We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Wonderful hotel"”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Let me start by complementing the staff for the great service. My wife and I had a amazing time at the hotel; no complaints, not one. The food was excellent and the drinks were good also. We will definitely be visiting this hotel in the future. Thank you RIU Palace.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,379
    1,777
    647
    285
    182
See reviews for
1,177
2,274
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Riu Palace for my grandma and grandpa's 50th wedding anniversary. There was 10 in our party, ranging from age 10 to 72, & not one person went unhappy!! The food & drinks were awesome, with the steak house being our favorite!! (we ate there twice) Also, the jerk chicken during the day is delicious. The entertainment staff always kept things interesting & were awesome with the kids! ("Tweety", "Popcorn", "Chicken", & "Sweetie" were their favorites) They do different shows each night which were always fun.

The beaches were clean and beautiful, along with the rooms. Only thing that did become a slight bother were the locals trying to constantly sell you things, but we had fun with it. By the third day they remembered us & would just keep walking if we told them we weren't interested. We took advantage of all of the great amenities such as kayaking & the catamaran. We even went parasailing on a local's boat where we got breathtaking views of the island.

The front desk was very helpful with setting up the wifi on everyone's phones, which I might add, had a good signal throughout the whole resort. The concierge was awesome with setting up trips for all ten of us. The gift shops in the hotel are NOT overly priced compared to the prices of items that the locals set. In fact, we found the prices in the gift shop to often be cheaper. Also, splurge for the family pictures to be done through the resort! Our pictures turned out great & the photographer does a nice job for the price.

Overall, this vacation was fantastic. My family is often very hard to please & we really had little to no complaints. Everyone had a great time & was sad to leave. All ten will be returning! We have stayed at many other places & this place far exceeded the others. If anyone has complaints with this place then they must be EXTREMELY hard to please!

Room Tip: Book one on the ground floor with ocean view to avoid having far walks. We were about 15-20 feet fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I visited with my husband and 21 and 7yr old son. We really have nothing bad to say. Everything was just fab. I understand why people mention the smell in the room but with the air con on,you really couldn't notice it for long. The optics were just an added bonus:) All seem to have view of the ocean and nothing is too far from the restaurants.
Staff were lovely and tipping was not necessary.
The beach was amazing. The sellers really aren't a problem. They like to chat but a simple no and they won't bother you. They were really friendly and all knew my my youngest son as "little messi" as we were there at the end of the football World Cup. All Jamaicans love the premiership football!
One word for the food - A-Ma-Zing. A special mention for the fusion and steakhouse. You can eat lobster every night if you wanted.
The water sports availability was great and always available whenever you wanted to do something.
Trips - we swam with dolphins,visited the rum factory,the YS falls and went on the black river. All can be recommended. We booked through the people in reception rather than Thomsons.
We hardly used the pool and they are a bit small but as the sea is so clear and so warm it wasn't a problem. We found lots of shade on the beach as there were plenty of trees!
If you're a snorkelled go left of the Riu beach by the rocks -loads to see! Alternatively go on The Wildthing for a snorkelling trip.THis can be booked from the water sports or reps by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AngelaBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Let me start off by saying that this was my 1st All Inclusive and it was a memorable one because it was our Honeymoon. The drive from the airport was a breezy one, diving by the coast, so if you’re used to getting car sick then be prepared to use your gravol.

The drive usually lasts about 45 – 1 ½ depending on traffic and timing. But our driver made it there in just under an hour. The only down part was that we had to make stops at all the resorts prior to ours which took a bit longer than expected.

Since we were also here for our friend’s wedding, we were situated at this resort for 5 days July 31st – August 5th and then switched over to the Riu Club Negril for 2 nights Aug 6th & 7th.
The resort is warm and inviting and upon arrival, be prepared to take in some rum punch… with extra rum. Hotel Managers and staff were eager, friendly and awaiting to get you settled into your room. You feel the beautiful ocean breeze right through the lobby and at that point I knew that it was going to be an amazing honeymoon.

We had a wonderful Ocean Front View in suite #6207, it’s not too far of a walk from the main lobby, and is literally a small walk away from the beach. The room was clean and spotless, and the balcony view was beautiful to look at the sunrise/sunset. This place has Wi-Fi all over the place and surprisingly enough there was Wi-Fi well over 3o yards into the beach water as well (this was a huge bonus). Be sure to use room service wherever necessary.

The food was fantastic, and a lot of it was made fresh daily and it tasted amazing. Like I said before, this was my 1st all inclusive and I had no expectations, but it did surpass all of them. Be sure to book at the steakhouse and the other specialty restaurants. Be sure to take in some of the shows that they have on the stage.

When lounging by the pool ask for Andre and when by the Bloody bay Bar ask for Marlene… These 2 will definitely take care of you (when it comes to drinks). Be sure to ask for Stunna when you’re interested in going on the Catamaran (Booze Cruise), this was one hell of an afternoon filled with Snorkeling, drinking and a beautiful cruise to Rick’s café.

Parasailing is a must do… It’s so exhilarating and the captain and his 1 man crew were courteous, friendly and amazing… they took us up for about 40 mins and it was a thrill of a lifetime.. it was another activity to cross off our bucket list. Ask for Ray on the beach (tall gentlemen, usually with a grey shirt) and he will hook you up.

There was a lot of people trying to sell us gifts and some “herb” but a simple no thank you and they respect you. They never try to force things on you; but do go to the strip between the 2 resorts and you’re bound to see beautiful paintings and wood carvings.

The best 5 days at this resort, well worth it for my 1st all inclusive and especially on our Honeymoon!!!

Room Tip: Any room that has an Ocean Front View is the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Weather was generally good, but sometimes rained mid-afternoon, although showers were short and rain was warm and refreshing. After heavy rain the groundskeeper are quick to spray for insects, during our stay we saw very few insects except the ants on the beach, but they are very small and didn't bite or climb up onto the sun loungers. later in the day you may occasionally encounter the odd sand fly, so be sure to bring an insect repellent with a high percentage of deet.
The food was and high quality, plentiful and with lots of variety, my favourite was the fried plantain and jerk chicken. There is a jerk hut on the beach serving a variety of jerked meats - sausage, chicken etc with rice and vegetables until 3PM. I gained almost a stone in two weeks.

The staff were the best we had encountered, having been to many other countries in the past, especially David the porter who carried our bags to the room, with a combined weight of around 46 Kg, and refused to let me help him on the stairs. For the rest of our stay he remembered our names and nationality and always said hello, accompanied with a 'fist bump' and "Respect mon".
As well as our waiter for the evening meal, tall guy, can't remember his name, possibly 'Creifton', always got us a good table outside where I could smoke, and replenished our drinks regularly. On our last night he made up a special table with flowers etc, it was beautiful.

The SCUBA diving was great and I was able to photograph a ship wreck, a plane wreck , Lionfish, Stonefish (both venomous, so caution is advised), Moray Eel, Rays, lobsters, unfortunately no nurse sharks which live nearby but are nocturnal.

The waiting staff & bar staff were very attentive the optics of spirits & the fridge in the room was refilled daily with red strip beer, coke, diet coke sparkling and still water, sprite, tonic water etc. They even had waiters on the beach to take drinks orders, I drank a lot of the local Appleton's rum which was delicious - we bought a bottle each to take home. There were several bars, including a pool bar and beautiful piano bar.

We intend to go back as soon as possible, although the 10 1/2 hour flight from London was difficult for me as a smoker.

Best holiday so far and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better, although the ones directly facing the beach cost a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in July after staying for 3 nights at Tensing Pen on the West End. Great Beach. Clear calm waters. Plenty of loungers although you have to be strategic in selection for shade. Food was excellent at the buffets, we only at at one ala-carte, Krystal and that was good too. Drinks were excellent. Lots of higglers on the beach, if you just said no thanks they pretty much left you alone. We did a day trip to YS Falls, the Peter Tosh Masoleum and the Pelican Bar. This was our third trip to Jamaica and certainly not our last. Staff was attentive and friendly and the shows were entertaining.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snickerbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I was at the RIU Palace Tropical Bay for 6 nights in July. I traveled with 15 family members including 3 nine year old boys. The hotel felt safe, clean, nicely landscaped with an amazing beach. The beach is clear with a sandy shallow bottom. I have seen all inclusives with better pools but the beach was one of the best. The Jamaican staff were nice, very friendly and talkative. I ventured out twice. One time on a snorkeling trip with Seymour boat tours and the other time to the west end to check out the cliffs. You can find Seymour with his boat hanging out on bloody bay. If I were to return to Negril I would like to spend a 3 day weekend at a hotel on the west end.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#28 of 81 in Negril
5,496 reviews
14.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Negril
#13 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing