We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Fall In Love With The People!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll Fall In Love With The People!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband Joe and I recently returned for a fabulous week’s vacation at Sandals Negril 11/13-11/20)! This was our second visit to this small, intimate couples-only resort, having honeymooned there 16 years ago. Once again, we can’t say enough wonderful things about the people who work at Sandals Negril. Their happy demeanors and friendly smiles are infectious and they give the warmest hugs. In short, they “made” our vacation and they do the same for all who visit with them.

From the moment we arrived at Sandals Negril, we were greeted in most welcoming and friendly ways by staff members we met at every turn. From those at the front desk to house and groundskeepers we passed every day on our way to and from our room – they all had warm smiles and friendly greetings to share with us. At the beginning of our stay when we were “new” guests, each time we went to a restaurant or activity, we were asked our names so that staff would become familiar with us. From that point on, each time we returned, our host(ess), servers and other staff would refer to us by our names, which made for a very personal feeling of belonging to their “family”. We found this to be true of so many of Sandals’ staff members, but most especially Kendra and Norman at Cucina Romana. They are the consummate hostess and host, respectively. Kendra’s smile and laugh are particularly infectious, and although Norman is a bit quieter, he is a most professional and graciously warm host, both of whom we enjoyed tremendously. Kudos and special thanks to Kendra and Norman. I brought along my usual travel buddy – a stuffed green frog named Philippe – and he was a “hit” with the entire staff, each one making special efforts to acknowledge and fawn over Philippe just as they did us . Our Cucina Romana servers Shernette and Jodi-Ann were both so pleasant, sweet and most attentive, and we also enjoyed server Christopher’s attention as well. While enjoying a lovely meal at the Cucina one evening, new chef Michel came and introduced himself to us and politely asked how we liked the cuisine. It was nice to know that he was interested in receiving feedback regarding the fare, especially since he advised us it was only his second day working there. We told him our meals were delicious, especially Joe’s lobster dish, which became a favorite throughout our stay. The Cucina Romana also has a fabulous daily lunch buffet which you can eat at the restaurant (right on the beach) or take it “to go” and enjoy it back at your shaded lounge chair on the beach.

We enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast buffet almost everyday at The Bayside and were always warmly greeted by Kendra, who knew exactly where we liked to sit and made sure that everything was to our liking. Natoya painstakingly cooked our eggs “just right” each morning and we received the devoted attention of Pauline, Jodi-Ann, Melisha, Philip and Floyd on a number of occasions, each one with their own warm smile and greeting.

Kimono’s chef Napolean is quite a character. He kept us amused and entertained throughout dinner with his juggling and hibachi preparation skills, all the while singing and telling jokes. Dinner that evening was even more memorable because the four other couples that we shared the table with really “clicked” and we enjoyed talking throughout the meal. Afterwards when we were ushered into another room for dessert, we pushed all of the individual couples’ tables together so that we could continue enjoying each other’s company. It was great to see these same couples over the next few days at various other locations and to catch up with them on their plans for the day and newest activities and adventures. The nicest people can be found at Sandals Negril.

Dining at The Barefoot was a real treat. Feeling the powdery soft sand under our feet was divine and made for a fun dining experience that we will not soon forget. Melisha, Sashelle and Faithlynn were favorite servers – always so joyful and willing to please. On one special evening, our server Jeffrey entertained us with his hidden talent – balancing objects on his head! First, he balanced a wine bottle atop his head while showing off his smooth dance moves. He even balanced and served me my bowl of soup from atop his head – what fun! Not to be outdone, Shavon joined in by challenging Jeffrey to top him as he balanced a wine bottle on his head while displaying his martial arts moves! These guys were a blast and made for a very memorable evening. A moonlight dining experience not to be missed! Likewise for the Cucina Romana.

Sandals Negril definitely provided the much-needed respite we were hoping for having recently “survived” the stress and drama of our only daughter’s wedding.
Although there are many activities to do and outside excursions in which to participate, our preference this trip was to enjoy many relaxing hours on the beach and in the ocean. Lois was always making the rounds with her pleasant greeting and smile while delivering cool and refreshing libations beachside. We admit to savoring many a Bob Marley (cool and refreshing) during our beachside chats with newfound friends.

We enjoyed kayaking on a few occasions, observing the many sea stars and other underwater life as we glided along the beautiful, clear ocean. Although there was some seaweed in certain areas of the water (close to the shore ) which seemed to be a favorite hiding place for sea urchins, much of the underwater footing is on sand. I would recommend wearing water shoes in any tropical waters in order to avoid stepping on sea urchins and other sea life that might cause painful stinging. We also took a glass bottom boat ride and I went on the big red tube ride twice. The staff members who provided these safe and fun excursions were most pleasant and the guys on the glass bottom boat shared some funny stories too. They even dove in the waters and brought up a large sea star for all to see and hold up close and personal. Paddle boarding was not something I’d ever done, but Robert and Big Papa showed me how and I felt confident to give it a shot. Boy was it fun! Try it – you’ll like it! The best part is that I didn’t fall off and enjoyed it so much that I paddle boarded almost every day. Also, you can’t beat the view of the sea life below. Hobie Cat sailing was not something we’d ever done before but it looked like something we would like to do, so Robert took us out on a lovely adventure around Booby Island, providing us with instructions should we decide to take it out on our own. Some other water sports available included wind surfing, water skiing, snorkeling and scuba diving. For an additional fee, you can take scuba lessons and even get certified in scuba!

If you’re concerned about safety issues, Sandals has security officers patrolling the beach every day, although we never felt any uneasiness or harm during our entire stay. For a nominal fee, there’s even a van transport available every day that will take you door-to-door from Sandals to Rick’s Café, a tourist favorite, to watch the cliff divers and enjoy the beautiful sunsets, which we did during our stay. You can also book excursions to Rick’s on a catamaran. Local vendors, approved by Sandals, set up their wares along the walkways so that you can purchase jewelry, carved figurines, etc. without having to leave the premises if you so desire. Purchasing gifts from these locals craftsmen helps support the Jamaican economy. However, there is also a local craft market just outside the premises that several guests visited with no security problems.

We utilized the Concierge services and found Paige to be especially helpful in making dining reservations for us and answering our questions. Nateana at the front desk made our check out quick and easy, and Tayshian (Soon Come Back) was pleasant and well informed during our transaction with her. In fact, she helped us book our next trip to Jamaica – Sandals Grande Riviera in 2014. We can’t wait to come back to Jamaica and its lovely people.

The Zinc Reggae Band and Reggae DJ provided some truly fun music one evening on the beach. The young staff members who attended were a joy to watch as they danced to the music. They made the evening so much fun for all by encouraging guests to get up and dance with them. They were so gracious and sweet and were wonderful teachers who were patient and kind in showing guests how to catch on to many new line dances and dance moves so that we could have fun too. And dance I did! I was feeling the music and the desire to join in the fun so much that I removed my sandals and danced the night away, barefoot in the sand. Of course, I “paid for it” the following morning when I awoke with two nasty blisters on the bottom of both big toes – soooo worth the fun though!

Our housekeeper did a fantastic job of keeping our room clean, leaving pretty towel animals and rose petals on our bed every day, and ensuring that an ample supply of clean towels was always in our room. Constant efforts were made by staff members to keep the grounds clean and the property well maintained. Aside from the obvious renovations that were going on while we were there, we took note of painters who painted roofs and outside closet doors, and the groundskeepers who were constantly raking the sand, sweeping the walkways, cleaning the outdoor showers, washing floors, as well as Sandals on-site photographers who were always watching out for special moments to catch on film, etc. These hard working people often greeted us with smiles and pleasantries as we passed by. We were even serenaded by several staff members on our transport van as we were getting ready to leave for our ride to the airport. Such a treat! We miss them all already.

Sandals Negril -- You’ll fall in love with the people…………. “Soon Come Back”

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,438
    1,176
    413
    170
    125
See reviews for
219
4,127
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We visited November 21-27, 2013. This was our third trip to Jamaica, our second to Negril, and our first to Sandals Negril. Two words sum up our experience--"absolutely amazing!" The property is well maintained and our room was spacious, comfortable, and kept clean by housekeeping. We had a two-story and the balcony provided a wonderful view of the beach and ocean, with breathtaking sunsets. We had a small issue with the upstairs air conditioner that was not cooling adequately, but as soon as we informed staff, it was immediately corrected. And let me say that the staff is what sets Sandals Negril heads and shoulders above other places. They are genuinely warm, friendly, and accommodating. Kudos to Kendra (breakfast buffet hostess), Samantha (dinner hostess/dancer), and Warren, who set us up for the next Sandals visit. We had the butler service for the first time and I cannot imagine ever being there without it. Our butlers, Denato and Sean, were awesome! They anticipated our needs and desires and looked for opportunities to please us!! They reserved excellent spots for us on the beach and by the pool, brought us lunch and snacks without being asked, handled all of our dinner reservations, escorted us to the restaurants, and did so much more! The food was great! The breakfast buffet satisfied every craving and the Jamaica night blew us away! Kimono's was our favorite restaurant--the food and service was outstanding! If you eat at Cucina Romana (Italian) and are fortunate enough to be served by Christopher, you will not be disappointed. The entire experience was amazing and we can hardly wait for a return visit, but it will have to follow the next trip to Sandals Emerald Bay in the Bahamas.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're so thrilled to read that you had such a great stay with us at Sandals Negril. I will be sure to let our staff know of your kind mention. They will all be proud to know how much they contributed to your amazing experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another fabulous stay!

Have a great trip to Sandals Emerald Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I traveled here with a humanitarian group, Great Shape! Inc. Sandals Beaches in Negril gracefully hosted us. The resort is amazing. The food was some of the best I have ever tasted.The staff is amazing. I wish I could remember all their names. Kenton was one of the best. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJacquelynnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We're so thrilled to hear that every moment of your stay at Sandals Negril was an incredible experience. Thank you for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The staff at Sandals Negril were friendly, helpful and help make our stay, wedding and honeymoon great. The Wedding staff lead by Giselle were not only helpful but ensured our day was perfect. The food was great, the restaurant staff were warn friendly and made the dining truly
romantic and beautiful. One of the servers Sasshelle was a complete delight, both my wife and I truly loved her. Our two butlers Mark and Orlando were very warn, funny and very helpful, they decorated our room on our Wedding day with rose peddles, candles and tower are which was very fantastic. Now that I have stayed at Sandals want to go back again no other Resort can compare.

Room Tip: At least a concierge room to get the better room and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Negril. We're so thrilled to read that you had both an amazing stay and a wonderful wedding with us. It was an honor to be a part of your special moment and we're glad we were able to make your stay so enjoyable.

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you read a negative review of this resort, dismiss it at once. The resort is exceptional in every respect.....food, cleanliness, service, amenities and especially the staff! This was our first visit to a Sandals resort and we were not disappointed in any aspect of our one week stay from November 13-20, 2013. We were amazed that after just one day, some of the staff would meet you and call you by name and remember the drinks you ordered at a bar or restaurant. All the restaurants were great with a wide variety of options and service was quick. Would we go back to this resort..........you bet, in a heartbeat! Special thanks to all staff at the Barefoot By The Sea restaurant ! if you don't love this resort, stay home because you are way too fussy.

Room Tip: The Paradise Building is currently undergoing a renovation and upgrade with noisy construction, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave_Anne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We take pride in providing a friendly and luxurious environment for all of our guests. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Sandals Negril did just that.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at Sandals Negril. The place was spotless, the help was very friendly especially Kendra who works the breakfast buffet. The food was good. The presentation of the food was exceptional. The grounds lovely. The beach and sunsets beautiful. We felt safe the whole time...the guards that wander the beach are there to protect us from any person trying to hassle you into buying something you don't want. That kept it down to a very minimum amount of people trying to sell you stuff. The only thing that I would suggest is that more towels be supplied at the pools. By afternoon the towels were gone so if you needed a towel to dry off you had to bring one from your room. Another suggestion for Sandals would be to put a scale in the lobby so people could check the returning weight on their luggage. I can't wait to return again. The Jamaican people are so friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet13360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations and make this an amazing experience for you. We always strive to offer the best in service and quality to our guests and it seems we were able to offer such a memorable vacation to you.

We hope that you return for another fantastic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I knew I wanted my feet in the sand for our wedding and had heard great things about Sandals Negril. We chose that location and it was the best decision. There were 14 of us, and we ALL had a fantastic time. The food is mass-produced but you wouldn't know it. The quality was great and there were so many choices we looked forward to meals. Breakfast at Bayside was a favorite way for us to start our day and meet up - and I always looked forward to my hug and happy greeting from Kendra! Our favorite restaurant was Cucina Romana - Lobster for him and Salmon for me, and Christopher was fantastic at helping me cater my meal to suit my diet needs - as well as giving great hugs too! One night we had a romantic candlelight dinner on the beach which we HIGHLY recommend. It was very romantic and Kerry Ann was so sweet, even singing us a beautiful song. Our room was FANTASTIC!! We booked the swim up butler suite and it was worth every penny. The pool was right off our back door and we spent many hours lounging back there. Our butlers were incredible - saving us cabanas, bringing us room service, decorating our room - Mark and Orlando were the BEST!! Considering the amount of sand people track in on their shoes, the wonderful cleaning staff keeps the entire facility immaculate! One thing to note about Sandals Negril - the beach spans the entire property, so every building is up against the beach. You don't have to walk far at all to get to the white, beautiful sand. If you're considering this vacation spot we highly recommend it - we'll be back.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of the ocean, but the lower floors are generally 15-20 feet from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Negril. We're delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and beautiful wedding! We always strive to provide the best in service and luxury. We're happy we were able to exceed your expectations during your visit and can't wait for you to return!!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
6,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,319 reviews
82.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing