We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful wedding for daughter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Tower, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful wedding for daughter”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a group of 13 going to be with our daughter for her marriage in Jamaica June 11-18, 2014. We had a wonderful stay. The resort was very nice. They upgraded our daughter and her husbands room. This was our first stay in Negril. Had read all the reviews of how nice the beach was and they were all correct. The water was beautiful. We did see fish and even a couple of sting rays while we swam and paddle boated. The staff was really friendly. The activity staff were very energetic. Our younger group really enjoyed the interactions with the activity staff. Some reviews did not like the evening performances. But they were ok with our group. Our daughters wedding was beautiful. Sophia could not have been nicer. She was very accommodating even having Rusty the groundskeeper change the arbor for us. He did a great job and we loved him. The food was really good especially the jerk chicken as others has said. There was a good variety of food especially at the buffet. Steak House and Italian were first and second choices of the specialty restaurants. Some of us got a massage and it was very relaxing and we were pleased. The room was cool, well stocked and cleaned daily. We would return to this resort in the future. We did visit the sister Riu a couple of times during the day and it appeared nice. But the beach was nicer at the Palace. We had the jerk chicken at the sister RIu and it was as good as the Palace. We did take the booze cruise to Rick's cafe which was quite the experience. Our youngest son even jumped off one of the cliffs. The water around Rick's was just so blue and breathtaking. You will not go wrong in my opinion with picking this resort. If you are going from southeast Missouri area do not use Elite travel for your booking agency. They were terrible!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank towerrock-fireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,379
    1,777
    647
    285
    182
See reviews for
1,177
2,273
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family of 5 just returned from Riu Palace Tropical Bay yesterday. We had two rooms in the oceanfront building 6. My husband and I have stayed at Couples Swept Away 3 times previously. We have also been to Iberostar Grand Paraiso and Barcelo Maya Palace. I feel like we have a good point of reference as far as all inclusives. From the moment we walked on the property until we left we had awesome service! We were here with friends and there were 9 of us total including 5 children from 8 yrs to 16 yrs. Here are the pros and cons:
Pros:
Service - Wow! The front desk is very friendly and helpful. Service with a smile. We also had some of the best service in the dining room. Our plates were quickly removed and we constantly had our drink glasses filled. Bar service is friendly and drinks had plenty of alcohol. Their bartenders are creative. Service was better here than our last trip to Couples Swept Away. I sensed immediately that their employees were well trained in customer service.
Room - I recommend the beachfront room. We had ground floor rooms 6111, 6112 and 6113 (our friends room). It is true that the concrete wall blocks views slightly, but it was just ideal for families. We could walk to the beach in one or two minutes at most. A/C worked well and bed was a little hard. They brought a pad for the bed and it was perfect. Linens were comfortable. Room is large with tons of storage. Mini bar stocked perfectly every day.
Food - this is a subjective area, but we felt there was a ton of variety. There is a lot of outdoor dining with views. The buffet is enormous with many tasty seafood and excellent meat choices. Vegetables and fruits delicious. We wish they would have bread pudding for dessert though.
Beach - Beautiful! Lots of loungers. Almost no vendors.
Staff- Friendliest staff we have encountered so far! Lots of management present.
Wifi - everywhere. It was quick and effective and as good as my Wifi at home. You could easily do business here from your laptop or tablet.

Cons:
Dinner reservations - the system is ineffective and we didn't try very hard to get reservations since we had lots of kids. I think they need to have a system which you can email ahead of time for reservations or how about first come first serve when you arrive?
Pool - It is small, but is fine for families. Our kids were always served quickly and with kindness at the swim up bar. I think if they renovated a little it would be even better.
Sand at the beach - Ok this is picky, but we are used to seven mile. They rake the seagrass regularly and keep the beach nice, BUT they need to use a tractor. Couples Negril does this and it makes their sand thick and wonderful. Not a difficult task to get a tractor and use it once a week. It would make their beach even more amazing. Our kids had no problem making some sand castles.
Towel cards - this is annoying. I don't think they should have towel cards at a "Palace."

Overall this place is a great value and perfect for older kids. We loved being able to lay at the beach and our kids could go from beach to pool easily. Size of the resort is PERFECT! There were probably 35 kids total at the resort and only one or two babies. Bring floats and you can float in the calmest and clearest water anywhere. Absolute Paradise. Weather was great by the way. It was hotter than our visits in the spring, but the water temp is refreshing. For the money spent I feel it is a great deal. Tip the staff please as they are some wonderful folks! Would we return? Absolutely! Thumbs up from our family of 5.

Room Tip: Beachfront. Building 6 is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank momof3crazykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for about a week and a half. We did have a nice time but we needed to change our room once because the shower was broken, the ac wasn't working right, the room smelled and we had problems with the safe. Our second rooms ac not working properly we had to call twice on two separate occasions. There was still some stale smell in the room. Our blanket had some brown stains on it so we didn't use it. I always bring my own sheets anyway. There are some areas that definitely need some paint, new chairs needed in dining room. People are allowed to smoke there and it's a big turn off. Beach chairs covered in bird poop. This hotel just needs to close for awhile and renovate renovate!! I could go on and on. The one thing I will say is the staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful but our next trip we're going to stay somewhere else in Negril we like to visit every May or July. Maybe we will try riu tropical bay another time but not in the near future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rbirdy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We love staying here in the 6th bldg on the 2nd floor suite closest to couples. Andrew at the front desk is great. We have been staying here for 2 years and actually got married here. GREAT ocean views, great beach, great food. The entire staff is friendly and happy. We have had a couple of run ins with guests saving good chairs in the shade and not showing up until 2-3 pm to use the chairs. I don't think that should't be allowed, but who is really going to monitor that. Lisa at the lobby bar is a sweet woman, Deon is great and there are just so many to mention. The housekeeping staff is always on time and friendly. Tip these people well my friends--they do a great job for you.
Will return soon.

Room Tip: not by pool or main dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Love2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, the service is outstanding .all the Friends
(Staff) are brilliant. Cannot understand why so many negatives! we are going back for our 3rd visit in March 2015 Looking forward to it.God Bless all at the Riu Place Negril You do not deserve the Negative comments.Chad & Theresa in particular are excellent as is "Trevor McDonald" & a big SHOUT for Christine -Thomsons Rep as well Guys this hotel has it all Hard working staff Great entertainment -all day if you want it great beach fabulous location wonderful food selection cannot understand what there is not to like! Riks cafe is must do

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

the only negative thing I can say about the Riu is that they only have 4 themed restuarants and they only hold 40 people each. You have to make reservations the day of or the day before. We tried every morning by 8:15 am and could not get a seat in the restaurant except for one night in the Japanese. They begin taking reservations at 8 am, but, the line is very long and everything is gone within a few minutes. Definitely got tired of the buffet.

the positives are that the place is not too big and not too small. The grounds are immaculate at all times. Our rooms were 6112 and 6113 and they had the best view of any of the rooms. Definitely worth paying a little more for oceanfront and the ground floor was such easy access!!

They do provide name brand liquors and do not hold back on the amount they give to you!!

I do have one major complaint about the Tropical Tours company that Pleasant HOlidays hooked us up with (thru Carribbean World). They have a table at the hotel and a rep on site. Beware of them. They do not tell you how difficult the Mayfield Falls really is (see my review for that site for specifics).

Room Tip: Our room 6112 was one of the farther ones from the lobby. Therefore, my wifi was not good on my iph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great hotel with some tweaks it could be even better. The hotel's location is great -straight onto the beach and excursions eg to Rik's Cafe leave from outside the hotel or a short busride away from Margaretiville. It is far away from Ochio Rios and other excursions eg Dunn's fall (1.5hours one way) so Negril is not the best location if you want to do alot of activities. The staff at the hotel are generally great -shout out to Garfield (omlette guy), Sweetie, Tweety and Popcorn -entertainment crew. Sheena at the front desk however is pretty rude -please improve! Our room was made up of two double beds which was annoying but otherwise nice. Our toilet broke once and despite asking Sheena at 10am that day for it to be fixed we had to call again at 3pm. Entertainement each night is great -just wish it would go on until 12am rather than finish at 11am. Limited day time entertainment. Pool is nice. Good choice of restaurants -although you have to book one day in advance and we had to argue to get a booking after being told three times there was no availability and we were only there for a week! This system needs to change. Although the buffet was actually the best food anyway. Overall a lovely hotel, friendly staff -would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExploringtheGlobe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#28 of 81 in Negril
5,494 reviews
14.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing