We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Joe, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great start to our summer”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is our second trip to Jamaica but our first staying at Sandal's Negril. While not as big as the resort in Ocho Rios we'd gone to before, we found it was just perfect. The beach was right outside our door and always pristine. It's not the fine white sand we have here in my neck of Florida, but the water and the view was certainly exquisite. The cabanas were really taken care of and while often reserved for couples that never used them, were nice when we did find a few that weren't taken. To be honest, we spent much of our time at the main pool and it's swim up bar. The playmakers kept things interesting and there were always games and activities to partake in if you wanted too. Aminah and Princess were probably two of the more memorable ones we met. Overall it was a nice relaxing trip. The room was well cleaned and well taken care of. Room service was prompt and maid service was spot on. They actually came about 3 times a day, once to clean, once to turn down the bed, and once more to just check if we needed anything. The Club representatives, Kera and Owen, were extremely helpful although sometimes hard to find :). The pool was a bit over chlorinated, but better over than under I personally think. The lagoon pool seemed to stay a bit cloudy but we rarely went down that way. All the restaurants were very nicely done and the food was excellent. Our favorite was the Sundowner.

Only complaints we had:

The glassbottom/snorkeling boat captain was a bit snarky and rude to my husband. We got the impression that he didn't exactly want to do the last trip of the day.

The gift shop attendants were rather rude and on the day we left, didn't even bother showing up for work. I had to get the manager to open it 20 min late to get a last minute souvenir.

Other than that, I would definitely recommend this Sandal's resort to anyone who likes All-Inclusives. Everyone else was super nice and friendly, the service was great, and it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay extra to get a club room. Room service was very nice and the representatives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CasieJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,437
    1,175
    412
    170
    125
See reviews for
219
4,124
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We got married at Sandals Negril on 6/5/14. We arrived on 5/31 and stayed until 6/8/14. I must say, this has been the best vacation, wedding, honeymoon of my life. You are treated very special at the Beach & Spa Resort, everyone knows your name and wants to make sure you are having a good time. We had the butler service, which is wonderful. We didn't use it as much as we should have, next time we will (Live & Learn, right). I loved everything about our trip (hotel, room, view, DRINKS, food, service, landscape, ocean, people, entertainment, etc). The Booze cruise was a blast. The only negative thing I have to say is it gets very humid --- but no worries as there is airconditioned areas. I want to give a big thanks to the following people who made our trip so enjoyable and unforgetable: Trudy, Denato, Faith, Christopher, Juliet, Maxine, the chef Charlene, Dean, Andrew, Omar and all the lovely people we met along the way. Sandals Jamaica we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms with the butler service are the best in my opinion,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendsville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Negril from May 27th thru June 3rd and had a great time! We were greeted with cool towels followed by a cocktail in the Club Sandals Lounge. After checking in Davian one of our Club Sandals agents took us to our room. It was an updated beach front. Nice! The rest of the day we got ourselves familiar with the resort. The next day.. off to the beach ahhh perfect! Steven was the guard on duty we also met Cardell, both were nice young men.
All the bartenders are super people. Leroy at the Beach Bistro bar makes an awesome Bloody Mary and Tracia, a darn good Mojito. Now for the main bar... Where we saw Bobby, it was really nice talking to you again- he is a great asset to the Sandals crew, be sure to say hello for us- he is truly a good man. We first met him when Beaches Sandy Bay was in operation.
Evett from housekeeping and the staff did a super job. Evett made a beautiful swan and saying on the bed, a surprise thank you to my hubby.
I had THE best spa day, well actually 2 days, June is a very professional and caring person. I've been to spas before and never had a better facial or massage than i did with her! Donette, the spa manager should be very proud of her and all her staff. There was a bit of confusion regarding the fees but Kera in Club Sandals cleared it up in no time, she is a great asset to Club Sandals. Both Kera and Davian were wonderful and Kera went with us shopping in Negril. What an informative and fun person.
Last but definitely not least is Kendra from the breakfast buffet - what a fun girl! her laugh is infectious! She will surely brighten your day!
All the staff at Sandals Negril are warm and welcoming- very easy to talk to. It was nice to see such a nice mix of ages at the resort. So... if you are looking for a great beach, food, snorkeling and fun book a trip to this resort.
Until next time walk good mon!

Room Tip: Geez all rooms are good your at the beach mon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After hearing so much about the Sandals property, I decided to try this property for my first experience and visit to Jamaica.

The experience starts with the airport arrival. There is a dedicated lounge at the airport for guests and I have to say the reception was pretty good. That said, it took almost a hour for my transportation to be announced. It had nothing to do with waiting for other guests since I was the sole passenger that needed transportation to this property. Not sure what happened, but fortunately the lounge made the wait a little more comfortable. Also, I had a good driver, but the car reeked of cigarette smells and was not that clean. It's close to an hour drive to the property from the airport, so I was happy to finally breathe fresh air after arriving.

As advertised, there are plenty of activities offered by the resort and its super convenient that there's a dive shop on the property. Got to say, the diving wasn't good at all. Just a bunch of brown rocks with little sea life. Of course the property can't control this, but it was nonetheless an opportunity to get wet and work on scuba skills.

There's plenty of food and the drinks were okay. The property restaurants offered an intimate setting during the evenings.

The room was nice and clean but I thought a bit average at this price point - stayed in the Paradise Suite. What really through me off was the active construction. It was disturbing during the day and part of the evening. I informed the management staff of this and they said they would "mention it" to the construction workers.

Also, be aware of the horseback riding excursion. It was suggested by the resort, BUT IT IS NOT WORTH IT. Not much to really see (in fact its an eye sore) on the tour and the horse swim is a joke. I realize the property doesn't control this, but it is an excursion they offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to 3 different sandals now. Negril did not disappoint us. We go to Sandals for relaxation and that is what we found yet again. We enjoy our pool out the back door but was not quit needed due to the proximity to the Caribbean. Our butler service was the best we have had so far thanks to Basil and Daron. Food was top of the line for a Sandals. I loved my wonderful night turn down person, Juliet Cunningham. We are a 60 something couple and it seems a younger clientele targets this resort opposed to Sandals in the Eastern Caribbean. However saying that, you can be as busy or relaxed as you choose. We would definately come back as long as we can have our same Butlers. As with every trip to a Sandals, we found ourselves feeling restored and relaxed. Best restaurant on the faculty has to be Cafe Bistro. Great hamburgers and you are sitting water side. Only complaint would be that no bars are air conditioned.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I went from May 25th until June 5th and had a great time. The staff were all lovely and the food great - provided we ordered the right thing. Seafood and salad were great in all Restaurants but would not order beef for a second time. The Japanese Restaurant had a little surprise - don't miss it. Italian good as well and the Waves became a French Restaurant in the evening. Good but not much choice. We had a room in Paradise Honeymoon Beachfront Grande Luxe Club Level - the only VERY disappointing thing on the holiday. The rooms were renovated and big with a great sea view but NO balcony and I was not a happy bunny. We always have a room with sea view and they ALWAYS had a balcony. You don't need a butler as there is a 24 hour service and staff very helpful and quick response on the phone. The island is beautiful - don't miss to do excursions. We went to Rick-s Café with a taxi (cheaper then the Hotel excursion) and were feeling sad as one of the Hotel Guest died there. He was 26 and jumped in to the water from a rock. My advise: don't do it. Sandals also sponsors a school. We paid $20 each and were taken to a local school where we had to read a story to 5 year olds. Don't miss this a it is not only great fun but you I learned a lot as well. At the Hotel, you get a room key and a card. With the card you can go to any Sandals Hotel and use all the facilities. We walked to Beeches had lunch and drinks and a go on the water slide. Walk along the beach and it only takes 20 min. or $ 5 for a taxi one way. Don't miss the evening shows in the Hotel - they are great. We just went for a break but the Hotel is known for wedding and honeymoon couples. My advise: make sure you get the ceremony for the wedding in the morning during rain season. It rained every afternoon - mostly after 3 pm. Although is was still hot, it spoiled some weddings. Although we had a great time I would go before the rain season. We were the only English couple. 90 % were Americans and we met some really great and interesting people. Thank you to the staff at the Hotel and all the lovely people we met!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank richardsm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Like all companies selling products or services Sandals has great marketing. From the web site to promos etc. We were celebrating our 8 year anniversary by getting married at Sandal Negril on Sunday May 25, 2014. We arrived at the resort and were processed quickly in the small rather cramped Sandal Club room (pictured quite roomy and posh in the web site photos). We were brought to our room and walked in to a modern, clean room. We were admittedly a little disappointed that there was no welcome to your wedding adventure something in our room, just plain but nice with no balcony...again when we had originally booked these rooms had balconies overlooking the ocean and beach, the renovated rooms had sliding doors, still nice but not the same...so not as expected.
Room and resort were clean and the proximity to everything is great, no long walks to anything. Beach was fantastic, water warm and inviting, food delicious and wide variety.
All Staff were awesome and our white glove waiter Shelly-Ann on our candlelit dinner was a sheer delight and made us want to come back to Jamaica!

The wedding overall went well. However, there were some details that were missed. Sandals markets their weddings as "All you need is the love" suggesting that ALL details will be taken care of. This was not the case and we were disappointed.
Overall, we and our guest had a wonderful time at Sandal Negril.
Was it worth the over $5,200 cdn for the room and flight plus at least $1,500 for the wedding??? Well, it's hard to say yes...but we likely would not return to Sandals Negril or Sandals but would return to Jamaica at another resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jacques,

Thank you for your review. While we were pleased that our staff took great care of you during your stay, it was disheartening to learn that you returned home not completely satisfied with your overall Weddingmoon experience. Our entire staff is committed to making sure that our couples have the wedding day of their dreams and we sincerely apologize if there were some aspects that fell short. We will be sharing your remarks with our management team so they can follow-up in regards to this matter. We value all of your input and we hope that in the future we will have the opportunity to serve you more efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
6,961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,318 reviews
82.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing