderful food selection cannot understand what there is not to like! Riks cafe is must do

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,892 - 1,898 of 5,473 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

the only negative thing I can say about the Riu is that they only have 4 themed restuarants and they only hold 40 people each. You have to make reservations the day of or the day before. We tried every morning by 8:15 am and could not get a seat in the restaurant except for one night in the Japanese. They begin taking reservations at 8 am, but, the line is very long and everything is gone within a few minutes. Definitely got tired of the buffet.

the positives are that the place is not too big and not too small. The grounds are immaculate at all times. Our rooms were 6112 and 6113 and they had the best view of any of the rooms. Definitely worth paying a little more for oceanfront and the ground floor was such easy access!!

They do provide name brand liquors and do not hold back on the amount they give to you!!

I do have one major complaint about the Tropical Tours company that Pleasant HOlidays hooked us up with (thru Carribbean World). They have a table at the hotel and a rep on site. Beware of them. They do not tell you how difficult the Mayfield Falls really is (see my review for that site for specifics).

Room Tip: Our room 6112 was one of the farther ones from the lobby. Therefore, my wifi was not good on my iph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great hotel with some tweaks it could be even better. The hotel's location is great -straight onto the beach and excursions eg to Rik's Cafe leave from outside the hotel or a short busride away from Margaretiville. It is far away from Ochio Rios and other excursions eg Dunn's fall (1.5hours one way) so Negril is not the best location if you want to do alot of activities. The staff at the hotel are generally great -shout out to Garfield (omlette guy), Sweetie, Tweety and Popcorn -entertainment crew. Sheena at the front desk however is pretty rude -please improve! Our room was made up of two double beds which was annoying but otherwise nice. Our toilet broke once and despite asking Sheena at 10am that day for it to be fixed we had to call again at 3pm. Entertainement each night is great -just wish it would go on until 12am rather than finish at 11am. Limited day time entertainment. Pool is nice. Good choice of restaurants -although you have to book one day in advance and we had to argue to get a booking after being told three times there was no availability and we were only there for a week! This system needs to change. Although the buffet was actually the best food anyway. Overall a lovely hotel, friendly staff -would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ExploringtheGlobe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about this resort...the people, the food, the service was amazing!!! The staff is great, they know you by name after meeting you once. Stayed in oceanfront suite in building 1, which is furthest from the dining areas, but it was not a bad walk. The beaches are amazing, there was never a day that I could not find a chair by the beach or the pool. Was only there for 5 days/4 nights and the front desk called our room three times to make sure every thing was fine. No musty rooms as people are saying, smelled a little when walking through some of the corridors. I think the people who complain about this resort will complain about any place they visit because nothing will please them. Negri is absolutely beautiful, and so are the people both inside and out. After visiting this resort, I have no desire to visit any other island or any other resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I traveled to Riu Palace Tropical Bay for the 4th of July holiday. While we traveled to Montego Bay many years ago (and were so disappointed we said we would never return to Jamiaca), we had never traveled to Negril. Because of the great last minute deal we found to Negril, we gave Jamaica another try. We were pleasantly surprised! Negril was absolutely beautiful! (It's well worth the two hour motor coach ride from the airport.) We have traveled to many all-inclusive resorts in the past, and this one was well worth the money. The food was typical all-inclusive (gets a little boring by the end of the stay). We did not try any of the a la carte restaurants (chose not to pack dress-up clothes). The beach was absolutely beautiful..... no problems finding a chair......spent almost the entire time in the clear, calm waters.......must look over all the locals trying to sell drugs. The only complaints we had about the rooms: very, very musty smell; the "ocean view" room was actually overlooking the restaurant; the "king sized bed" we paid for was two 3/4 beds (made separately and pushed together). Really?? We didn't come on vacation to sleep in separate beds. We only left the resort once. We took a taxi into town to do a little shopping and to visit Rick's Cafe. We do recommend visiting Rick's to watch the divers jumping from the cliffs. FYI: Don't buy liquor in town and haul it around all week. We found it cheaper at the airport. To summarize...... the resort would definitely be a good 4 or 4.5 star resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2mholts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Another wonderful vacation at the RIU! Great service and accommodations. Great food, always clean with turn down service at night. The ocean is one of the most beautiful we have seen. Our biggest draw back is the distance from the airport. One and a half hour drive each way. Our departure flight home was 11:00 am. The shuttle service picked us up at the hotel lobby at 6:35 am, which made for a very long day! That was without having to pick other travelers up along the way. I recommend staying at this resort!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have oceanview (as far as I know), that doesn't necessarily mean they are on or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great food, good weather, lovely staff, beautiful beach, great pools and awesome boat trips. Take the boat trip to Rick's Cafe, you will love it. Yes, jump the cliff if you have the guts and madness in you.

Make reservations for specialty dining early as there is limited seating. Do not do the buffet every night, try the steak house or Italian or Japanese. For the guys, do bring long pants for these restaurants as shorts are not allowed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Zeefoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,703 reviews
4.4 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 80 in Negril
1,066 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,716 reviews
2.5 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £234 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing