We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey rooms and friendly staff! We will be back one day...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Ranked #38 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Homey rooms and friendly staff! We will be back one day...”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The rooms are perfect the way they are set up. Each room and bathroom has everything you need and more to make it feel like home away from home. (They include bars of soap but not shampoo and conditioner, so be sure to pack that. Also, they do have hair dryers but you must request them at the front office. The hair dryers are nice too, not cheap models like most hotel/ resorts have.) The mosquito nets actually provide a romantic feel to the beds. My only complaint was that the beds were a bit firm, but then again some people like that. Our favorite part of staying here like many other guests was the dogs- Belle and Pumpkin! They are so sweet, cute, and well-behaved, it broke my heart to tell them bye when we checked out. Pumpkin was always just outside our door, laying on the patio chair. She followed us all around the gardens (in a good companion like kind of way). Sharice, one of the managers in the office was always very friendly and accommodating. Joan, one of the front office workers was also nice and helped us right away when we needed help. Some rooms do not have phones, but they allowed us to use the office phone to call local numbers anytime, whenever the office was open. The pool and the garden around it is just lovely! The waterfall was refreshing and beautiful, and they had an in-water table so you can eat or drink inside the pool. The grounds were always clean and well-kept. (Shout out to Wayne, the groundskeeper! Also very friendly and he knows people on the island who can give you discounted prices for things like scooter rentals.) Very relaxed, comfortable, homey atmosphere. The gardens and pool area would be excellent places to do yoga or meditate. (Bring your yoga mat so you can! I wish I had brought mine!) The location was central on Negril's West End. Just across the street from the cliffs!! Rick's Cafe is only a block away, and there are several local restaurants within a 15-minute walk. Directly across the street is LTU Pub which had AMAZING breakfast for low prices (American, European, and Jamaican variety). We would definitely stay here again. A nice change from the typical resort style hotels- provides a more authentic Jamaican experience :)

Room Tip: You will want an A/C unit! Jamaica is beautiful but also very humid. We stayed in Bella Villa downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna111286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    56
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
91
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Catcha Gardens from 7-9-2014 to 7-11-2014. We were immediately greeted by Shereece and Wayne (and Pumpkin and Bella...the resort dogs). We were booked for the June Rose apartment, but after seeing it, we felt that it was a little too much for us two and opted to move to one of the other villa rooms with a porch and hammock. They were very accommodating and had the room cleaned right up for us.

Wayne, the grounds keeper, was very helpful to us and even went to pick up some food for us one day. Awesome guy and great to talk to!

Catcha is a place to go when you just need to relax and get away from it all. The pool is great, rooms are very clean and again, the staff is wonderful.

There are great restaurants in walking distance including Mango Tree, Soupies, and LTU Pub. Just Natural is a bit of a longer walk or just a short cab ride away.

In conclusion, we had a great time and felt right at home here. We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed June 15-22.
I'm from Negril, now living in Canada. We decided to stay here for a few reasons. First, it had good reviews, also because it was within walking distance to where my parents live. We were travelling with friends, and also our 4 month old baby.

We had just stayed at Grand Pineapple for a week, so wanted to see how this would compare.

First off, the rooms are spacious and clean. Houskeeping comes in and cleans daily. Fresh towels daily, even if we didn't need them. The rooms are rustic, and maybe a little dated, but I had a comfortable sleep each night. And had a large enough area to put the playpen and our luggage. We spotted a large cockroach in our room one night, (probably came in through some crack) which my husband killed, but we didn't see any after that. Would see the odd lizard/gecko in our room at night, and the odd mosquito. But nothing that made me feel uncomfortable. There is a fridge/kettle/coffee maker in the rooms. Also mugs/glasses and some spoons. We were able to buy our own groceries, though the fridge was on the small side. It would be nice if Catcha would put in a hotplate in the rooms, or at least a microwave to be able to reheat foods. We stayed in a A/C room which also had a fan. The unit was a bit noisy, but didn't prevent us from sleeping.

Staff was great! Marshall (night security) was always around. The dogs (Belle and Pumpkin) were always at your side especially if you gave them treats. They often slept outside our door. I never felt unsafe. I did have one little negative experience with the staff. Wayne was the groundskeeper. Very nice man, but he did beg me for money one day. Not sure if he did it because he thought that I was from Negril I would help him out??? Whatever the reason, I was there as a guest, and you should never beg money from guests no matter where they are from. That is the only negative experience I had with the staff....

Pool was clean always, and we were in there alot. Even at nights, they kept the lights on while we had a late swim.

They have free Wifi.

We ate at LTU once during our trip. The food was good, and the price reasonable. But they nickel and dime you on the drinks. There are better restaurants, all you have to do is walk a bit....

They now have a generator for when the power goes out.

Place is in a quiet area. Within walking distance to Ricks Cafe.

All in all, I loved this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank squishysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've been traveling to Negril for more than 20 years. And back in the day, when Negril was more roots and chilled out, I stayed on the beach for the first couple years. But the last 15 years I will only stay up on the cliffs appreciating the more chilled out environment and experience. For most of thost past 15 years, I've been staying at CatchaFalling Gardens (CFG), even before it was called CFG. Since they bought and renovated the place about 6 years ago its been that much better and I can't think of anywhere I'd rather stay. It is part of my memories and full experience and along with my two favorite dogs Bella and Pumpkin I love the people who run CFG and am so grateful to Loretta, Veronica and Wayne for their MANY years of kindness, service and for being such great honest and lovely people. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the Villa's are great! They have A/C rooms, but I never use them, as I love the Negril expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EpicuriousHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Twp., NJ
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was our second stay at Catcha Gardens - the last time was about 2 years ago. It has only gotten better - which I thought was impossible.

We stayed in Ginger Lily with air. We like being in front of the property to see out onto the street.
My favorite addition - coffee pots!!! That was the only thing I had wished for on our last trip and was happy to see they were added.

Staff here is wonderful! Housekeeping, Wayne, Marshall and the office - always a smile and seem happy to be there. Anything you need, they are more than willing to help with.

Pool - love it! I felt like we were the only ones at the property at times.

Location - quiet area but plenty of places to walk to for drinks or meals. LTU across the street is very good. We really enjoyed Soupies this trip - very good food at reasonable prices.

And to save the best for last - Belle and Pumpkin. I can't believe I am writing a review on the property dogs - but they are the best part there lol. I bring treats from home and they are porch fixtures for our entire stay :)

If you want a quiet property, fantastic staff please try it out - you won't be disappointed.

Feel free to email any questions.

Room Tip: Rooms with air a little higher - but it's nice to turn on after a hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mamade11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff was amazing and the place was clean and comfortable. The electricity did go out for a day which was frustrating, but not under Catcha's control. The whole city had no electric. We payed extra for a room with air condition and it did not work for 2 of the 5 days that we were there. The pool was so relaxing and was a great escape! I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife, 10-year old daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at Catcha. We stayed in the Fern Villa, which was basic, but very comfortable. It was very nice to lounge by the pool or sit on the porch outside our room. It is also very easy to walk across the street to restaurants on the cliffs, or to drive or cab to the beach. Everything that the other reviewers have said about the staff is true. I had a great conversation with Wayne, the groundskeeper and Marshall, the guard. When I left, I accidently left my keys at the hotel and flew back to the States. Shereece was great and arranged to send the keys back to me. For dog lovers, Belle and Peaches are very gentle and kept my daughter entertained every time she saw them. This is not a resort hotel, but if you want to experience real Jamaican hospitality, this is where you should go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.8 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#41 of 81 in Negril
209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#35 of 81 in Negril
1,341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#31 of 81 in Negril
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#36 of 81 in Negril
264 reviews
4.0 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#55 of 81 in Negril
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star Gardens

Property: Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Address: West End Rd, Negril 2875, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catcha Falling Star Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catcha Falling Star Gardens is a charming property located in the heart of the West End of Negril and within walking distance of Rick's Cafe. Surrounded by lush gardens and a large tranquil pool, each relaxing villa is spacious and most offer A/C. Catcha Falling Star Gardens is pleased to provide a nature lover's paradise at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catcha Falling Star Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing