We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catcha Falling Star Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Just back from my first Jamaican vacation this year.
I am a regular visitor to this fabulous island and have stayed in many areas. I returned to Catcha Falling Star Gardens in Negril and cannot praise the staff enough for their assistance, nothing is too much trouble. The Manageress Jane even loaned me a CD player! The gardens are well maintained, the staff are friendly, the pool is cleaned regularly. The rooms are cleaned daily, clean sheets and towels provided every other day. The place is very secure with a nightwatchman and of course the two dogs are never far away. I would recommend this place for anyone wanting an affordable, quiet, pleasant holiday away from the beach area. I am completely hooked.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    55
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
87
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I had stayed at CFSG one time and was hooked! Decided to come back again and stay an extended period. I have nothing but good things to say about it! The room was so spacious and well kept with everything I needed. If there was anything at all that I wanted...all I had to do was ask. I always like extra pillows which were provided with just a note in an email.

I was pleasantly surprised this year when there was a safe provided in the room. No key needed...just a personal code required. This is a real plus since last year, I kept valuables in the office safe. Along with that, a new tv was added! The previous one worked well but the new one was so much better.

I just have to thank every single person at CFSG for making the trip perfect! Jane and Joan at the office took care of every need. Wayne was magical. This gentleman could fix anything and kept all of us entertained. I had an old radio that has traveled with me for years. It suddenly quit working. I asked Wayne if he could try to fix it. No problem mon...fixed and returned. I also had a small speaker for my Kindle which had quit working. Well, again...Wayne to the rescue! Thanks Wayne for all of your help BTW.

Veronica and Loretta took care of all of our housekeeping needs. These ladies rock!! Veronica and I had many great conversations. She is a true lady indeed. Loretta is such a sweetheart too.

And the night guards...Marshall and Robin...well, what can I say. They both were awesome. I never had to worry about anything. They were always there when needed. They will take care of you whenever you return to the resort with a smile on their face.

That leaves the infamous resort dogs..Pumpkin and Bel. I am a real dog lover and I have to say that these dogs are perfection. I miss my lab so very much when away, so having them around was a real plus for me. No need to worry about any little thing with these dogs. They are always on duty to protect and serve.

In conclusion....all I can say is that CFSG is perfection. I love the cliffs and will always hold this resort close to my heart. Once you stay there, you are considered family. Nothing better in my opinion. Negril is truly magical!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I would first like dispell any previous reviews that don't tell all the facts.I have been traveling this area for 35 years and the Gardens are what makes Jamaica REAL! The people the vibe and always a warm smile. I have recently returned from traveling the whole island and this is truely my home. The minute you arrive Lady Jane and Joan are there to help you with anything that you may need. The rest of the staff from Wayne to Marshall to housekeeping are willing and ready to deliver the service that you would expect and recieve. I want all the travelers to look around at other properties that cost a whole lot more and compare your experience to the Gardens.The closeness within walking distance of many different experiences is right at your doorstep.The privacy is fantastic and the security of the property is more than most.They also have the Best guard dogs in Belle and Pumpkin. If you like cozy. secure, vibe and smiles then please give this likkle Gem a try. If you want glitz and glamour then try the Wynn in Las Vegas.I can't wait to return next week for ten days and my birthday. I wouldn't have it any other way!!!!!! Soon Come!!

Room Tip: Up or down it really doesn't matter. The upfront apartment is great for more than Two people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
negril
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Do not let these people book the car from the airport for you. I did and the car was not road worthy, had no air conditioning or speedometer, the driver had been drinking and tried to sell me pot.
These are the folks they choose to be their first representatives and give the first impression. The hotel is clean but has no services whatsoever. The night manager, Joan, needs to get a personality and be trained in service. She either gave useless answers or none at all. The rooms were clean but the AC did not really work and was very noisy. Promised water access was death defying. There was no hot water either so showers were short to say the least. I was supposed to stay a week and moved out after 2 nights...i will never go back and would not recommend it unless all you want is cheap and you plan to spend the rest of your time elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I LOVE JAMAICA!! I go every year and if I ever win the Lotto...Jamaica would be my permanent home! Just returned from a 13 night stay (Dec 22-Jan 4, 2013). I LOVED everything about Catcha Gardens; my spacious room, the hammock on my balcony, the music from surrounding properties in the distance, my sweet housekeeper Ms. Loretta, the 2 sweet dogs guarding the property, the beautiful floral gardens and Kevin's Jerk chicken (Seasoned to the Bone). I stayed in the Jasmine Villa upstairs. Comfy bed, cable TV, ceiling and standing fan, kitchenette with fridge, mini stove, microwave, plates, utensils and coffee maker. The property is Beautiful, Quiet and Relaxing. Yes, the property is gated and locked but its not a problem since you can come and go with your gate key. I felt safe as a solo woman traveler and very comfortable walking the cliffs without issue. If you come out the gate and walk to your left for 15 minutes, there's SIr D's lookout which has 2 picnic tables and benches overlooking the cliffs. Perfect for relaxing and listening to your ipod and there's also a bar just a few feet away. If you continue to walk even further as I did, you'll find Sexy Rexy, the Light House, more bars, lots of goats and eventually Out of Town Pastry. They sell beverages and all sorts of patties as well as items you would find in a convenience store. There are other convenience stores and places to eat in either direction when you exit the gate. The popular SeaStar Inn is just a short walk away offering good food and from 4-6pm-Happy Hour is a good value! I had the Jerk Chicken club and it was delish! I also ate a good cheeseburger at Ahhhbees. LTU is directly across the street from Catcha Gardens and I did eat there once due to my late arrival. The jerk chicken skewers with fries and veggies was ok-but I found much better options along the cliffs and in town. They did have a nice NYE party...free drinks, good music but no fireworks. However, my absolute favorite eating spot was a jerk chicken stand (Seasoned to the Bone) operated by Kevin. He has the absolute BEST JERK Chicken and a Wonderful personality...definitely give him a try. Walk out the gate towards Rick's and you won't miss him! Catching a taxi into town or anywhere was super easy, inexpensive and without issues. My holiday was perfect. I'm very Happy I chose Catcha Gardens instead of staying on the beach again! My Can't wait to return to Jamaica in July!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swayvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I'ven been a frequent visitor to Negril since the summer of 2009. I go two to three times a year and stay anywhere from a few weeks to as long as 6 months. I've stayed in -- and reviewed -- many of the hotels in this gorgeous little beach town.

This last time, I stayed at Catcha Falling Star Gardens. I was there for a month because I came a few weeks early in order to train for the Reggae marathon, which is in the first week of December.

"Catcha," as this little hotel is so fondly referred to by the locals, is one of my favorite hotels because it feels more like an apartment -- a home away from home, if you will. The reason is, the rooms are big and spacious. They have two double beds, a seating area with a coffee table, cable TV and a small refrigerator. The bathrooms are also oversiized, and each room has a HUGE private balcony with a hammock.

The room I stayed in this last time had a direct view of the ocean, which I could see from my bed as I awoke each morning and opened the curtains.

What I like most about Catcha is that it's:

Safe: Each guest has a key for entering and leaving the grounds. As a freelance writer, I travel with my laptop and digital camera, but never feel funny abt leaving them in my room b/c it's safe there. Bella and Pumpkin (the two dogs at the hotel) are very friendly -- and add an extra measure of security. There's also a night watchman.

Close to popular restaurant: LTU is right across the street. It's a bar/restaurant right on the cliffs overlooking the ocean, so you never have to worry about where to eat/drink if you don't want to wander far.

Affordable: The rates for what you get at this hotel can't be beat. Again, I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Negril and this is one of the best ones for the price.

Beautiful grounds: Pool, enclosed area by the pool to read/relax out of the sun if you want; gorgeous vegetation; etc.

People: Jane, the manager, and the rest of the Catcha staff couldn't be more nice or accommodating.

I could go on and on about this hotel. Over the years, I rented several abodes in Negril so didn't have a need to stay at a hotel. Now that I no longer have a rented place there though, Catcha is truly like my home away from home. I never even consider staying any place else when I come because of all the reasons listed above -- and much more.

Happy travelling!
Yuwanda

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Its nice and private, and the hotel setting is just beautiful with the stunning flora that abounds the gardens. Wayne made it all the more pleasant with his helpful suggestions and tips. The only comments I have which we were not aware of, is that there is NO access to the waters from the hotel. You would have to go through the pub across the street and go down a ladder but you cannot lounge there during the day, or you would sneak it at one of the water side hotels if you're lucky and its not high season, or just cab to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BojanaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#39 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#53 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#30 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star Gardens

Property: Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Address: West End Rd, Negril 2875, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catcha Falling Star Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catcha Falling Star Gardens is a charming property located in the heart of the West End of Negril and within walking distance of Rick's Cafe. Surrounded by lush gardens and a large tranquil pool, each relaxing villa is spacious and most offer A/C. Catcha Falling Star Gardens is pleased to provide a nature lover's paradise at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Catcha Falling Star Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing