We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Sandals experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic Sandals experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to 3 different sandals now. Negril did not disappoint us. We go to Sandals for relaxation and that is what we found yet again. We enjoy our pool out the back door but was not quit needed due to the proximity to the Caribbean. Our butler service was the best we have had so far thanks to Basil and Daron. Food was top of the line for a Sandals. I loved my wonderful night turn down person, Juliet Cunningham. We are a 60 something couple and it seems a younger clientele targets this resort opposed to Sandals in the Eastern Caribbean. However saying that, you can be as busy or relaxed as you choose. We would definately come back as long as we can have our same Butlers. As with every trip to a Sandals, we found ourselves feeling restored and relaxed. Best restaurant on the faculty has to be Cafe Bistro. Great hamburgers and you are sitting water side. Only complaint would be that no bars are air conditioned.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,409
    1,169
    411
    171
    123
See reviews for
216
4,094
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I went from May 25th until June 5th and had a great time. The staff were all lovely and the food great - provided we ordered the right thing. Seafood and salad were great in all Restaurants but would not order beef for a second time. The Japanese Restaurant had a little surprise - don't miss it. Italian good as well and the Waves became a French Restaurant in the evening. Good but not much choice. We had a room in Paradise Honeymoon Beachfront Grande Luxe Club Level - the only VERY disappointing thing on the holiday. The rooms were renovated and big with a great sea view but NO balcony and I was not a happy bunny. We always have a room with sea view and they ALWAYS had a balcony. You don't need a butler as there is a 24 hour service and staff very helpful and quick response on the phone. The island is beautiful - don't miss to do excursions. We went to Rick-s Café with a taxi (cheaper then the Hotel excursion) and were feeling sad as one of the Hotel Guest died there. He was 26 and jumped in to the water from a rock. My advise: don't do it. Sandals also sponsors a school. We paid $20 each and were taken to a local school where we had to read a story to 5 year olds. Don't miss this a it is not only great fun but you I learned a lot as well. At the Hotel, you get a room key and a card. With the card you can go to any Sandals Hotel and use all the facilities. We walked to Beeches had lunch and drinks and a go on the water slide. Walk along the beach and it only takes 20 min. or $ 5 for a taxi one way. Don't miss the evening shows in the Hotel - they are great. We just went for a break but the Hotel is known for wedding and honeymoon couples. My advise: make sure you get the ceremony for the wedding in the morning during rain season. It rained every afternoon - mostly after 3 pm. Although is was still hot, it spoiled some weddings. Although we had a great time I would go before the rain season. We were the only English couple. 90 % were Americans and we met some really great and interesting people. Thank you to the staff at the Hotel and all the lovely people we met!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank richardsm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Like all companies selling products or services Sandals has great marketing. From the web site to promos etc. We were celebrating our 8 year anniversary by getting married at Sandal Negril on Sunday May 25, 2014. We arrived at the resort and were processed quickly in the small rather cramped Sandal Club room (pictured quite roomy and posh in the web site photos). We were brought to our room and walked in to a modern, clean room. We were admittedly a little disappointed that there was no welcome to your wedding adventure something in our room, just plain but nice with no balcony...again when we had originally booked these rooms had balconies overlooking the ocean and beach, the renovated rooms had sliding doors, still nice but not the same...so not as expected.
Room and resort were clean and the proximity to everything is great, no long walks to anything. Beach was fantastic, water warm and inviting, food delicious and wide variety.
All Staff were awesome and our white glove waiter Shelly-Ann on our candlelit dinner was a sheer delight and made us want to come back to Jamaica!

The wedding overall went well. However, there were some details that were missed. Sandals markets their weddings as "All you need is the love" suggesting that ALL details will be taken care of. This was not the case and we were disappointed.
Overall, we and our guest had a wonderful time at Sandal Negril.
Was it worth the over $5,200 cdn for the room and flight plus at least $1,500 for the wedding??? Well, it's hard to say yes...but we likely would not return to Sandals Negril or Sandals but would return to Jamaica at another resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jacques,

Thank you for your review. While we were pleased that our staff took great care of you during your stay, it was disheartening to learn that you returned home not completely satisfied with your overall Weddingmoon experience. Our entire staff is committed to making sure that our couples have the wedding day of their dreams and we sincerely apologize if there were some aspects that fell short. We will be sharing your remarks with our management team so they can follow-up in regards to this matter. We value all of your input and we hope that in the future we will have the opportunity to serve you more efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our first Sandals experience and first all inclusive resort. We had heard about Sandals for years and decided, it was time. We are so glad we did! It exceeded our expectations.From the moment we walked onto the property our Concierge Team greeted us with a warm welcome, a glass of champange and we quickly became friends, THANK YOU Kera, Portia and Shemoy!! The resort is beautiful and their standards are extremely high regarding well kept grounds and rooms- thank you Paula in Housekeeping. The beach is kept clean and RAKED daily. The resort runs along the beautiful 7 Mile Beach and there is plenty of room for all guests to enjoy their "own space". We enjoyed walking off the resort property and along the public beach. We did not encounter any problems, as several people in the US suggested we might. The romantic dinners for two on the beach were elegantly set. We enjoyed water sports and daily activities (pool volleyball, ping pong tourney, etc). The "Play Makers" are the ones who make the entertainment, games and activities come to life. THANK YOU OShane, Willie, Toshania and Aminah!! The food was very very good. The buffet was beautifully presented and had a huge variety. Thank you CHEF. Kimono's restaurant served delicious food and was very entertaining. Thank you Kimono Chef Paul. We enjoyed a very romantic 20th anniversary evening at Cucina Romana. These special people made our Cucina night unforgettable: Christopher, Kerri-Ann, Jermeine, Amoy and Italian Chef!! They were exceptional with their service, cuisine, and personal touches. What is an all inclusive resort without bartenders? Thank you Sandra & Kani (pool bar) and Chris (piano bar)!! The Bistro Cafe was always good for a snack at any time, thank you Sanjae. Sundowner restaurant was excellent as well, thank you O'Shayne!! At the end of night we could count on our turn down trainees, Santina and Courtney to prepare our bed and leave us a list of the following days activities. Thank you Natisha, (housekeeping lead) for your leadership and training.

Room Tip: We were very lucky to have Cottage 4308 facing the ocean, AWESOME location and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeLeSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferrisburg, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place was paradise! We really loved it here, and would definitely go back again! That being said....the hotel was under renovations when we went - which is a plus for future vacationers, but not so much for us! Our room was VERY dated, the bathroom was old, furniture and room seemed dates, BUT it was very clean so we didn't really mind. The view from our room was outstanding so that really made up for it! We actually requested the "honeymoon" package and we didn't receive ANYTHING honeymoon at all, we went to the front desk and asked about it and they instantly apologized and offered us a $200 credit off of our stay, which was awesome because it paid for our excursion. We used Island Routes and did the tour of Margaritaville and Rick's Cafe which was AMAZING! We had so much fun, definitely would recommend! The pool was a lot of fun and relaxing and it was open 24 hours which was nice. The beach was absolutely stunning! When we were there, you couldn't see a wave in the ocean it was so peaceful. Watch out for crabs! They're all over the beach :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzales, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon here the last week of May and we had an amazing time. The scenery was unreal - beautiful beach, sunsets like no other, and luxury at every corner. So many things to do on the resort or simply relax and enjoy the people (guests and staff). We rented a cabana the first day to treat ourselves and met two wonderful staff members that took our vacation to a whole new level. Big shot out to Big Papa and Emile for their wonderful hospitality. They suggested a private boat tour where they took us to the cliff side of Negril and let us explore the caves, took us to Rick's cafe, gave us a little history lesson of the other resorts, and we got to see the sunset on the water. These guys taught us so much about Jamaican hospitality and checked on us daily to see how we were enjoying our stay. I can't show enough gratitude for their hospitality. We also had a great couples massage, went deep sea fishing, played pool, etc. Some of our favorite servers were Floyd and Oshane. Geon put on an awesome show at the hibachi grill and the Italian restaurant chef was superb! Robert and Christopher were also wonderful to meet. We left wondering if we could ever possibly top this vacation. Much respect and love!
Michelle & Seth

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnsdauzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Sandals is very good at its marketing...saying that "all you need is love" and they will take care of the rest when planning your Weddingmoons vacation. This was the main reason we had chosen the Sandals name for our destination wedding-to receive a 5 star experience and not have to worry about the details. Unfortunately they came up short in that department, but the staff was very conscientious and tried to fix things after the fact....however being Sandals, I did not expect to have to point out the details that needed fixing as many times as I did. I am not going to go into all of the details but just to name a few...
-when we arrived we discovered that the rooms had been renovated and that balconies were no longer available with a beachfront view....(it would have been nice to know that when we booked).
-we received a Weddingmoons itinerary book that had the cover page with our names on it, with the christian name of my husband and not his given name (the upsetting part is that I had talked to my wedding consultant at least 5 times over this beforehand and she reassured me that his given name would be used for the ceremony and only his christian name would be on the marriage certificate).
-Inside the itinerary book, after the cover page that had my fiance's wrong name on it, the itinerary was of a sample marriage and not ours...really??? What was the point of giving us an itinerary book of our marriage if it wasn't our itinerary??? That didn't make us feel very special.
-At our wedding meeting the next day, we are told that the sand colours that we had picked for our sand ceremony are no longer available-yet at the time that we had picked them online and PAID for them, there was no mention of that. The wedding manager then made some phonecalls and "pulled a miracle" as she stated with a smile, and got us our original colours-but that never should have been an issue in the first place.
-We paid extra for an open bar for an hour and a guitarist for an hour to entertain our guests a little before our wedding, as they wait, and afterwards while we are doing pictures. Well that was a complete waste of money as the wedding coordinator did not stay on site and no one directed our guests to the bar, offering them drinks, etc...instead our guests were told to come with us on the beach to watch us being photographed...while the bartender stood behind his bar doing nothing, and our guitarist was no longer in ear shot. If the wedding coordinator assigned us that day had a bit more experience under her belt, I am sure she would realize that she should have stuck around and made sure that our guests were attended to instead of standing around, without drink nor music to entertain them, as we had paid $400 for....
-To add insult to injury, on our wedding night, the staff made a beautiful artistic display with the towels, fresh flower petals, a bottle of wine, etc...and a card that was computer generated by our concierge....stating Congratulations Mr and Mrs MacDonald! (MacDonald was my former name....my new last name was Therrien).
If this wasn't our wedding, where attention to detail was of paramount importance...the rating would have been higher, as the staff were an absolute delight and tried their absolute best to rectify the multiple errors. The food was also amazing! The entertainment was ok but not as good as I would have hoped for a 5 star. I have seen better at a 4 star resort in Mexico.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room and do not expect a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback about your Weddingmoon experience at Sandals Negril. We are honored to have been chosen to host your big day but we were truly disappointed to note that your expectations were not exceeded. Our wedding planners often garner high praise for their attention to detail and we sincerely apologize if this was not the case during your stay. Your input is truly important to us and I will be sharing your feedback with our management team for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
We do hope that you give us a chance to redeem ourselves during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,302 reviews
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,375 reviews
27.8 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
6,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing