We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were supposed to be at Whitehouse but got transfered- thank goodness we did, it was a wild, crazy, and relaxing time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We were supposed to be at Whitehouse but got transfered- thank goodness we did, it was a wild, crazy, and relaxing time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

First off, my husband and I originally booked Sandals Whitehouse for our 1st wedding anniversary at the suggestion of our travel agent. We ended up being transfered to Negril because Whitehouse was closed for "maintenance" purposes and did not know about this until we ARRIVED AT NEGRIL! However, the staff was very understanding and accommodating and upgraded us to a luxury beachfront room. Then after speaking to many of the other guests, we found out that over half of them were in the same position- supposed to be at Whitehouse but got moved to Negril. My husband and I were the only ones who found out at check-in though. With that being said...

Room- comparable to a Holiday Inn Express. Relatively clean, provided a complimentary carry bag filled with shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and aloe vera (useful for the sunburn you're bound to get!). There are two American outlets- one by the coffee machine and one by the desk, none in the bathroom. The hairdryer blew a gentle breeze and was warm at best. DO NOT EAT OR DRINK IN THE ROOM! Ants are bound to come crawling at the slightest crumb, even though we were on the third floor. The mini fridge had juices, soda, and water-no alcohol- but was restocked every day. The bathroom was ok, towels were restocked sporadically. Moderately hot shower but had good water pressure. The maid came every day and swept out our room so there was no sand on the floor.

Staff- 95% of the staff was friendly and treated you like old friends. Dakoy the Playmaker sought us out every day to play games and get involved with other guests. The Beach Grill chefs would refill your plates until you could eat no more. Bar tenders were quick to tend to you and helped you choose a drink if you were undecided. Waiters would make us pose at dinner and take pictures with our camera, which was really fun! Piano Bar activities were run by energetic people who made a point to talk to us. One night after the bar closed we all went to the beach grill for "after hours." The staff encourages you to be rowdy and wild, but I did get reprimanded for being too loud! It was 3, though, so it's understandable! Overall, some of the nicest workers I've met at a resort.
Beach/Pool- Beach was very nice but had a lot of ants. Chairs were plentiful and were in the shade and sun. The ocean was peaceful and warm. You could also take rubber floats into the water. The water was roped off so you can relax on the raft and not worry about floating away. Lots of people walking up and down the beach peddling gifts and cigarettes, including "cigarettes." There is no bar service but the beach grill is close- yummy grill food, including jerk sauce. Try the volcano sauce if you're brave! The workers at the grill were some of the nicest guys. Get a Silent River to drink. The pools were ok-small. Again, lots of lounge chairs in the sun or shade.

Food- Barefoot by the Sea: mediocre; everything else was comparable to a TGI Friday's or something similar. The 4 C's (Italian) had a create your own pasta menu and was actually the best place to eat. My husband and I are New Jersey Italians and have a picky palate with Italian food, but we did enjoy our pasta. Make a reservation for Kimonos with the many friends you will meet at Sandals. While it's not incredible food, watching the chef make the meal is great. Our chef sang songs and was enthusiastic with the group. I suggest going to the made to order omelet bar at breakfast.

Entertainment- Different activities every day. Get your itinerary in the lobby. We played rum toss (ring around the rum bottle) with Dakoy and ended up meeting a ton of people. It rained every day from 12-1:30 so the Playmakers went out of their way to do activities with us. Shows every night, including a "Jamaica's Got Talent" type of show for the Sandals/Beaches employees. Watching the Jamaicans freestyle dance was one of the highlights of the night. Everyone went to the piano bar at 10:30 for dancing and drinks. Karaoke on Tuesday night was the best. You make your own fun, though. My husband and I spent our time with 3 or 4 different couples and met new people each night. Everyone ends up being a big happy family. Make sure to do the free water activities, especially snorkeling (4 times a day). Mackey, the boat driver, was the funniest guy and took you to a different place each time you went snorkeling. it was my first time snorkeling and while everyone went far our in the water he stayed with me by the boat.

Final Thoughts- While we were disappointed that we were shlepped to Negril instead of Whitehouse, we had a great trip. The friends we made and the experience we had were because we wanted to make the best of our trip and not mope about not being at Whitehouse. I'm not sure if we'll go back, but the experiences we had and the friends we met made my trip rating higher than if we didn't experience those things. I hope this review helps if you do decide to go to Negril! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EmilyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,270
    1,130
    398
    165
    121
See reviews for
207
3,919
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Sandals Negril, the beach, service, food and activities we above and beyond what we were expecting. The only negative aspect of our trip was the room, more spacificaly the bathroom. For the amount of money we paid we were expecting a marble bathroom, as shown on the web site. We found out that those bathrooms ar only found in the most expensive suites. Our bathroom was old, dingy and tempered water was hard to come by. We also had to upgrade our room when we arrived because the basic room was dark, very small and by the side of a busy road. In all in was a good hotel but only if you intend to book one of the upscale suites.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaicanQueen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Last year my husband & I were married at Sandals Negril. We had family with us and it was perfect! The staff is so helpful and friendly. We stayed for two weeks. The staff is like extended family which made the wedding all that much better. This year is the one year anniversary of our marriage so we went back to Sandals Negril. We had the same room as last year, the Romeo and Juliet suite. It really does not get much better than that. We will go back again and again it never gets old! We had a private plunge pool and cedar vaulted ceilings. Each day we enjoyed room service and snorkeling with Toby & Mackey. At night the bar was the place to be. You really never had to wait for anything except maybe having your room made up. We had such a nice time! Thanks to Bernard the butler- he is fantastic as well.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank funinthesun051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We spent months preparing for a vacation - a trip that would allow us to get away and RELAX and have some alone time. We could not have picked a better resort. Sandals was amazingly relaxing and the staff there were willing to do what ever was needed to help you achieve the purpose of your travel. We dinned well, partied hard, socialized and experienced a vast amount of the Jamaican culture all in one luxurious location, Sandals, Negril. There was truely "NO WORRIES" about anything. They offered complimentary shuttles to and from many tourist attractions and made if effortless to plan trips away from the resort. I can not say enough about the engry, synergy, motivation and hospitality of each staff person that we met on the property. It seemed as though we were at a family reunion with family that we hadn't seen in a while. I enjoyed the atomposhere so much so that I am still nostalgic. We had such a wonderful time and experience that were eagerly anticipate returning. Oh! The general manager of the hotel even participated in the events planned by the entertaiment staff to bring fun and enjoyment to the guest. I found myself on stage loosing a dance competition. Such memorable fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cleontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

I have to say, this was one of the best vacations I have ever been on. Every single person that worked there was so friendly- always saying hi to you as you walked by. The views were breathtaking and the beach was clean. The food was great, and the drinks were even better. There was always something to do, whether it be a volleyball match in the pool, or kareoke at night. My boyfriend and I went on the catamaran cruise and it was worth every penny! We had so much fun we did not want to leave! We are seriously considering coming back for our honeymoon! It was everything we wanted in a vacation and more!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank es0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at sandal negril july 22, 2009 through july 28, 2009 for a destination wedding along with ten other guest. our wedding date was july 25 and based on the wonderful experience afforded to us by the staff, we will never forget our special wedding/vacation. the general manager "horace'and staff(scherrie. christina, michael, nadine, roccio,jason,genieva,kimroy, veronica,darron and the kool kat party boat crew) was very attentive to our wedding party and made our trip memorable. we will make plans to once again return to sandals for a vacation in the near future. sincerly michael & lisha norris e-mail LISHAWILCOTS@YAHOO.COM

Helpful?
Thank SKIP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

best wedding/honeymoon. The weather is great. The stafff are always smiling. A very relaxing trip,
"no worries mon" We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bugsthattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,089 reviews
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#10 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing