We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
IL, USA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed a week recently at Sandals Negril and to be honest....we were both disappointed with many aspects of the resort. The water was full of seaweed so you couldn't walk out more than 10 feet in the water without being tangled up in it....yuck. The beach itself is quite narrow. The food was just 'ok'.....until the last two meals. One at the Italian restaurant and one at the French bistro.
The newly renovated rooms.....though the décor and colors are lovely.....the rooms are very small compared to many other newer all-inclusive resorts. The bathrooms were VERY cramped and the shower head was so small it took me forever to rinse my hair out.
If you don't pay for the butler or concierge service you feel quite like a second class citizen there. You can't even get room service.
For what you pay for the 'Sandals' brand.....you would expect to be 'wowed'. There is so much competition out there that I think Sandals needs to up it's game. Including front desk service. Most everyone seemed 'aloof'....like they didn't really have time to talk to you.
I think the owner, Mr Stewart, should try the service, food, and accommodations at one of the Grand Velas Resorts to see what his competition is like.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here unless you can afford butler or concierge level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCindyIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,398
    1,163
    410
    169
    123
See reviews for
213
4,078
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I would like to say thank you to Kendra at Bayside and Fabian and the entire barstaff at the pool bar. They made the trip for us. Kendra is such a sweetie and the barstaff at the pool was fun. They did a fairly good job with entertainment but I found out the last day of our trip that there was some card that you had to get filled out when you participated in activities to get a prize. We were never told about the card at check-in and we had the concierge service.

I have been to many all inclusives and Sandals Negril has it's highs and lows. The food is not nearly as good as Sandals Montego Bay. The service for any food was very slow. The rooms are not always what you expect. I ended up in the old section and the room really didn't have the ocean view that I was promised. They did move us but then we had no balcony.

If you like snorkeling, the trips are nice. Only 30 minutes in the water and a short boat ride. We got to see lots of fish and coral. The beach is nice and you didn't have to fight to get a beach chaise like in some other resorts.

Overall, we had a good time but the accomodations and food kind of spoiled it for us. We talked to many other couples who felt the same way. The staff is really the highlight of this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went here for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The Beach is absolutely stunning. Room was great with a great view. Room was well stocked and clean and the bed was very comfortable... food was great... I especially loved the Jerk Chicken cart which seemed to just show up at the part of the day when I was craving it. The service was Excellent and the concierge service was very attentive. My only complaint was when we made reservations at the Italian restaurant we had to wait about 1 hour to be seated and then when we were recommended the lobster pasta dish by the waiter we ordered it only to be told that they had sold out... to be fair when we told this to our concierge they made it up to us by providing a candle lit curried lobster dinner in our room the next night. All the activities around the hotel were very fun and we never felt bored. Overall a great honeymoon

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bed-lessBirthdayBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you want to visit Jamaica, there is no better location than Negril Beach. The postcard views includes 7 miles of sandy beach that makes a perfect destination. It is worth the 45-60 min van ride from the Montego airport. If you want to shorten the airport lines, try CLub MoBay for VIP service at the customs lines.
For the best resort, we recommend Sandals because the service and accommodations are excellent. This is our second year and we were pleased that it was even better than last year with rooms remodeled in new decor and walk-in rain showers with all the luxury features.
The staff is service minded and butlers can be arranged if you desire. The hotel managers Andre and Edward are quick to recognize repeat customers and bar manager Cheryl remembers you and your favorite drink.
Since this is a full service, all inclusive resort, there are scuba diving and snorkeling boats ready throughout the day with a helpful crew.
Wedding couples get special attention, spa services are great and the restaurants are excellent with a variety of meals and entertainment.
We have come to Jamaica annually for over 25 years and in the past we stayed at Grand Lido, now we have found a new home that we like even more (and some of the staff has moved over to Sandals as well). Sandals knows how to reward its repeat customers and provide discounts and specials to make it easier on the budget.
Enjoy the warm Caribbean waters in Negril. Yes, it is a humid tropical climate but so lovely to relax by the ocean in a first class resort like Sandals

Room Tip: Look for the concierge class room package provide special check in & out privileges and attentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Sandals Negril five times and always love going back. Last time we stayed there was Feb. 2014 for our Anniversary. We stayed in one of the Millionaire Suites. Our Butler's were Daron and Basil, the same Butlers we have had the last three times we were there. Daron and Basil are simply amazing and its such a bonus to have these gentlemen make our vacations even better. For those deciding whether to stay in a Millionaire Suite or one of the Swim-up Suites, I personally believe it comes down to privacy. The Millionaire Suites are off to the far east side of the resort and they offer a great deal of privacy if thats what you prefer (these suites have their own fenced in backyards with private plunge pool, various seating areas, tanning area) . The Swim-up suites are at the far west side of the resort and are beside each other, obviously with your room opening up into a pool. We have stayed in both types of rooms and prefer the Millionaire Suites but my wife and I value privacy a great deal when on vacation. We just love to wake up and enjoy breakfast in our tropical backyard paradise. Also getting in-room massages are great as they just set everything up in the backyard. The food at Sandals Negril is excellent, just like every other Sandals resort we have ever stayed at. We particularly love the Italian Restaurant, the pasta's are great.

If you can afford it, I believe the Butler Service rooms are worth it. The main things that we have the Butler's take care of for us are: Reserving and setting up our beach chairs for the day, getting us into whatever restaurant we want without having to wait for a table (also we never seem to decide where we want to eat until the very last minute and they always seem to be able to get us in even when the restaurant is full), bringing you various drinks on the beach or to your room (wherever you are at the time), bring us breakfast to our room each morning, etc.. Some extras that they always do for you no matter what are: Have your restaurant table set up with tropical flowers and decorations, with a nice card that has yours and your partners name on it -- they set up nighttime bath's with flowers and candles -- arrange your room at night with rose pedals all over the floor, etc…..They usually do this randomly so that its a surprise when you get back to your room from being out for the night.

I highly recommend that anyone staying at this resort rent a Cabana for a day. Its extremely cheap and you have your own cabana where they bring you drinks and food all day. You get to just lounge around in your Cabana on a bed with nice pillows, soaking in the sun or staying nice comfortable in the shape spots.

All in all, we have been to Jamaica about 12 times in the last 6 years or so and we have now only stay at Sandals Negril the last 5 times. We have found our spot and can't wait to get back there!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Chantel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Everyone was so nice and very helpful. Kera helped us out a lot upon first arrival. Shavon was very entertaining and really enjoyed when he was around. Omar France was our cabana boy and was so nice and friendly and made our experience great. Our candle light dinner was awesome and romantic on the beach, and the server, Delroy, was perfect. He was such a gentleman and very professional. Last but not least, our favorite worker was Smiley. His upbeat personality and passion for what he does was very evident. He took some great pictures and showed us around in the water. If you go snorkeling or scuba diving, ask for smiley!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Grant,
It brings us great joy to know that you had an outstanding honeymoon at Sandals Negril. We truly do our best to ensure that we meet the needs of each guest and provide the most romantic atmosphere for our couples to enjoy. We want to not only exceed expectations but also to create amazing memories that will last a lifetime. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon for another awesome stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our 7th Sandals resort and our 4th in Jamaica

Let's start with the ride from the airport. It is at least a 2 hr ride from the airport on a good day, traffic in Montego Bay is not the best. We do enjoy seeing the island and the 2 hr ride is not the worst. On one other note, there was at least an hour long wait at immigration which we were able to walk right to the front of the line using Club Mobay arrivals. Took us less than 10 minutes

We arrived at the resort, given our cool towels and then brought up to Club Sandals for our check in and cold fruity drink. The process is pretty quick and we were escorted to our room

We had a beachfront walkout room which was very newly renovated. Room is decent size and I suppose my only complaint is there is no outside patio to sit and enjoy a cocktail. The cleaning service speratic at best. Never restocking supplies and sometimes not cleaning room till after 6 pm.

The beach is where we spent the majority of our time. Be sure to take an early walk and reserve your oceanfront chairs, after 9 am and your out of luck. There is a steady stream of local vendors that walk up and down the beach but they do not hound you and security is very close behind watching there every step. The water is nice and warm,clear, and unfortunately grassy. About 15-20 feet from shore the seaweed starts, it would be nice to have soft sand throughout the roped in area. I seem to read a lot of complaints about the narrow beach, and it is a little narrow but plent long and room for all.

The food at this resort was my least favorite out of all the resorts, don't get me wrong, it had its high points but overall it was of less quality and fewer choices of the other resorts. Our favorite was the Italian and the sundowner. One of our biggest disappointments was the Sandals Select returning guests dinner which is usually the highlight meal of our trips. This meal was not. Very uninspired meal, think they gave us half a fatty steak tip and a fish stick. But the management team was awesome and was very happy receiving our gold sandals for our 56th paid night. They also offered a nice rebooking deal which we pounced on.

So many reviews said there is no entertainment at Sandals Negril, and this was not true at all. Every night there was a show, which were all pretty good with the best being the steel drum band which was awesome, best show out of all the resorts

Finally, the service. This was the best we have received out of all of the resorts. They must study your picture because everyone knows your name. Everyone is so eager to do anything for you.

I would return to this Sandals, although, we do try a new one every year and at the rate Sandals is adding resorts, it may be awhile

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,296 reviews
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,365 reviews
27.8 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
6,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelbag, Prestigia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing