We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Sandals Negril July 4-12, 2014. This was our 8th Sandals stay in Jamaica, but our first time to Negril.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Beachfront Butler Suites in the Palms Buildings. These rooms are not actually beachfront, but have a wonderful view of the gardens and ocean. We loved the large balcony, which we thought of as more of a "front porch" to these rooms. The room was very spacious and laid out well. We really liked the vaulted ceiling of our 2nd floor room. While the room was well-furnished, it could use some updating and maintenance. The sink and shower were slow to drain, the floors needed a thorough scrubbing, and the decor was a bit out of date. It was also somewhat dark in the room, with the only windows being at the door leading to the covered balcony. Even with all the lights on, it was difficult to see well enough at night to apply makeup. There was also quite a bit of noise from traffic on the main road and the nightly entertainment, but due to the size and layout of the resort, I doubt this room category is the only one affected by this. With that said, this is the room we would want to stay in again if we returned, mainly because of the view, large balcony, and central location on the property.

The beach is very important to us when choosing our vacation. This stretch of beach is not the best that Negril has to offer, but was long enough for great walks and jogs, with calm and clear water. There is some seaweed in the water, especially on the end where the watersports are located. While this wasn't a problem for us, it was a bit disappointing that the water wasn't deep enough for swimming. We spent our days on the beach at the end in front of the river suites, where the beach is the widest and more spacious for private lounging.

We were very impressed with Sandals security on the beach. One of the reasons we haven't previously vacationed in Negril is because of the stories of shady characters and pushy vendors on the beach. The security officers here were very attentive to this and were quick to respond if they thought someone was lingering on the Sandals section of beach too long.

We found the dining at this resort to be on par with other Sandals and especially liked that the dining options were mostly right on the water and beach. The service was great at all restaurants at all times of the day. Our room service orders were always prompt and consistent as well.

Most reviews for this resort mention how great the staff is and we totally agree. Everyone was friendly and went above and beyond to make sure that all guests were happy and had everything needed. I'm not even going to list names because everyone was so great that it would be unfair to leave anyone out. Our butlers were amazing, fulfilling our requests and anticipating our needs, taking care of little details so that we could relax even more.

The weather for July was hotter than we've experienced on previous trips at the same time of year. It seems that the winds are calmer here, which may have contributed to that. There was a few minutes of rain each day, but the sun always popped right back out and activities resumed.

Though it's not our favorite Sandals, Negril ranks near the top and we would not hesitate to return someday. Before then, though, we would like to see the Palms buildings renovated to match the quality of the Sundowner building and newly renovated Paradise building. Feel free to message me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hoppersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,264
    1,130
    398
    165
    121
See reviews for
205
3,915
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent a June week at Sandals Negril and were NEVER treated so special. EVERYONE took such good care of us. It was like family. After meeting us the first time, the staff called each of us by our first name. The property was very well kept. The food was OUTSTANDING no matter where we ate.
My wife requires Gluten-Free meals. The Club staff contacted the kitchen, who sent Chef Debbie to take care of her every meal. At a lunch meal she had ordered Pizza, but a change in staff caused confusion. Chef Debbie went that extra mile to tracked my wife down and presented her with her pizza.
Kimberlee, Gift Shop Mgr, went out of her way to locate shirts and gifts we were looking for. Even to the point of contacting the Beaches Resort to see if they had what we were looking for, which they had. What a pleasant young lady she is.
The life of the party was waiter Shavon. He was so fun and entertaining.
Thank You Debbie, Kimberlee, Shavon and Sandals Negril.

Room Tip: Club Level or Higher beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you want to drink heavily on the beach for your vacation, this is the place. I went for a close friends wedding, otherwise I wouldn't have chosen an all-inclusive while pregnant. Non-alcholic drinks are not the same.

It was very very easy to get alcohol at any time of day or night, but it was much more difficult to get food (critical to avoid morning sickness). It required an hour of notice to get food from room service before the breakfast restaurants opened at 8, and I was used to getting up around 6. (I ordered something from room service the night before and keeping it in the room fridge.)

I'm not usually critical of food, but this was hands-down the worst food I've ever had on vacation. I've never been completely unable to eat a meal (even while pregnant), but there were at least 3 occasions in 5 days where the food was so unappealing I had to get something else. The hibachi restaurant was entertaining for the show, but there was so much soy sauce on the food I couldn't eat it. Usually hibachi food is one of my favorites. I'm happy with IKEA meatballs, and Sandals food wasn't even up to that standard.

The service was excellent. I particularly liked that if you asked where something was, the staff member brought you there rather than just pointing the direction.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dektolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently got married at the sandals negril location. It was beyond beautiful. My husband and I have traveled to several places and we have never seen such great customer service! Overall we liked everything but what made our trip the most memorable was the hospitality. The staff was amazing to say the least. They often said this is your home away from home and they really made you feel that way. A few of our favorites were Lois Nelson serving the drinks on the beach, Christopher Morally at the restaurant, Kendra Salmon at breakfast and Alwayne Brown in housekeeping. Those were the ones who stood out the most, we loved them! In those short 7 days I felt like we knew them. We definitely will back soon! Please keep that upbeat staff it was the best feature aside from the amenities and beautiful scenery!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrienneBrown14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We loved everything about this resort. We have done a few different all inclusive resorts and this is our favorite. I cannot say enough about what a wonderful experience we had. We are already planning to stay at another Sandals resort next year.LOVE LOVE LOVED IT! The staff was wonderful. Very pleasant and always smiling. They went out of their way to help you. The only one negative thing was the cats/kittens that were hanging around every morning at breakfast. I am an animal lover but dirty cats hanging around while we were eating was very unpleasant BUT the staff did try to shoo them away. All in all A+++ experience!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Recently returned from a weeks holiday at Sandals Negril to celebrate my 50th Birthday, dinner
on the beach made this a very special day for us. We had such a wonderful time, it is really heaven on earth at this resort where the amazing staff go above and beyond to ensure your time spent here is a fabulous experience. It was perfect! Enjoyed the spa, all of the restaurants, especially breakfast every day at Bayside with a very warm welcome from the lovely Kendra. Barefoot at the Beach was also a favourite and so was Jeffrey. And our holiday memories couldn't have been complete without some lovely photos taken by the very hardworking photographers especially Keron - yeah mon! Can't wait to return ;-) xx
Sharon & Mike Morgan, Bristol, UK

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My new husband and I took our first overseas trip last month. We picked Sandals Negril and had an excellent adventure. The resort was very nice.
We snorkeled every chance we got. Gregory and Reni were excellent guides. Reni went in the water with us on every trip. On our first adventure out a gentleman in our group lost his wedding ring and since a storm was coming we had to leave. The guys went out the next day and found it for him. That's service!
Every bartender we met were exceptional and took care of our needs. Andrew, Fabien (the intern), Donavan, all excellent.
We opted to stay at the club level for a little longer than upgrading to the butler level. Our stay was great. We had two amazing agents Shemoy and Portia to made sure our every need was taken care of. They always had our favorite wine in our room.
Although she was not our agent Kara adopted us and took great care of us too. She even danced with us on the booze cruise to Rick's and Margaritaville. Highly recommend the cruise as a day trip!
We had special treats left for us every few days by the evening maids.
The shower squealed a bit but maintenance came and fixed it right away.
My only negative would be the seafood, it was clearly not fresh and a real disappointment. That being said Karrianne took great care of us daily for breakfast and lunch. Kimonos was by far the best restaurant on the resort. The chefs are highly entertaining "all right"!
The water sports were fun and although they discontinued the jet skiing before we got there we did enjoy the rest.
We ventured off the resort a time or two, just walking to the local market across the street and at the end of the resort beach side. I would highly recommend taking the 5 minute walk to the craft market across from the resort. The local craft makers were so nice and that is where the real shopping can happen. Plus you directly support the local economy!
Overall, highly recommend going, it's worth the long travel time to get here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gretchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,077 reviews
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#10 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing