We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding bliss at Sandals Negril”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Its been a while since we stayed at SN and I had not got around to reviewing it but we were looking through our wedding photos and it brought back great memories of our time at Negril.
We booked a concierge room and received the complimentary wedding package. We stayed in the Paradise building facing the sea and had a fantastic view out over the beach.
We chose the beach area for our wedding and everything went exactly as we hoped for. I worried that it might feel like a bit of a production line as we saw a few weddings during our stay (in fact 3 weddings shared our day) but our own ceremony felt really special. We finished the day with a candlelit dinner on the beach and had a wonderful time.
We have stayed 5 times with Sandals now (returning to Jamaica for our free week in Jan 2013) so we are fans but I am surprised sometimes at the poor reviews.
We had a great holiday, wonderful wedding and lovely honeymoon. Staff were excellent and helped to make our holiday. Can't wait to return in January for another week at Negril and a week at SRC.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We're so happy to read about your wonderful vacation and fantastic wedding at Sandals Negril. I will be sure to share your review with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in January!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,123 - 3,129 of 5,479 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

We picked Sandals Negril for our 15 year anniversary because we went to Sandals Antigua for our honeymoon and we loved it. We were NOT disappointed!! From arrival to departure, the Sandals Negril staff was incredible. They worked very hard to make sure we were happy and enjoying our vacation. They moved so quickly around the resort to clean, sweep, trim hedges and cut grass, bring drinks, set up tables, etc.... that nothing ever seemed out of place. "No problem my friend, you are on vacation" was the phrase that stuck with us. Everyone really wanted us to enjoy ourselves and we did. We found the food to be exceptionally good at all the restaurants. The presentation was beautiful as great care was placed on plating the delicious food. We enjoyed lobster with tortellini at Dino's, jerk snapper and lobster with risotto at Barefoot by the Sea, a perfectly prepared (and huge) tenderloin steak at Sundowner as well as basa filet stuffed with crap and shrimp - just to name a few things we ate. Every morning at the Bayside restaurant was a great buffet with omelette station, smoothie bar and all the breakfast foods you could want. Chef Denroy made the "best jerk chicken on the resort" at the Beach Grill. His jerk sauce was rivaled by Michael T. A true battle for the ages. Manager Deavon ensured that our experience at Barefoot was perfect. He met us once and remembered us all week. He said Hi and called us by our names all week. He made such and impression we ate at his restaurant twice just to stop by and see him - and the food was awesome.

When you go, and you should, I am sure you will be touched in the same way by the kindness, professionalism and light hearted fun that I was from the following staff members. Each had his or her own job to do at the resort, but their ultimate responsibility seemed to make my wife and I feel like the only two people that mattered on the whole resort. We just can't say enough about:

The Playmakers (entertainment staff) - Willie, Lenford and Oshayne - all SO much fun and they are crazy!!

Bartenders - Donovan, Andrew, Jason and Leighton - service with a smile and we never waited (even at busy times) for a drink....ever

Watersports Team - Big Papa, Capt. Smiley and Hollywood - they made snorkeling so much fun and the underwater pix were very cool

Concierge Staff - Shemoy, Nadine and Carrie Anne are wonderful ambassadors of Sandals and really make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive and make you feel like a family member leaving when you depart

Photographer Fabian - we had no intention of purchasing any photos but they turned out so great we found it to be a perfect way to memorialize our wonderful trip

Soon Come Back desk - Gayonne - this trip made such and impression on us that we booked Beaches (the Sandals family resort) next year. We want to share this wonderful experience with our children.

I've seen complaints about the hagglers and hustlers on the beach. There are people who pass through and try to sell stuff, as it is a public beach (technically). Sandals security follows these people to ensure they don't do anything other than offer to sell you their goods - beads, conch shells, cigars, etc.. As soon as you say you are not interested, they move along. In fact, they usually never stop, just offer while they are walking. They are really no problem at all. You could not ask for more from the security Rangers as they are on top of everything.

My friend has been to 6 different Sandals resorts and suggested Negril for the beautiful beach that is protected by a reef, the clear calm water, beautiful sunsets and the incredible staff. We went based on his recommendation and are very happy we did. You just can't match the Sandals experience. I'm a pretty critical person and can usually find something to complain about, especially considring the costs involved with traveling from the US to Jamaica. Not this time.

Go and enjoy yourself. You'll go back. I guarantee it.

Room Tip: Beachfront walkout with concierge includes room service/mini-bar in room. Great value for all you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We arrived only to be given the smallest darkest room you could Imagine. We got this changed the next day, the staff in general are very good and friendly. At the restaurants we waited ages to be served, if you like seafood and small amounts of bland gourmet food you will be ok, if not you will starve like we did. We found the Americans staying there were too loud and very annoying. The buffet food was normally cold even tho it should of been hot. The bar staff got most of our drinks wrong as well. We would of been quite happy to have come home after 3days .
The excursions are expensive and are supplied through the hotel. This was our first sandals experience and probably our last. Not good value for money .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, they are lighter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our luxurious accommodations. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We strive to meet our motto: Luxury All-Inclusive Vacations for Two People in Love. We are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities so I will be sure to send your feedback to the relevant departments.


Regards,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Facilities are quite dated and not a value at all for the $$.
The resort property is over 20 years old and starting to show it quite badly.
The main pool is very small and, frankly, the food was not nearly the quality we would have expected.

This resort is no where the quality of the Excellence resorts in Mexico.
Staff was very upbeat & positive and quite friendly though.
Service to the beach (drinks, etc. )( was definitely "sub-par".

Beach furniture was old and broken..

Sandals had better start putting some serious $$ into refurbishing or their ratings will
drop seriously

Room Tip: Bldg 6 is closest to water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kstubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but it seems we may not have been up to standards on your stay, and for that we are truly sorry. While we always perform renovations and redesigns to ensure that we provide the highest standard of luxury and comfort, our process is an on-going one. We encourage you to visit us again in the future and experience our new and upgraded features once our future beautification process would have been completed.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are grateful for feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses.


Regards,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed at Sandals Negril with my husband and had an ok time. The resort is super laid back and the bartenders (especially at the beach/swim up bar) are the best. The food servers are not as urgent and the food is not as good as other Sandals resorts. I also questioned some of the food safety and Sanitation practices (most Most noticeable at the Italian restaurant with cold food food out in tthe heat not kept at a cold temperature). I got food poisioning after a few days but my husband was fine.
The seven mile beach is the best and worst part of the resort. Plus side you can walk the beach check out other resorts etc. Con it is public so anyone can walk through… that includes visitors from local Hedonism resort as well as hagglers and there are LOTS of them. It is pretty much constant… so if you are a beach person it is hard to lay and relax or float in the water without constantly being asked to purchase things. Other then that it is a great time. I would like to visit again for a day but do not think I could take a whole week of hagglers or poor food.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony otherwise the rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kstark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice enough, but prefer other Sandals properties. Pros: Beach, most of the staff and sunsets. Cons: Road noise, too far from off-resort activities. September was a good time of year; no bugs, less crowded.

Stayed for 7 days in early September 2012. Everything was pretty nice, it's a small property, cozy. But I was under-whelmed. Liked the ocean-view room on 3rd floor (room 5318), away from the road. Rarely heard road noise there, but suspect rooms closer to the road would have a noise problem.

Beach was really nice. Vendors walk the beach offering everything from hair-braiding to live lobsters. I found them entertaining but my husband said they were annoying. Roped-in swimming area is nice, it only gets about 4 feet deep. Bottom is mushy in places. But there's starfish and various small fish hanging around the seaweed. Also a couple of rays swimming by early in the morning. They hid during the day, tho.

Food was good everywhere except Kimonos. That food was horrible. And no hot sake! Dino's was average food, but the sunset was fantastic. Barefoot by the Sea, Sundowner, pizza place, and Bayside were all very good. Loved the chocolate-banana pizza! Sundowner staff were not as friendly as the others. The staff are really friendly and nice, just that the Sundowner staff seemed off their game that night. Kimonos' staff was really lively.

Drinks are always good; ask the bartender to create something special; they'll make something wonderful. Same advice for the juice bar at breakfast. Best juice mix ever was asking them to make me something good.

Glass-bottom boat was a nice ride, made fun by the staff. Didn't do other resort activities this trip.

Warning! Very few of the off-resort excurisons (Island Routes) are less than 1.5 hours away (one way)! Catamaran trips leave right from the beach and the shopping trip is to near-by duty free and craft shopping. Both of those trips were fun. But everything else takes far too long to get there. I didn't know this before picking this resort; I was looking forward to a couple of the advertised trips but decided against because of the time. The catamaran trip (booze cruise!) was a hoot. Loud music, dancing, stops at Ricks and Margaritaville. Look out for the rum punch, it does pack a punch!

Concierge-level room was nice but we didn't get much out of the concierge staff. Everything we asked for, they referred us to someone else. In-room bar with liquor and soft drinks was really nice to have. Balcony with ocean view was wonderful at sunset and early morning. Based on other Sandals reviews, most people are happier with a mid to upper level room.

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are much, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nothing but praise for the Sandals Resort in Negril, Jamaica! We landed in Montego Bay, and had been told in advance to go to the Sandals waiting area of the airport to wait for the van to carry us back to the resort. No sooner than we got to the waiting area, we were greeted by the friendly van driver from Sandals. Our bags were loaded into the van, and we were quickly on our way. After about a 30-45 minute ride to the resort, we were able to check into our room, and then were offered a cool towel and cool refreshing Jamaican drink in the lobby. As long as we were in the resort, all food and drink was included in the price. Catamarans were available, as well as snorkeling just off the beach. Meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner were scrumptious... bacon, eggs, pancakes, fruits and juices were the highlights of breakfast. Lunch was usually jerk chicken or something similar. Dinner was available at several restaurants in the resort. Dirty Bananas were the specialty Jamaican Rum drinks, but most any other drink was available too. And don't forget the Jamaican Red Stripe beer. The beaches were spotless, with workers raking any leaves that may have fallen on the beach, and there were no sea shells to cut your feet. My only warnings.... #1--be sure to use plenty of sunscreen (the tops of my feet burned the first day) and #2--you could very well get spoiled by this lifestyle, and won't want to leave....

Room Tip: For just a little more money, you can get a sea-front room. I was in a room that was on the back si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keithsvideoservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
1.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £396 - £1,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing