We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated for a riu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Petrolia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“dated for a riu”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here in June very dissapointed with overall condition of hotel for a riu. Ocean view room is a joke so if you do not care were you are get just a room if you care somewhat get a garden view and if you care a lot upgrade to an ocean view as we did. Room was clean but dated staff were good and food was tipical of a riu. Would we recommend this hotel probaly not except for the beach which was lovely. Lillian Petrolia Ont.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,364
    1,757
    642
    281
    182
See reviews for
1,169
2,245
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for two weeks in this lovely hotel in July, the staff were lovely nothing to much trouble .Tony in the bar was FAB as soon as he saw us drinks were ready always a big smile.
rooms very comfortable and clean .restaurants were excellent steak house is a must , you must book day before you wont to eat as they get busy, cant understand people moaning about the food its FAB even in buffet . Beach is lovely crystal clear water and so warm{ hummmmmmmm wish I was back there} if I had to grumble about anything it would be NO parasols on beach & swimming pools very small but hey the sea was lovely. forgot to say the wine was good cocktails fantastic
Thanks Riu

Room Tip: higher rooms are less noise ask for pool view you get sea view too or we did , with no extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for 6 days, 5 nights and enjoyed all of it. The grounds are lovely and kept very clean. The staff was tremendously friendly and helpful, making us feel instantly welcome and at home. The rooms are great!
The food here is fab, fab, fab - there really is something for everyone. Each night at the buffet featured a special dish, with both American and Jamaican fare, and plenty of variety. The desserts, especially, are mind-blowing. YUM. I can't say enough about the service! No sooner did I put down a water glass than it was refilled. A special shout-out to Nadine, Aaron, Verna, and Tienne for doing so much for us. On my birthday, Nadine decorated our breakfast table, made me a special plate, and that evening I found a birthday cake in my room!
I will miss Jamaica and I hope I get to go again! Thank you Riu!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 1 and were quite happy. There are no elevators. The 2nd floor is a little qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful resort for a first time visit to Jamaica. Beautiful slice of beach. The staff rocks!! I stayed here the year the property opened and it springboard me into many Negril vacations over the years. Great family vacation all inclusive if that's what you're looking for. I prefer to give my money to the locals instead of a large corporation these days, but whatever works for you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuvJaBad63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Staff is AWESOME, especially Aaron and Shelly. LaToya is one of the BEST bartenders!
Entertainment is very good, although, not enough.
Beach is outstanding, as far as the vendors go, just like Sand and Water is the norm so are the vendors- here is a tip, if you are not interested in what they are selling, just be polite and tell them "No thank you - I am ok brother/sister" and they will no longer pursue you.

The Food in the buffet is very good/excellent depends on the time you arrive and whether or not you are a fussy eater. If you are fussy, you may not like it and if you arrive too late your choices may be limited. The additional restaurants however are ok - they try, but fall way short of the mark. Here's why, way too much labor involved to get a reservation, especially for the steakhouse, this does not make me feel warm and fuzzy about their touted selections. If you fancy yourself as a somelier this is not the resort for you! Their selections are good as long as you are not a wine snob, if you are spare yourself the aggravation.
The Drinks - pretty and flavorful, my experience was that if you didn't request rum in your drinks, chances were you were enjoying a virgin cocktail - not a good practice if the drink is advertised as having alcohol in it.
The Spa - maybe it is a little over priced but every one needs a little pampering, especially if your on Holiday/Vacation - Lorie and Tanya are superbly outstanding and are highly recommended! Attn: Riu please bring Marcia Back!
Tours and Excursions- if you really want to experience Jamaica's true beauty try working with a local that specializes in custom excursions ( less expensive and more personal ) - my family, friends and I work with a gentleman named Leon Burke 876-896-4942 or 876-289-0002, website www.jahhiya.com - "well worth the money!" - Jahhiya Travel Service Limited.
The rooms are nicely done however, beware of the Hard Beds, ask for Mattress padding upon arrival. If you don't like Mosquitoes don't forget your insect repellent - we forgot ours and we had so many mosquito bites we had to declare them when we passed through customs.
If you are using your Credit Cards, bring your MC or Visa cause they don't take AMEX.
Overall, the experience was great until the night before my last - they allow folks to smoke Marijuana at the Lobby Piano Bar - our enjoyment of this common area was cut short due to this lawlessness. The evening staff didn't seem to care, this made me rethink whether or not this is truly a family friendly property. It seems as though some of the staff doesn't respect Miriam, the grounds operations manager - just hope and pray you don't experience anything that you have to complain about. When viewing the bigger picture for the most part, with the exception of our last night there, it was a great trip - you just have to learn to get what you need. Tipping is always appreciated and often goes along way.
My 3 star rating is aimed exclusively at RIU's Corporate Team - Come to your properties and give them the attention they deserve, I am sure you guys make enough money to do that!

Room Tip: Ocean Front Suites or Junior Suites on the 3rd floor - Less Mosquitoes higher up Ask for bed paddin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went with Thomson's 16-6-14, what a bunch of cowboys flight delayed for a hour after boarding where we were waiting for some ESSENTIAL catering items, strangely enough after the hour whoever was providing this/these ESSENTIAL item(s) wasn't even answering phone so plane takes off without the ESSENTIAL item.
Montego Bay airport second time of using this establishment, last time an unmitigated disaster, queuing for immigration hot and not much better this time. About 90 minutes to hotel, very prompt checking us in, well I never paid for a view but thought 30' of overgrown foliage, trees leaning onto balcony, view of next door hotel through chain link fence wasn't really a brochure enhancing view.

Room wise its a RIU they are all basically the same, and its hard to remember which country you are in when you wake up to uniform decoration etc.

Well lets get the moaning out of the way, regular power cuts up until the fire broke out..... First two nights power went down for hour plus, this was eventually cured when the ice maker burst into flames during the third night, I don't mean sizzled and sparked but caught alight and was well ablaze, we were awoken by a fellow guest banging on the door, no a member of staff to guide/assist guests in this scenario, a security guard non hotel staff and what appeared a member of the ground staff assisted by a guest extinguished a large fire, fire brigade turned up some 20-30 minutes later took a look and departed. My gripe is no one form the management/supervising staff appeared to check all was well guests safe etc. But then the Thomson rep didn't either the following day.... Well power back on, no more fires but you could wake up to no water to the block................ Food average not a great deal of choice or even hot, but you could get by, speciality restaurants not much better food at best tepid other times (particularly the Italian) cold and not cooked as ordered.

Beach very good, lovely clear water and always clean. staff generally very helpful apart from Andrew aka Scarface in the pool bar who would totally ignore guests he appeared to like for reasons best known to himself.

Montego Bay airport on way back 2.5 hours late getting off as the check in system crashed, to speed things up they disregarded customer booked seats etc and gave passes out willy nilly which caused great grief on the plane, lets me honest if you paid £300 for an upgrade and found someone in your seat who hadn't paid you wouldn't be happy, then they sold an extra seat on an already full flight, so that lucky individual had to be located and removed and their luggage located. This was the second time to Jamaica but due to this and previous experiences there won't be a third visit, which is bad news for a country dependant on tourism,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bobcatbobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel after marrying there 10 years ago. It was amazing as ever and if anything has improved over the years. Beautiful beaches, friendly staff and a good selection of food for all tastes. We were treated to a romantic candlelit dinner for 2 on the beach, with our own waiter and after made a wish with a Chinese lantern. This evening I will never forget.

Our only problem was the mosi's. My husband had 15 bites just on one leg. So if you are sensitive to them bring plenty of mosi repellent.

Hopefully I will be back to celebrate another Anniversary as this place has a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
942 reviews
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#27 of 80 in Negril
271 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#14 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing